We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, cozy and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Giudecca 810, 30133 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #88 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very nice, cozy and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We've just come back from a romantic weekend in Venice.
The hotel is really big, it is constituted of 5 different buildings, all connected to each other.
We didn't book a room with view over the City but the interior was really nice, new and fresh. Upon check-in the receptionist offered us an upgrade to a room with view for 79 extra Euro per night.
Wonderful bathroom and bed.
When we first got to San Marco we couldn't find the free of charge shuttle to the hotel. Otheriwse we have been using it regularly. Beside the shuttle, there are 2 Vaporetto lines from Zattere all the way to the Giudecca Island; the station is approximately 5 minutes away from the hotel.
Eventually we decided to stay an extra night and we got the same weekend rate although we stayed a weekday (which is normally more expensive).
The Concierge tried to book us in for a hotel taxi to Murano, which is very expensive from the Giudecca island; instead we took the Vaporetto and it worked wonderfully anyway.
We got lost when we came back from the hotel Spa, which is very nice, clean and modern but not accessible by children under the age of 14 (16 if unaccompanied by an adult).
Unfortunately, visiting in early January, we couldn't use the rooftop pool.
Great place to use as a base when visiting Venice, great shuttle service, great American buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,963
    1,153
    391
    165
    84
See reviews for
644
2,143
81
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The main thing that was incredible about the hotel were the views from the rooftop and front of hotel. You could see all of Venice and surrounding islands. I really think the view would be better than most hotels in Venice since there you wouldn't see everything all in one panorama.

Everything else about the hotel was great--great service, rooms, and cleanliness. Pretty much what you would expect of a nice hotel in the U.S. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants since they were pretty expensive. If you're looking for cheaper food on the island, stay away from Osteria Ae Botti--it was some of the worst food I've ever had. I would go over to the main island for dinner. We did, however, find a little pastry shop down about 1-2 "blocks" from the hotel that was good (can't remember the name).

The only negative thing about the hotel is the inconvenience of the shuttle service. It was timely and we had no problems getting on it, but it doesn't run continuously so we waited almost an hour our first night there so we could check in with our luggage. However, I think that this is worth the trouble if it allows you to stay in Venice at all since the main island can be pretty expensive. We found the Hilton deal through Priceline and saved a lot of money. Overall, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

My husband and I and our two teenagers stayed at the Molino Stucky on Guidecca for Christmas 2009. The hotel is large and extremely comfortable, recently converted from a wheat factory. We stayed on Hilton points, but I would recommend it very highly at full price as well.

The hotel is extremely clean and has a simple elegance. Service was excellent. The rooms and bathrooms were great, as were the beds and bedding. We had free breakfast, which was an extensive and delicious buffet, and we had access to the Executive Lounge, which is right next to the Lobby Lounge and Bar. Some have complained about the location of the Lounge, but we found it very comfortable and convenient, with very generous offerings for a hotel lounge (free food and drink from 11:00 to 11:00).

The hotel is a distance from San Marco, and you cannot walk to the major sites (although it is lovely to walk around Guidecca), but we didn't mind at all, because the shuttle reminded us that Venice is an island, and we found it to be a very nice commute. The free hotel shuttle ran perfectly while we were there. We found it extremely convenient, and you can't beat the price (it's free as opposed to the 6.50 euro you pay for the public water shuttles). We also appreciated the view of Venice and the snow-capped alps from our bedroom window every morning.

Contrary to an earlier review, there was a huge public area full of sofas, chairs, tables and artwork -- it is around the corner from the main lobby, on the way to the Aromi restaurant. Perhaps it was added recently.

There is no free internet access.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

A wonderful hotel with a great view of Venice from the rooftop bar. The complimentary shuttle to the main island is perfect and staying away from the crush of tourist Venice was especially nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

This is a perfect hotel for a romantic trip to Venice. I'm not quite sure what some of the other reviews are on about - YES it is a short boat trip to the mainland but that just adds to the charm and uniqueness of the place. We found boats were always on time and were very easy to use.

