We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best apartment I have stayed in 30 years.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Grandi Vedute

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Grandi Vedute to your Saves list
Residenza Grandi Vedute
Fondmenta San Biaggio 812 | Isola della Giudecca, 30133 Venice, Italy (Giudecca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best apartment I have stayed in 30 years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Top class with very good facilities and highly recommend to anyone, from couples to families. View was stunning, access to central Venice is only 5 mins. Privacy, class, convenience,service all rolled into one.

Room Tip: Not sure of other rooms but the one we had faced the canal and had beautiful views of canal with Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
62
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is the best of both worlds; a much bigger space than you`d get in a hotel but with the convenience of a daily service. The apartment was clean and very comfortable; breakfast every day was great and there was more than enough. It was also nice to be able to take a pizza back for supper some nights rather than have to find somewhere to eat. Didn`t need to speak with anyone during our stay, but check in and out was friendly and efficient. A great (and quiet) location, away from the busy centre, but not too difficult to get to the main attractions; for Zattere or (once an hour) St Marco the Hilton shuttle (no checks - seems anyone can ride) is more convenient than the vaporetto. Watch out too for the strange sight of a giant cruise ship sailing past the window.

If you don`t have a water taxi (and personally I can think of better things to do with €100) do take the Alilaguna to/from the airport. It takes forever, but once you`re on it`s a single ride almost to the door; a much better bet than the bus and vaporetto, believe me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were delighted with our apartment , particularly with the service provided by an excellent employee, Eleonora Scarpa who went out of her way and was of invaluable assistance. It was very refreshing to be able to return to Giudecca on the ferry after a day in Venice proper and be able to have many wonderful restaurants, a grocery store, wine store, etc, within walking distance if you chose not to dine in Venice every evening.. Dining alfresco with an excellent view of Venice at night was enchanting. Being surrounded by water and able to see so many water vessels while in your room was a unique experience. This coupled with our time experiencing all of the wonders of Venice made for an enchanting vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was really a great discovery. You get a canal facing room for probably 1/5 of the price than at the Hilton next door. In addition, the rooms are very spacious, you have your own kitchen and everything is very clean. You can use the Hilton Shuttle boat to San Marco and if you don't behave like an idiot, you can sneak in to the Hilton's pool area. I would come back any time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

With the help of fellow trip advisors, and hours of reading all the helpful reviews the decision on accommodation was made. The Residenza Grandi Vedute offered something just a bit different to our normal choice and this "difference" was what made it so special!
Spotlessly clean, very spacious, wonderful views, plentiful breakfast supplies and above all the freedom that we had to come and go at any time, to prepare ourselves a meal midday for example, made for us the difference we were happy with.
Although set on the island of Giudecca it is not apart in transportation terms with excellent Vaporetto connections and also the free to use Hilton shuttle boat. The Grand Canal and St Marks square for example are only about ten minutes away on the Vaporetto.
We bought the 3 day pass at the airport with the return bus ticket and from plane to apartment was only about 45 minutes maximum. (I suggest you use the bus stop Palenca and not the first one you get to Sacca Fisola)
I was a little put out that on booking.com it stated "all apartments are on the 4th and 5th floors" They are not! However our ground floor apartment Burchio was perfect and it did not detract in any way from our enjoyment, just beware if it is important to you.
So all in all i can highly recommend this accommodation provided you dont need pampering and someone pouring your tea and are happy to wash up your own cups etc. But for us the fact that we could sit and watch the boats go by and enjoy a leisurely breakfast at whatever time we fancied was special.

Room Tip: A view over the canal is a must..apartment Burchio was superb being on the corner position with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time in Venice, the hotel owner emailed the direction / public transport list to the hotel few days before our arrival. They even explained the place of interest in Venice, public transport list, shopping area & branded factory outlet (the latter 2 places was the moat important agenda in our travel itinerary)
We booked the apartment for 4 pax, it was huge & spacious!! It has 2 king sized bed (1 in the master bedroom & 1 in the attic), walk in closet, working kitchen, dining & living areas. Room was clean & have amazing view of sunset. The bathroom also was spacious, clean and toiletries for 4 pax .
The DIY breakfast was interesting & they substitute bacon with more cheese, bread, biscuit, etc. basically our fridge was fully stocked with food. Btw the saeco illy espresso machine was a nice touch (espresso for the whole day!!).
Residenza Grandi Vadute was worth our trip to Venice. Excellent hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Better late than never, as they say... we stayed for two nights in April 2012. It was marvelous. We stayed in “Sandolino” which is a nicely appointed one-bedroom apartment. The accomodations were nice, particulary the stocked kitchen & espresso machine. If I were to nitpick I'd mention the bed was a bit stiff and the shower was tight. However, we absolutely loved staying on Guidecca. We much prefer the laid back feel of the residential island vs. the chaos and tourists in Venice. The free shuttle to Venice made seeing the sights a breeze. Luca, the manager, was welcoming and he kindly offered a restaurant recommendation, Ristorante Pizzeria Do Mori. It was fantastic. My favorite pizza in all of Italy.We also enjoyed dinner nearby at Trattori Al Cacciatori.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Grandi Vedute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Grandi Vedute

Address: Fondmenta San Biaggio 812 | Isola della Giudecca, 30133 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury apartments decorated in a 17th century Venetian Style with all the modern comforts are located on the top floors of the right wing of the Molino Stucky, a late 19th century art nouveau grain mill on the Giudecca Island in Venice. Six of our apartments overlook Venice. Each of them with a unique view of the Serenissima. Their size varies from 45 to 90 square meters with high wooden ceilings, big queen size beds, spacious living rooms and bathrooms in Verona marble. We are only 10 minutes by boat from Saint Marks Square and 5 minutes from the Grand Canal. After a long and complex restoration finished in 2003, the Molino Stucky is one of the finest and most comfortable buildings in the city. We assure you that our luxury apartments and the peaceful Island of the Giudecca are the way of enjoying a relaxing holiday in Venice. This Island, just across from Saint Marks Square, has always been one of the favorite summer places of the noble Venetian families who built beautiful villas surrounded by lovely gardens and orchards, as well as churches, monasteries and convents. Some are still standing and others like the monastery of San Biagio became the Molino Stucky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residenza Grandi Vedute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Grandi Vedute Hotel Venice
Residenza Grandi Vedute Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Grandi Vedute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.