We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms but excellent atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alba D'Oro Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alba D'Oro Camping
Save
You added Alba D'Oro Camping to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Via Triestina 214/b | Ca Noghera - Mestre, 30030 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Average rooms but excellent atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in the little cabins, not camping, and they were clean and a decent size. The en suite shower broke one day so had to use hideous swimming pool showers. The water in our en suite was never hot enough. It was very cheap though so can't complain. Good transport links into the city. Also an excellent bar on campsite with good atmosphere and plenty of other young travellers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
9
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here while interrailing in August 2010.

We arrived late at night after catching a bus from the airport - it took around 10 minutes.
When arriving it was fairly busy and noisy with people at the bar etc, you have to leave your passport at reception.

We had a small cabin with 2 single beds and a bathroom. It also had aircon.
It was basic but for the price we paid you shouldn't expect more - it was clean and did the job while backpacking.

On site there was a sand football pitch and a swimming pool. We did not use the bar, but we went to the restaurant for breakfast - you pay a set price which we did not understand - so after only having toast and fruit as the rest did not appeal to us - we had to pay the full price when we left.
Tea was nice however and reasonably priced. There was also a well stocked supermarket which we used for the next days breakfast and saved a fair bit of money.

The worst thing about this camp site was that you had to put money on a card for anything you wanted to buy. With so many people there, there were queues to do this.

There are cheap buses that run from the site to Venice - it is a long way out as it is not in actual Venice.

Staying here saved us a lot of money as it was far cheaper than staying in Venice, which meant we could use the spare money on eating out during the day time in Venice (which is expensive). It also had free internet if you sit at the bar/cafe/check in area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in a private cabin! They were all you needed, clean, good bathroom, aircon! Was a little far from the city but regular buses stop right outside the door and unless you want to pay 100's of dollars to stay in the city then its fine!restaurant was nice, staff friendly and camp grounds are nice! It is right next to the airport but we didn't even notice the noise inside the cabins! And it definately didn't affect our sleep after a big day sightseeing! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed here while on a Topdeck tour. It was clean enough and the pool was nice. The atmosphere was fun as there were also a couple of other Topdeck tours and also a Busabout tour there so there were lots of young people. But this could mean it's not great for families and older couples as it gets a bit noisy sometimes and we had parties every night there. It's far from Venice itself and the staff at reception were quite rude. The wifi only works when you sit around the pool and reception area and even when you do get it, it's really slow. You can pay to use the internet on computers near reception but it's also really slow and I spent most of the time I had paid for waiting for pages to load (sometimes they never load at all).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Just outside the venice city lies an amazing (and cheap!) camping site. All the fun you would want in a resort packed up in the camping place. You can choose from single/ double camping tents or family cottages, all very reasonable priced. It has a very nice Italian restaurant (would recommend the pizzas), nice bar and a very nice pool...a complete package for all kinds of travelers: from budget backpackers to families.
In addition, Venice being an amazingly beautiful place, this trip is a must go for all!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We'd just come off the cruise, it's early, we're lost..the taxi driver knew the place and zipped us there! We checked in, followed instructions by the nice front desk and returned to Venice (two buses, easy as pie!) (OH..get a prepaid ticket for round-trip and scan thru the bus scanner!). Toured Venice, returned safely and quite quickly...went to their excellent & busy little restaurant, beer, pizza...RELAX>>>>
Never even heard the planes...the room we were given were spacious, had its own shower/bathroom. (4 of us adults, me-3 kids) There was a large! pool, an open but hidden gym, a pizza place, a restaurant, and a mini-grocery store, birds, trees, nice and QUIET ..we RELAXED AGAIN..birds chirping, casual swimming. There was a college-group there, it was fun. Great for families and backpackers and groups.
It's a camp ground..not a five star...and it had more than I could've asked for. A comfortable, casual, relaxing place to stay in Venice.

Room Tip: read the advisor, rooms are Varied!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a twin private. When we arrived the room was not cleaned. They only provide a flat sheet and pillow, no blanket.

As a rule travellers are recommended to carry as little cash as possible, especially backpackers. This camp only takes cash for everything except room cost. 8€ laundry, inflated costs in the "supermarket". Staff at reception are ridiculously slow and inept at best. Several people were waiting to taxi to Venice as a result of the bus strike, and reception mentioned that taxis carry 4. We asked for 3 taxis for 11 people and when they arrive they held 6 each. Transport knowledge seems to be at least the most basic things they should have here.

We travelled in on a Busabout tour which provides us a coupon for pizza and a pint of beer for 7.50€. Each person at the restaurant had different ideas of what that meant and in all cases involved half a pint of beer and a pizza. This restaurant is not recommended coupon or not - busabouters save your money!

We needed a 4th night and during checkin the reception said we were booked for 4, but when we went back the next person said only 3 and the site was now completely booked.

Overall what you "save" staying here you will lose, and more, by using the facilities.

Also, it would be nice if they advertised that they are right next to the airport but I doubt that will happen.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba D'Oro Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba D'Oro Camping

Address: Via Triestina 214/b | Ca Noghera - Mestre, 30030 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Hotel Class:2 star — Alba D'Oro Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Alba d`Oro Camping Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba D'Oro Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.