Rooms were very spacious, beds super comfortable and showers were amazing!!! Best of all however, was the fact you can book to use the spa area on first floor absoutely FREE. they had a jacuzzi, turkish bath, relaxation area and saunas. We used it everyday to soothe our tired legs and feet after hours of wandering around Venice.

If i went back I wouldn't stay anywhere else - the hotel was just perfect!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Molino Stucky back in Jan. 2009 when it was about a year old. For Europe, this was simply a treat. Most hotels in Europe are old, musty, and small. The Molino Stucky was a former pasta factory on the Island of Guidecca. Here is a summary of the Pros and Cons:

Pros: (1) The common areas are clean and neat. The hotel looks beautiful during sunset from the Venice side. The hotel offers great views; (2) As of the writing of this review, the rooms are relatively new. The beds are actual king beds (rather than 2 twins pushed together like most European hotels); (3) Sheets were soft and luxurious; (4) Room size was excellent for a European hotel. Our room had marble bathroom, spacious closet, small breakfast table by the cute shuttered windows, large Flat Screen TV and room for your luggage and beautiful wood-beamed ceilings.

Cons: (1) Although Guidecca is a short 5-10 minute ride to Venice, it is a choppy, sea-sickness inducing ride. Taking the shuttle also wastes alot of precious time. By the 3rd day, I was starting to get sea-sick and felt like I was swaying even when I was on land (mostly after I took the shuttle and was sitting in a restaurant. (2) Shuttle Boat wasn't always on time. There were 2 drivers, one was good and timely, one was not. Sometimes we missed a boat ride back and had to kill time waiting in the cold. Not very pleasant. (3) There is not a very large common area in which to sit. The lobby only has a cocktail lounge, which you can't sit in unless you order. This leaves about 2 sofa chairs and one bench for everyone to sit on. (4) Internet service was a pain---the manager had to log us on and off each time we needed to check emails for work due to some Italian "privacy" law--weird and slightly inconvenient. (5) There is a smell that comes out of the common area bathroom by the breakfast buffett area. It is the most noticeable around 10pm. It smells like raw sewage, and the hotel tried to cover it by closing off these bathrooms at night. It happened every night that we were there; (6) Relatively thin walls---our neighbor turned up his opera music at Amadeus levels and it was blaring into my room. The hotel kindly asked him to turn it down, but the walls are so thin that I could hear his phone ringing when the front desk called him. Not too much privacy.

Overall, it was a very very good option for us as Venice is pricey and the Molino Stucky offered a good luxurious alternative to $600 per night rates in "town." If they took this hotel and placed it in the middle of the action, it would be fantastic. I would recommend this hotel, but do consider the shuttle boat issue if you don't like wasting too much time or you get motion sickness (like me). It was a great stay, with a few hiccups, but romantic and charming overall.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

I got this hotel through Priceline. I was offered a Five Star for a reasonable price and I accepted. The hotel was nice enough, but not five-star nice. The rooms had a musty smell & flat pillows. In addition, they did not offer free internet service - wireless or otherwise. The shuttle stops on Venice to get to the hotel are not identified and we had to call the hotel to find out where we catch the hotel shuttle. Once that was figured out we got used to taking the shuttle back & forth to Venice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel

Address: Giudecca 810, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Venice
#20 Business Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
#48 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#80 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Molino Stucky Hilton Venice has opened its doors on June 2007 and can be considered one of Europe’s most ambitious architectural restoration projects in recent years. The hotel has been created by reuniting the buildings that were once part of the Stucky Flour Mill which dates back to 1895 and counts 379 rooms including 88 executive rooms and 44 suites. We are the only hotel in Venice to offer a five-star spa and an amazing panoramic rooftop pool overlooking Venice and the Lagoon. The exclusive Skyline Rooftop Bar delights our guests with delicious cocktails with a breathtaking landscape of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel Venice
Hilton International Venice
Hilton Venice
Venice Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.