We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolomiti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dolomiti Hotel to your Saves list
Dolomiti Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 73-74 | (Calle Priuli ai Cavalletti), 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 383 Hotels in Venice
australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location very near the main sattion and not far from the grand canal. The rooms are nice and the bathrooms very good with excellent water pressure. The breakfast was pretty poor and the staff about as disinterested as you would put up with without expressing your disappointment. I wish I could figure out how to give 3 and a half rating for the location and showers.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    70
    32
    16
    6
See reviews for
28
62
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Our family of five was happy for price / quality ratio. We had two rooms with, breakfast, toilets in the corridor, 150 eur together. Rooms are basic but ok. Clean, good location, friendly, can be recommended.

Hotel is near grand canal and railwaystation, location ok.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Visiting Venice is 4th time for me and 3rd time for my wife Priscilla and first time for our friends from Malaysia visiting Europe. I booked 2 double-rooms and the hotel is situated about 50 meters from St. Lucia train station & another about 50 meters to Pizzale Roma bas station. The location is good in terms of visiting Venice as it`s near to many restaurants and boat-busstops. Only disadvantages for this hotel are:mosquitos come in when sleep with open windows at night because there`s no air-con and moreover there`s no elevators,so when we got the 2 rooms at the highest floor,one needs to have good stamina. If one has bigger lugguage,I don`t recommend this hotel unless you have negotiated in advance for a room on 1st floor. Breakfast is okay. For budget travellers or back-packers are okay for this hotel but for families or older people or big lugguages, I should recommend another hotel if possible. On the whole,the rooms are clean,toilets and bathrooms are okay besides those setbacks. Bear in mind,it`svery hot in Venice during summers and they have only fans in the rooms.

Room Tip: Read the reviews of other travellers before one books a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place might fly under the radar but it was clean, reasonably priced, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were quite comfortable, with A/C. No fridge in the room, but they let me put a bottle of wine in the kitchen fridge to chill. Very close to the train station, and easy access to cooler neighborhoods of Venice that are a little less touristy (not totally escapable anywhere in this city, of course). Not a luxury place, but everything you need. Cute little breakfast room and courtyard. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Wonderful hotel, rooms are neat & clean. Service is great, very friendly & helpful.
This hotel is close to the train station which is a plus when you are just getting to the city!

This is in a more quiet part of the city, but the water taxis an vaparettos are close-by so it is easy to get around.

I would stay here again & recommend it to my friends.
The only thing missing is a small refrigerator, but they do have a vending machine with water & soda.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We came there at about 22:00 since we missed our train (which meant that we "had" to stay another day in venice :)). The receptionist told us that since it's already late the price is reduced to 90 euros for a double room. Later, after checking the prices at home we found out that these are the normal prices of the hotel, certainly not a discount and we even paid 5 euros more then the prices in the season. However the receptionist WAS friendly.
In the room it was terribly hot (more then the outside!) and since there is no air conditioning in the rooms we really suffered. Another bad thing are the noisy doors of the rooms, which slam automatically and therefor it woke us up during the night.
We didn't try the breakfast...
Since the night before we stayed in a different hotel, for 110 euros I highly recommend to look for a different hotel. I'm sure you can find a better one at the same price, and even if you have to spend 20 euros more- do it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I really hated this hotel, for 3 main reasons.

1. On the first day of our trip, I sat on the first floor stairs waiting for my boyfriend to run back upstairs to get something we had forgotten from our room. From where I was sitting I could see the man behind reception pick up two pieces of luggage that some guests had asked them to keep for a few hours, and throw them into the corner of the room, literally threw them really hard against a wall, then he heard jingling (i also heard it too) from one of the bags, a back packing rucsack type bag, I then saw him proceed to unzip the top pocket of the bag and remove two hand fulls of coins and a couple of notes, he stole from the bag.

At this point my boyfriend came back, so I jumped up and went down, when the man heard us coming he scurried to another room and I actually heard him put all the coins down, then come back and welcome use.

2. The second issue was with the same man, I was buying two drinks from the vending machine, each was 1.50 euro, I put 3 Euros in, got one drink and then the machine swallowed the rest. That was fine, I thought the man would just give me another drink. Instead he said "Just put another 1.50 Euro in and you'll get a drink!" I said that I had already paid, and that he should fix it or open up the machine or something, he came back with "well it is not my machine". The guy has the worst attitude I have ever experienced in a hotel, we nearly came to having a full blown argument. I told him it wasn't my machine, it is in his hotel, it has taken my money and I want a flipping drink, after 10 mins of arguing he put a Euro in and gave me a drink saying "great, I'm down 1 Euro, enjoying your lovely drink" in the worst, sarcastic way. Idiot.

3. No Air-con. I realise this might be because the building is old, but it was so hot in Venice that the one fan that was provided was not sufficient, we had to leave both windows open and proceeded to be bitten approx 20 times each my mosquitos.

Overall, the room was clean, big and OK, pretty basic. The guy that was stealing and just a general loser was around 50, white/grey hair, stocky built. I dont want him to be mixed up with a slim man of a similar age with dark grey hair who was kind.

Room Tip: Do NOT leave your luggage in this place after you check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolomiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolomiti Hotel

Address: Cannaregio 73-74 | (Calle Priuli ai Cavalletti), 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolomiti Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolomiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolomiti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.