We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Save Saved
You added Hotel a La Commedia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #18 of 382 hotels in Venice
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Superb hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel has to be one of the better hotels we have stayed during our Europe trip. The customer care was brilliant. They couldn't do enough for you. The room was very clean. This hotel is very central to everything. Breakfast was great. Bathroom was big enough. Overall this was superb holiday and hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    836
    197
    28
    6
    11
See reviews for
163
674
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful location between San Marco and Rialto vaporetto stops. Can easily walk to all of the major attractions. Lovely, spacious, quiet, clean, well maintained rooms. Excellent breakfast. Staff... concierges, and Emanuel... couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great hotel for exploring Venice. Location, comfortable rooms, very decent breakfast.
The hotel is clean, quiet and very helpful staff.
All major attractions are within walking distance.
Convenient to the airport and the railway station.
Recommend for study trip to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived (hotel is 5 minutes from the water bus stop at Rialto) to the moment we left we were unable to find fault with this hotel.
The staff, rooms, breakfast etc were all excellent and we would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return to Venice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I spend 2 nights with my friends in this hotel (it was a girls weekeend away to celebrate one of my friends birthday), and my impression of the place was excellent! Very well furnished rooms, helpful guys at the reception (big thanks to Lorenzo!), good breakfast ( their pastries are great). We'll come again, as we love Venice this hotel is a great place to stay while exploring it: everything is near, only 5min to the closest vaporetto stop - what else to ask for?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Amazing rooms and decoration, I was personally surprised compared to the hotel's size. The only down point was the price, but that's how everything is in Venice. The breakfast buffet was limited and doesn't not meet the expectation. One last point, the hotel charges for any little service they provide such as a bucket of ice for €6.00 (usually its free)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived at Venice airport and decided we would take the public water taxi service (called Alilaguna) into Venice. Ticket desk is inside the arrivals area so buy your tickets before you leave the airport building - also cheaper to buy a return ticket than a single, if you also want to return to airport by same means. The walkway, which is mostly covered, to the boat departure point took us just over 5 mins but we do walk at reasonable pace
Journey took approx 35 /40 mins to Rialto. Hotel took a few minutes to find as we thought it was furher away than it actually was! Hotel location is excellent
Hotel is 1 min from Grand Canal and Alilaguna stop.
Less than 2 mins from Rialto
5 minutes to San Marco (St Marks Square)
10 mins to Nove Fundamente (stop you need to get to Burano island)
Hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. We had 2 rooms connected by a private corridor connecting 2 separate rooms - very nice. Rooms also had a shared private balcony. Rooms were well appointed and the rooftop terrace was lovely in the sunshine with good views over the rooftops. Housekeeping service was fab, room cleaned morning and evening and turndown service with the complimentary chocolates was a nice touch.
Breakfast mainly continental selection, but also had eggs and bacon which my husband enjoyed. Good variety of pastries, fruit flans, cakes (loved the madeira cake and the fruit flan in particular), yogurts, fruit, cheese and some sliced meat.
WiFi access is a bit temperamental but got access via the pc in the lobby area (down the corridor to the right of the reception desk). Reception staff (Frederico B was our favourite) were very helpful and we took advantage of the free trip to Murano that the hotel organised to Signoretti. The pieces in the workshop showrooms are amazing. We didn't buy anything and the prices were better in the main street / canal in Murano. Don't be tempted by any sales pitches where they tell you the pieces are one-off or unique (unless you're into the thousands) as we found same elsewhere.
Would also suggest that you arrange your gondola trip separately, although recommendation from hotel on best night to do this for the sunset was spot on. Hotel also provided complimentary umbrellas for us, as we needed these one evening and also borrowed the next day when there was a high tide. We were also able to buy the fold up wellies which we needed to be able to go explore at high tide, this was actually fun.
We had a wonderful holiday and love Venice, we will be back.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a La Commedia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.