We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hidden gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villeggiatura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Villeggiatura to your Saves list
La Villeggiatura
San Polo-Calle dei Botteri 1569, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This B&B was exactly as advertised and deserving of all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Unless you are a high-maintenance traveler (in which case you should probably be looking at big hotels, not B&B's), do not be scared off by discussion of the courtyard and stairs.

Location: Very close to the Rialto and fruit/fish markets, and a pleasant easy walk to St.Mark's Square. This was our first trip to Venice and we were a little worried about staying somewhere which looked like it was not super central, but we learned Venice is so small; the location was absolutely fine and convenient. We had no trouble finding the place using the directions from the website, and they give you a good city map when you arrive, so we never had problems finding it.

Exterior: About the courtyard: this is a B&B in an original building in a historic city, so yes, the entrance involves walking up an old courtyard past entrances to apartments. There is no grand lobby. But to us, it felt like accessing a secret door just off the street, going through a living building where people actually live, to a charming B&B at the top. The courtyard is communal for the building, so there were bins for garbage and recycling, but they were neat and there was no odor or loose trash at all. About the stairs: Staff were eager to help with bags although we packed light and didn't need help. There is the simple fact that there are 3 flights of stairs, so it certainly doesn't qualify as wheelchair accessible. However, for most people who will be walking through the city and navigating all the bridges and uneven terrain, it should not be a problem. We didn't even think twice about it.

Staff: The hotel manager, Barbara, may come off to some as a little brusque, but to me overall seemed uber-efficient and went out of her way to help make our whole visit pleasant. She sat down with us when we first arrived to go over our plans and see if we needed any help. Even when she wasn't on site, she made herself available by cellphone in case we got lost or needed recommendations. The other staff person, Sunil, was also very pleasant and helpful, and he is always onsite for emergencies. Overall he and the housekeeper were helpful, but not obtrusive. They let us leave our bags the day after checkout because we had a late train out, which was also super helpful.

Interior: Ours looked exactly like the photo on the website, and bathrooms were *clean.* Noise level was minimal. We heard no street noise; we could hear the noise of like, the adjacent shower, toilet flushing and the family in the adjacent room using the bathroom, but only from our bathroom. It wouldn't have woken us up. The tradeoff with the quietness is probably that there was no view to speak of, just adjacent homes, but we only used the room to sleep. The common breakfast area is bright and clean.

Breakfast: cereal, pastries, yogurt, fruit, hot drinks to order, juices. It seemed like a perfectly fine selection to us.

We met lots of other Americans who were there having found it on TA, and from the stickers on one of their windows they appear to get lots of mentions from similar sites in other European countries like France. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    49
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
103
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were a family of seven (7) with Grandma & Grandpa and school aged children. We were so very comfortable in our rooms! We found it very quiet and restful with the bustling Venice activity happening just outside. Great hospitality, great location, and wonderful breakfasts.

Barbara was so very knowledgable on all topics. She is there to assist with all questions and gives excellent advice. Even before you arrive, be sure to ask questions regarding arrival transportation as well as departure. There are difficult ways of getting to the La Villeggiatura and easy ways. Don't insist on figuring it out on your own.

There are many steps to get to the top level of the building where the La Villeggiatura is located. I loved the exercise (as well as walking everywhere around Venice!) but for older folks, it should be a consideration. My 75 year-old parents just took it slow and were fine. The comfortable beds made the walk up all worth it.

Thank you Barbara for everything!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while on our honeymoon. The hotel was very difficult to find, but beautiful. Gorgeous lobby, breakfast was the best of the 5 hotels we stayed at in Italy, and the room was very clean and beautiful. The bed was the most comfortable we stayed at in Italy, too. The room price was extremely expensive (which seems to be typical for Venice), and Francesca was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

First the don’t’s. Don’t expect incredible views from every room and don’t expect an elevator. That’s about it. But la Villeggiattura is centrally located, a pleasant walk / vaporetto ride to just about anywhere you want to go in Venice and staffed by incredibly well-informed people who will help you get the absolute most out of your Venice experience, especially Barbara, Sunil and Sandra, who clearly were multi-tasking experts long before the label was even applied to property management. The stair climb from the street is daunting if you have any issue with at least two healthy flights, and our window view was a skylight (at least we knew what the weather was like and the full moon one night was breathtaking!) Add a very pleasant, generous breakfast to start off each day and the Villeggiatura staff’s extensive local knowledge (don’t hesitate to ask for a dinner restaurant recommendation!) and your Venice visit will be logged in your diary of memorable trips.

Room Tip: Consider carefully if stair climbing is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We enjoyed a 4-day stay in Oct 2012 in the Casanova room on the street side. Can't speak highly enough of Barbara, who manages this property. Bright, energetic, encyclopedic knowledge of Venice, always willing to help. La Villeggiatura is an easy five minute walk from Rialto Bridge, an excellent location from which to base your visit. Rooms are bright, clean, very well-appointed and comfortable, and very quiet. Breakfast is wonderful. I worried about the third floor and no lift as we had heavy luggage, but Barbara and her staff took excellent care of us. All-in-all, a distinct advantage to Venice's hotel scene if you're looking for a quiet, efficient, excellent value-for-money base of sightseeing operations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I learned of this lovely b&b through the NY times travel review and enjoyed a 3-night stay during mid-July. If you are looking for a quiet, clean place to stay close to the Rialto bridge, this is an excellent choice! The rooms are very peaceful, the location is centrally located, breakfast is served in a beautiful sun-lit dining room and most importantly the bedroom and bathroom were spotless. Barbara is very helpful both via email and in person, she is a wonderful resource for restaurant recommendations and itinerary guidance. When you arrive, she'll meet you in person to get you checked in and sit down with you to help you plan your time in Venice. I left a dress behind in the armoire and Barbara was kind enough to contact me by email before I even realized it was missing. She mailed it all the way to the states free of charge--amazing! Our room (looks like we were in the 'Goldoni' room from the website) was average size, big enough to accommodate 3 people with a cot set up along the wall, the high ceilings make it feel spacious. Furnishings were elegant and simple, air conditioning was great, bathroom was equipped with a hair dryer, slippers and toiletries. Our room did not have much of a view but it did not detract from our experience. Breakfast was included and consisted of yogurt, assorted pastries, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. When we were running late on our last day, they were nice enough to wrap it up to go! It's also fun to walk down to the market which is right around the corner and choose your own fruit from the stands. Based on our stay, I will definitely try to return next time I'm in Venice.

Just one disclaimer--don't be alarmed by the state of the entrance when you arrive, the path from the ground level to the third floor can be a little off-putting because it's poorly lit and less than glamorous. You have to walk through a ground level courtyard with waste receptacles and pass a few private apartments before you reach the third level where La Villeggiatura is actually located. Don't make any judgments until you get to the top floor, the entryway does not reflect the quality of the b&b! If you are looking for a place where you can come and go anonymously this might not be the best choice because it is extremely small and quiet, it almost has a home-stay feel to it. But if you are looking for peaceful accommodations that are clean, reasonably priced and close to the Rialto bridge, then this is the perfect choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Venice was our first stop on our 18 day tour of Italy and we chose to stay at this B&B from the Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed here 3 nights and were not disappointed! It is well situated and very clean. The entry is quaint and when you arrive upstairs to the B&B you feel like you've come "home"! Our room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the morning breakfast visited with the other travelers as well as the gracious host that served us our cappuccino! Enjoy Venice!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villeggiatura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villeggiatura

Address: San Polo-Calle dei Botteri 1569, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Villeggiatura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villeggiatura Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villeggiatura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.