We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova ai Tolentini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casanova ai Tolentini to your Saves list
Casanova ai Tolentini
Fondamenta del Gafaro 3515, 30123 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Yacolt, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

A marvelous, roomy, clean, convient B&B. Do book through their website and be aware that you check in at the hotel Florida, which is very near the train station. We booked a suite and had breakfast at the hotel. A bit of a walk, but then everything in Venice is a bit of a walk. This is a well situated place for seeing the city. Very helpful young lady at the desk when we checked in. I would certainly come back. I have, in fact, stayed at the hotel Florida twice before, but over twenty years ago. That is why we were looking at their website and found the B&B which I like better than the hotel. The room is larger than the one I had at the hotel last time I was here.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    81
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
41
153
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. This is an unstaffed B&B (if you book directly through the hotel, it is a B&B. If you book through a 3rd party, it's a B without the B, but you can always buy breakfast at Hotel Florida or at a place nearby - plenty of options).

We checked in at Hotel Florida and the check-in process was very quick and easy. All the staff members we encountered at Hotel Florida were so friendly and helpful. We were provided with walking directions to the B&B at check-in - the directions were very clear and the walk wasn't bad at all. You did have to cross two bridges, but this is Venice! Duh. It's just part of the charm. The bridges were expected and were not a problem at all.

We stayed in the room with the separate bathroom across the hall. The bathroom situation was just fine. My only word of caution: DO NOT FORGET TO TAKE THE ROOM KEY WITH YOU WHEN USING THE BATHROOM!! The bedroom door locks behind you. Just a friendly reminder in case you need to get up in the middle of the night, half asleep, to use the bathroom and do not want to get locked out in your underwear. The room itself was nice - the bedding was comfortable and it was quiet. The cleaning staff did a great job and put candies on the pillows, which was a nice touch :) Overall, a good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and we were disappointed to find that our bathroom was not adjoined to our room (across the corridor) which was not made clear when we made the booking. I read a number of reviews that suggested this place was good value, but after staying at a number of b and bs across the Italian cities on our holiday, this was by far the most overpriced for such basic accommodation. However, although basic, the room was clean (otherwise I would have refused to pay the price). Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolentini, Proprietario at Casanova ai Tolentini, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review, your appreciation for our cleaness is very important for us.
Regarding the room, we simply gave you the room you choose. In all the on line travel agency where we are affiliated it's well described the room, your choice was for the standard room external bathroom, which is not a bad choice at all, the room is comfortable wilth all the amenities you might need, but the bathroom ( private and exclusive, not to be shared ) is out of the door, truly the door next to your room ( you do not have to cross corridor or walk for more than 2 -truly 2-seconds....this is the reason why it's cheaper than other and probably it's the reason why you choose it.
Please don't blame us for your wrong choice, we always do our best and our clients really loves us, many of them came back every year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights in August 2014. For the price the room was surprisingly big and well fitted and was super clean. The location is great if you have arrived by bus, train or car, about 5 minutes from the bus station, 10 minutes from the train station.

The staff at the Hotel Florida (where you check in) were friendly and could speak good English and ensured the directions to the B&B were impossible to misread. In terms of location for seeing the rest of Venice the B&B is located in a quieter but still beautiful area with lots of restaurants and Cafes nearby. It's a 25-30 minute meander to St Marcos Square but the bonus of this is the area isn't packed with tourists.

The Wi-Fi in the room was a bit rubbish, also they don't recognise breakfast bookings through third party websites.

All in all would definitely stay here again.

P.s would totally recommend Impronta Cafe which is about 5 minute's walk away

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We just recently returned from a 14 night stay in Italy and we stayed at the B&B Casanova ai Tolentini for 2 nights. I woke up the first night and realized that I had bites on me...thinking they were from a mosquito, but soon figured out after many more big red bumps appeared on my body over the next few days, that they were bed bugs. I booked this through Bookings.com and unfortunately did not see that other people had experienced the same thing UNTIL after when they offered me to assess what other people said. Looks like they have a BED BUG problem. DO NOT STAY there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolentini, Proprietario at Casanova ai Tolentini, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you to spent time reviewing our B&B, we would like just to underline that our maid clean the rooms daily and change towels and sheets ( that cames from a proffesione laundry in vaccun package ) . We are very proud of the cleaness of the rooms and our clients too.
Nontheless when you reported us this unbelievable fact we , me and my wife, went personally to help the maid but no bugs went out from any part of the room or mattress…probably you have been bait out of our room….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I would first like to say that the man who worked the front desk at Hotel Florida was a tremendous help and deserves a big compliment. His English skills were superb and he answered all of our questions on Venice. The Bed and Breakfast is a great value and the views of the smaller canals are amazing. A great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A house by the canal with gondolas passing by, with two bridges just outside, a great café/restaurant downstairs, short walk thru that great labyrinth of streets and piazzas - does not get any more Venice than that!
We arrived by train from Florence, and had to pick up the key from Florida hotel next to the station. As we arrived about 11 am and they do not let you check in until 2 pm (nor take your stuff to Casanova), we left our luggage and wondered nearby streets. Also, check-out is at 10:30, they are very strict with that. I believe it is too early - all our other places had a 12 pm check-out. Very inconvenient, considering you have to shlep with your stuff back to Florida to drop off the key (they don't let you leave it at Casanova), then just wander around until time you have to leave Venice.
Other than that, the stay was perfect. Room was quite large, so was the bathroom. Very clean. WIFI reception was superb. The restaurant just outside is great for breakfast or lunch, costs the same as breakfast they offer at Florida but the setting is uncomparable. The walk to St. Marco is about 30 minutes, to Rialto area about 20. It is the first time we stayed in this part of Venice and glad we did. We discovered countless hidden gems of restaurants, piazzas, canals, churches and streets that we would never visit having stayed closer to usual attractions, or Mestre. We saw more of Venice this time than in all previous visits combined. We avoided taking vaporettos (did it once only) - they were too crowded, lines were long, so we walked everywhere. It is very safe.
Something about Venice restaurants. The farther you are from the main tourist landmarks, the better the food and service. Not too far, but only 2-3 blocks away. But the cafes at St.Marco at night are a must - even with their 6 euro cover, 6 euro coffee and 12 euro glass of wine. What an enchanting experience! The music, the scene, the setting. One of a kind.
Venice is truly the most beautiful and magic place in Europe. Staying at Casanova Tolentino adds to that charm.

Room Tip: It is a quiet part of town, so any room will do for good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casanova ai Tolentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova ai Tolentini

Address: Fondamenta del Gafaro 3515, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casanova ai Tolentini is the Bed and Breakfast where you will find a perfect combination of comfort and discretion in an exclusive home-like environment, we offer the perfect atmosphere to appreciate the magic of the most romantic city in the world.Venice was home to adventurer and irresistible seducer Giacomo Casanova and a city where artists and poets from all over the world left their hearts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Casanova ai Tolentini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Ai Tolentini Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova ai Tolentini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.