We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll stay at A la Commedia every time I visit Venice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Save Saved
You added Hotel a La Commedia to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #20 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'll stay at A la Commedia every time I visit Venice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

Fantastic service; friendly an accommodating staff; very clean room; and perfectly located between St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge. It was everything we expected, and more. I'd recommend a la Commedia to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    202
    26
    6
    10
See reviews for
176
698
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Finding a good value well located hotel in Venice is hard. This was expensive but definitely worth the money. Location was much better than it appeared on hotel or google maps a mere 1 min walk to main canal,2 min to rialto, 5 min to St marks (direct walking, not including window shopping....). Hotel staff very friend.y with directions and suggestions. Breakfast included to routine European fare, plus lovely fresh fruit which is always welcome relief when traveling. We caught a private taxi in from airport as we arrived at midnight, but honestly could have caught the public water taxi as the closest ferry stop is the Rialto, mind you we wouldn't have ever seen let alon known to walk down the little alley which led int the small piazza in front of hotel. There is a great little bar on rooftop. The staff speak good English.

Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

First, I can't tell you enough how much Venice is a bad place to visit. It's best to just avoid and let it stay in your mind as this romantic, clean place where the people are nice. In reality it's a dump that quickly brings you to the realization as to why it's such a terrible idea to build a "city on the water" with no roads. But this review shouldn't be about Venice, so on with the hotel ...

The hotel property itself is actually quite nice. Sure there are no views, but I don't think there are many views to be had in this city in the first place (as already mentioned!). The room was very expensive, but you probably already knew that when you started reading this review. But the room was very nice, very spacious. However, there's so much more to a hotel than just the room and the property ...

The staff really ruined this place for us. We didn't understand the whole parking-at-the-airport, taking the bus into the train terminal area, and then getting on the dumb water bus thing to get there in advance (all our fault for not doing homework), so it took us a very long time to get there (in a heat wave of about 95 degree heat with 80% humidity). If you can picture it, we were sweaty, tired, and a bit frustrated by the difficulty one has navigating a city with no streets (and instead a hodge podge of alleys). But we finally arrive, and immediately the upselling starts. We ask about where to find the best pizza in town (not knowing that Venice is not really known for pizza). The gentleman behind the desk (an overweight Joey Fatone, you'll recognize him if you go there!) immediately breaks into an annoying sales pitch - "well, pizza in Venice is no good, you see ... I like to recommend my personal favorite restaurant ..." as he slides open a drawer with probably a couple hundred business cards all from the same restaurant. Needless to say, the hotel was getting a cut on this. Then he proceeds to tell us "perhaps you want to take a gondola ride in the canal, I will make a reservation for you with my personal favorite!", followed by "Americans love to go on a tour of the local glass making island (Murano), I will arrange a fabulous trip!" Basically, this guy didn't realize it but he was doing an anti-sales job with us. We wanted nothing to do with what he was selling us. And because you have to leave your key at the front desk (it's one of those places), you're bound to have many encounters with them trying to sell you everything.

Last, before I go, let me plead one more time with you to avoid Venice altogether. There were beggars everywhere, human feces in the alleys (when a beggar's gotta go, a beggar's gotta go!), and it's an absolute nightmare to get around. All for what? There really aren't even very many things to do in Venice, unless you're really into buying touristy stuff made in China. There's no beach. The reason people go to Venice is because "it's a city on the water" and as such it's a novelty for that. But it's a bad novelty. It'd be like going on a vacation to a Turkish prison, just because it's a Turkish prison. There are far better places to go in Italy, and - better yet - there's a relatively unknown gem about 2h30m away ... Ljubljana. I can't say enough positive things about that city and that country.

Room Tip: Don't expect a view from anywhere (you won't find one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Le Street
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The hotel is in a great location, literally only a couple of minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge. We took the Alilaguna Boat (Orange line) from the airport to the Rialto Bridge and easily found the hotel using the instructions on their website.

Our ‘classic’ room (the most basic standard in this hotel) was of a good size and was finished with elegant cream furnishings. We felt that this was perfectly adequate for our needs and did not regret booking a higher standard of room. The bathroom was well appointed and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Given the central location of the hotel we were pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was in the room at night.

Breakfast was of a good standard, lovely coffee as you would expect in Italy!

The hotel benefits from a beautiful rooftop terrace where we enjoyed cocktails one evening with a fantastic view over the rooftops and of the Campanile. We found the hotel reception staff very helpful and friendly.

We found the central location really convenient and the hotel was excellently situated for exploring this beautiful city. Because it was so central we were able to slip out before breakfast and get some great photos before everywhere got busy!

The only negative comment we would make has recently been made by another reviewer and this is the charge for wi-fi (after only half an hour free usage). We really do resent having to pay for this and feel that hotels should provide this free of charge.

Overall this is an excellent hotel and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed at this great hotel for three days this September and had a very enjoyable stay! The service provided to us by all of the staff was welcoming and warm - nothing was left for us to worry about. The location was perfect for sightseeing, restaurants and overall exploration of Venice. The room was large by European standards, clean and appointed well. For anyone looking for friendly, attentive service this hotel fits the bill!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms, great location, warm welcome from reception staff, delicious breakfast and an excellent service. What more can you ask for in a central venetian hotel? I will be recommending it to everyone thinking of staying in Venice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Hotel La Commedia was wonderful. The staff are very very helpful and are very courteous.
The hotel has been newly renovated and has beautiful clean accommodations with wonderful marble bathrooms, large beds, plenty of closet and drawer space. Conveniently situatated
between Rialto bridge and San Marco Square. It is a great location. Easy to get to from
the Rialto water taxi stop. I highly recommend the La Commedia hotel. It was a pleasure to stay there. They also have a very relaxing roof-top area where you can sit to read, relax, or have a drink at the roof top bar. Sarah

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Rooms are quiet and just enough away from the Rialto to be enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a La Commedia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;