We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Save Saved
You added Hotel a La Commedia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #16 of 381 hotels in Venice
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I also picked this hotel due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We spent 2 nights there in Venice and were not disappointed! The rooms are really beautiful and the rooftop terrace is a nice place to relax. We had a lovely Junior Suite on the third floor. Concierge/front desk people were extremely helpful and pleasant!

Room Tip: Junior Suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    781
    180
    24
    6
    10
See reviews for
147
621
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. This is an outstanding hotel. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. It was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and in a very accessible location. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We travelled from the airport by water bus - 15 euros each - and took Line 2 to the Rialto stop. We were amazed how close we were to the hotel - about 3 minutes walk. The staff were extremely efficient and helpful and always greeted us with a warm smile. Our room (#104) was beautiful - immaculately furnished with top quality fittings and lots of mod-cons. The air-conditioning was first rate. We found the bed to be very comfortable (nicely firm) and we both slept well. Breakfast was great - lots of choice and all good quality. We used the rooftop bar a couple of evenings which was a nice way to wind down after a busy day sightseeing and eating! Our only criticism was that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms and no ironing facilities (apparently due to fire regulations). We were in Venice for our friends wedding and needed a shirt ironing which I was happy to do myself. The hotel was unable to help as they had no iron on the premises and their laundry service was not available until 9am the next day and could not return it until 5pm - our wedding was at 12.15pm. Luckily the wediing venue came to the rescue but not before we had parted with 17 euros!! Despite this we still feel that Hotel a La Commedia deserves 5 stars and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed 3 nights here.
The facilities are beautiful, i especially liked the hotel slippers :)
Its close to everything, although can be tricky to find depending which water bus you come off..either way its not far at all from the stop.

My only advice would be to be aware when using your own hairdryer and having too many lights on. There is a trip switch that may cut half the power in your room. This wasnt a big drama as the hotel staff promply fixed the problem. But just a friendly warning to future guests :)

We really enjoyed our stay, and would definately consider coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel. Excellent hotel, staff are great, especially Emmanuel! The roof top is beautiful. Rooms lovely. Breakfast - varied choice - continental or your eggs n bacon! Very clean, very comfortable, and a great location! We will definitely return! love it! Recommended it to friends already!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were greeted promptly and given a very large key with a tassle on the end for our room on the second floor, just across from the small elevator. The room was on the small side, but nicely appointed with typical Venetian furniture and heavy dark red drapes on the windows. The bathroom was just beautifull with two sets of shutter-style windows, a lovely sink with lots of counter space, a beautiful tile floor with white tile enhanced by gold embossed tiles running through it, and a great shower. Everything was impeccably clean. There was a king-size bed with two night stands, and at the foot of the bed, two comfortable chairs with a table in the center, a desk at the end of the room with a small TV, a radio with an ipod docking station, and comfy carpeting. The rooftop deck was just across the hall and looked very inviting. We were offered a free drink during our stay (Prosecco) and a free ride to Murano, which we declined. If you do to, be aware that you must pay for your own vaporetto to return to the hotel. We discovered on our second day at the hotel that walking through the courtyard in front of the entrance (around the outdoor restaurant seating) and turning left through the tunnel brought us out to the Grand Canal very close to the Rialto Bridge. We were unable to be dropped off at the Rialto stop on the vaporetto from the airport because there was a regatta when we arrived, but that is where you get off for this hotel and it is just a short walk with luggage. Look for the word "Carbon" above the little alleyways on the left as you walk along the canal and if you take that one, just turn right and you will be at the hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful with restaurant recommenations and making reservations and also with directions, which we very much needed! If we ever return to Venice, we will stay here again. It was very convenient, quiet and comfortable. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Almost any room would be good since there is no traffic in Venice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned yesterday from a 3 day stay at this hotel and myself and my boyfriend had a lovely time. The rooms are a very high standard, exceptionally clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Couldn't have asked for a better service for my city break!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a La Commedia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.