We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with the Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolomiti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dolomiti Hotel to your Saves list
Dolomiti Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 73-74 | (Calle Priuli ai Cavalletti), 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good with the Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Two of us stopped for 1 night end of June, having arrived at the train station from Germany at 9am I though I would see if it would be ok to leave the bags at the hotel and come back for check in, the hotel was only 5 mins walk from the train station, it is in a small side street but keep your eyes open for the entrance to the street as it can be easy to miss, having reached the hotel, the gentleman behind the desk was nice and polite I asked about leaving the bags, he had a quick look and was happy for us to check in then, this was fantastic as we had an overnight train so the use of a shower and ability to get changed helped.
we had a room with out an ensuite so it was use of a shared bathroom, although the toilet was outside our room, the shower was other side of the hotel and next floor down, it was clean and tidy but it was on the very small side, barely enough room to open the door and get out, which made it difficult to get changed and have a place to leave our clothes while showering. The breakfast well we found it really disappointing, there where two rooms we was told we was in the first room, there was only us while the 2nd room had a few tables of people nicely lit while our room was empty and dark, and to be honest the food was hard and stale and drinks were awful we left with out touching it there was no service just a “you sit here”. We had a room at the front and there can be a bit of noise from people passing, and we had a double bed room, but it was two single pushed together with two single duvets.
good for a short stay if your on a budget good service with a clean room, but lots could be improved

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    70
    32
    16
    6
See reviews for
28
62
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have just returned from 4 nights at the Dolomiti, having stayed there before, I hoped it would be as I remembered it, and it was. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfast and friendly staff. Shower was excellent. It's a great location for seeing Venice, quiet at night, but near to the station, waterbuses and a short walk from the People Mover.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air conditioning, but the fans are good on the lower floors. Floor 4 does get hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Dolomiti in May, 2013.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms really nice, clean and had a nice simple Venetian feel. The breakfast was fresh and sufficient. The breakfast staff looked after us well and ensured we had a very pleasant breakfast. The location is quiet and great for train travellers as it is just one lane on the left past the church as you come out of the railway station.

Room Tip: There is no lift so asking for a lower floor room would probably be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Location is excellent. Just couple of minutes walk from the main train station.

No Elevator which is common in such hotels in venice but what i dont like is that i put the request to give us ground floor or 1st floor because of our kids. But they didnt confirm/reply and also gave us room on 2nd floor. There is no Air conditioning (again hotels of this range dont have it mostly in Venice). Mosquitos are common problem in Venice so be Ready :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great location right near the station. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean, quite large also. There is a television and hair dryer. The bathroom and shower are both very small. The hotel has no lift and also no air conditioning in the rooms made it extremely difficult for us to sleep as we had to leave windows open and were still sweating from the heat. On the second day though we were brought a fan which is very kind of the staff. If you stay here find a room with an aircon!! Breakfast is average with not much choice, a croissant brought out to you and instant hot drink machines available. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Find a room with an air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Since our first stay at Hotel Dolomiti in 2008 we always return there when we are in Venice. It's an old fashioned family hotel, clean and beautiful, service is excellent, people are very friendly. There is just one incommodity: no lift. But we don't mind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having thought we would spend less nights than we actually did in Venice, the hotel that we had been previously staying at (Stella Alpina Edelweiss, which is good value for money) we booked Dolomiti Hotel which was located just in front. We werent able to look at our room before we paid, unfortunately! It was very disappointing, we had to share bathroom but there was only one for every 3 floors or so!!! There are no stairs, and we were almost at the very top, you could hear everything from inside the room, what was going in the exterior, and also in the halls... It seemed like a hospital room, not cosy at all. The shared bathroom didnt have toilet paper, and were in very poor conditions. The shower, again there were about 2 in the whole hotel to share! Staff wasnt friendly, and breakfast was average... Unfortunately, cannot say anything good, other than the hotel has a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolomiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolomiti Hotel

Address: Cannaregio 73-74 | (Calle Priuli ai Cavalletti), 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolomiti Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolomiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolomiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.