We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally Friendly and Service-Oriented” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
Save
You added Oltre Il Giardino to your Saves list
San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Friendly and Service-Oriented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I stayed with my wife and 2 childrens (ages 12 and 14) for a few nights. The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful with all aspects of our stay. I don't speak much Italian, but the concierge had a mastery of English. The hotel was the best we stayed in during our European travels...clean and very comfortable. The garden was an oasis from the Venice crowds. The area where the hotel is located is quieter than most neighborhoods, but there were plenty of restaurants within a short walk (less than 10 mins).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
191
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We chose Oltre Il Giardino after reading a review on Conde Nast Traveller and checking what Trip Advisor had to say about it. All the positives are true. It’s elegant and eclectic and the service is friendly and relaxed but completely unobtrusive. There’s a lovely living room in the house where guests have breakfast in the chillier months and a pretty garden for warmer times. The bedroom we had was a good size with a comfy big bed, TV and charming en suite bathroom. Unlike the rest of Venice they aren’t out to extract as much money out of you as possible at any stage - they were happy to bring us tea and cake in the afternoon and didn’t charge for this or for the numerous waters we had from the mini-bar, even though I prompted them when checking out. The location was fantastic too - it was away from the mass of tourists yet only a few minutes walk away from the vaporetto stop, San Toma, on the Grand Canal.

If you do stay at Oltre Il Giardino do go to Trattoria San Toma located on the Campo San Toma. They are super friendly and the place has a lovely relaxed atmosphere where you can settle in for a long lunch or supper with delicious food.

Will definitely go back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

A haven - because the B&B is in such a quiet location, alongside a canal with a lovely walled garden. Understated elegance with a tasteful balance of modern furnishing and antiques.

Plentiful, delicious breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and a variety of pastries. Very helpful, friendly staff with good insider knowledge about the best places to eat in San Polo.

Convenient location to explore Venice on foot or for the water buses (highly recommend the trips out to the islands and around the outside of Venice).

Overall, a delightful and good value B&B in Venice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We had an ideal few days in Venice here. The rooms were very comfortable, bed excellent; we were woken to the smell of baking and were presented each morning with a new, and at least to us unknown delicious cake or pastry in addition to freshly squeezed juice and the more familiar array of croissants fresh fruit and cereals. There were those other thoughtful details too - umbrellas for a rainy day, and even a collection of wellies in different sizes for the one afternoon the high tide washed over the canals and inundanted the fundamente.
In fact returning to the hotel after this particular day we were greeted with a reviving sweet ginger and peach tea with delicate venetian biscuits. The location is ideal too - 5mins from the vaporetto and literally opposite one of the most important treasures of Venice, the Church and Scuola of the Frari. Our thanks to Lorenzo and his charming and friendly staff for a truly lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

I strongly suggest this nice hotel ! very cozy atmosphere, the rooms are very nicely decorated (finally one hotel with no venetian decoration! it was very hard to find...) and most of all the service is really unforgettable, from the moldavian girl at breakfast and her smile to the guys at the reception! They all were very friendly and truly interested in their guest! We (guests) were few at that time and in any case the rooms are only six so the place is never crowded and this helps to make you feel just like home. We took the blue room on the second floor and it was very nice and spacious with bedroom and living room separated. We also staied in the room next door which is smaller but still spacious and nicely decorated. A nice memory I have is that perfect mix of espresso,fresh bread and croissant that I could smell every morning going down the stairs... what a wonderful way to start your day.
ps: two steps from the hotel you will find the MURO Restaurant. It is not the classic trattoria in fact is vey modern but I guarantee the food was very very good. After 8 hours of walking and 8 degrees under zero, it was nice to have a good restaurant close to the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menton, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I read a review in Travel & Leisure about this hotel and was not disappointed. If you prefer to stay away from the crowds, enjoy personalized service, excellent food (breakfast) and attentive service then this small hotel is the ideal place to stay. We stayed in the Green room, it was like a suite. The rooms were clean and large (bedroom, sitting room) and we had our own private outdoor seating area. An ideal place to stay while visiting Venice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Oltre il Giardino is a beautiful old house that sits on a quiet canal (Rio di San Stin) in a charming residential/historical neighborhood in San Polo. The house itself and the room we stayed in (Ivory) are decorated in a simple, sophisticated style. Clean decor and very comfy bed. Spotless bath and a large walk-in closet. Service here, as mentioned in other reviews, is warm and friendly. Rita's breakfast service is charming and efficient, but not intrusive (the food's excellent--many choices, and all of it of high quality). Tommaso and Emmanuele on the night desk patiently plotted directions and helped us plan walks and excursions in the city and to the outer islands. And during our stay, we learned that Lorenzo (the owner) took care to find a doctor (friend of the family) who was able to replace the prescription medications a guest had forgotten to pack. This help is offered in the friendliest, easiest way imaginable. The hospitality offered here is of a very high order indeed. We stayed four nights and were sorry it wasn't longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,742 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#35 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oltre Il Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.