We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Save Saved
You added Hotel a La Commedia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #20 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Hotel A La Commedia is an excellent base in Venice. It has a great location a couple of minutes from the Rialto Bridge and maybe a quarter hour from San Marco (if you don't get lost, and there's a strong possibility you will! But then that's half the fun of Venice).

The hotel is beautifully decorated, comfortable and welcoming. The staff were both friendly and efficient and spoke excellent English. If we had a problem they sorted it out straight away. There's a little bar in the lobby which is great for an afternoon coffee or a nightcap--we never made it up to the roof terrace because it was so cold and rainy, but maybe that's something to do next time! We ate a self-served Continental breakfast which was plentiful (cooked breakfasts are also available, and for a small charge you can eat in your room). The morning staff were friendly and helpful and the coffee they served was delicious!

Our room was larger than expected and with a little balcony overlooking a small piazza (I don't believe there's such a thing as a bad view in Venice). Despite only booking a standard room we had a little seating area as well as a bedroom. The beds were comfortable, the room had individual climate controls and with the curtains shut there was little noise from the street. My only quibble is that there was no kettle or coffee maker, but I knew that in advance and took my own travel kettle as I need some coffee before I face the day--but as I said, the coffee served at breakfast was very nice and came in a pot big enough for two servings.

The staff also gave us a map which was more detailed than the one in our guidebooks, something you need when navigating the confusing tangle of Venice's tiny streets. There's no restaurant on site (apart from the breakfast room and light snacks at the bar) but you don't have to go far in any direction to find a cosy and inexpensive trattoria, cafe or pizzeria (although the one directly opposite the hotel was very expensive and quite disappointing--go further afield, you won't have to go far!).

One piece of advice is to take some really comfortable shoes as you'll do a lot of walking in Venice. Most of the famous sights, like the Rialto bridge and market, Pizza San Marco with the Doge's palace, the Basilica, the Campanile etc are not far away on foot. But beware! We visited in early December when the tides were very high and several canal-side streets had flooded, as had Piazza San Marco, which was easily six inches underwater in places. The Venetians are entirely used to this and go about their daily business with the help of raised walkways in the street and wellington boots. I really advise taking something waterproof to wear on your feet as shuffling along on those narrow raised walkways can be a tiresome business when everyone keeps stopping to take pictures every few seconds!

We took a shared vaporetto from the airport which was about €50/person return. The waterbus is cheaper but much slower, and of course you can't beat the glamour of racing across the lagoon in a speedboat! The hotel staff organised a shared gondola ride most afternoons (weather dependant) which was €30/person--compared to a lot of rides, that was good value and we really enjoyed it. I really recommend a water trip of some kind, even if it's just on the waterbus, because Venice looks totally different from the water.

Right, that's about it--suffice to say, I was very happy with this choice of hotel, and thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    202
    26
    6
    10
See reviews for
176
698
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel has to be one of the better hotels we have stayed during our Europe trip. The customer care was brilliant. They couldn't do enough for you. The room was very clean. This hotel is very central to everything. Breakfast was great. Bathroom was big enough. Overall this was superb holiday and hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful location between San Marco and Rialto vaporetto stops. Can easily walk to all of the major attractions. Lovely, spacious, quiet, clean, well maintained rooms. Excellent breakfast. Staff... concierges, and Emanuel... couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great hotel for exploring Venice. Location, comfortable rooms, very decent breakfast.
The hotel is clean, quiet and very helpful staff.
All major attractions are within walking distance.
Convenient to the airport and the railway station.
Recommend for study trip to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived (hotel is 5 minutes from the water bus stop at Rialto) to the moment we left we were unable to find fault with this hotel.
The staff, rooms, breakfast etc were all excellent and we would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return to Venice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I spend 2 nights with my friends in this hotel (it was a girls weekeend away to celebrate one of my friends birthday), and my impression of the place was excellent! Very well furnished rooms, helpful guys at the reception (big thanks to Lorenzo!), good breakfast ( their pastries are great). We'll come again, as we love Venice this hotel is a great place to stay while exploring it: everything is near, only 5min to the closest vaporetto stop - what else to ask for?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Amazing rooms and decoration, I was personally surprised compared to the hotel's size. The only down point was the price, but that's how everything is in Venice. The breakfast buffet was limited and doesn't not meet the expectation. One last point, the hotel charges for any little service they provide such as a bucket of ice for €6.00 (usually its free)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Family Hotel in Venice
#18 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a La Commedia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.