We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
Save Saved
You added Oltre Il Giardino to your Saves list
San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 382 hotels in Venice
Menton, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I read a review in Travel & Leisure about this hotel and was not disappointed. If you prefer to stay away from the crowds, enjoy personalized service, excellent food (breakfast) and attentive service then this small hotel is the ideal place to stay. We stayed in the Green room, it was like a suite. The rooms were clean and large (bedroom, sitting room) and we had our own private outdoor seating area. An ideal place to stay while visiting Venice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
168
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Oltre il Giardino is a beautiful old house that sits on a quiet canal (Rio di San Stin) in a charming residential/historical neighborhood in San Polo. The house itself and the room we stayed in (Ivory) are decorated in a simple, sophisticated style. Clean decor and very comfy bed. Spotless bath and a large walk-in closet. Service here, as mentioned in other reviews, is warm and friendly. Rita's breakfast service is charming and efficient, but not intrusive (the food's excellent--many choices, and all of it of high quality). Tommaso and Emmanuele on the night desk patiently plotted directions and helped us plan walks and excursions in the city and to the outer islands. And during our stay, we learned that Lorenzo (the owner) took care to find a doctor (friend of the family) who was able to replace the prescription medications a guest had forgotten to pack. This help is offered in the friendliest, easiest way imaginable. The hospitality offered here is of a very high order indeed. We stayed four nights and were sorry it wasn't longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I found the Oltre Il Giardino on your website and it was as perfect as your reviews stated. Our room was spacious, immaculate, well-appointed, and overlooked the garden where breakfast is served - weather permitting. And, the breakfasts were delicious. I wanted to have one of everything! The hosts were always friendly and very helpful. After a day of touring in the rain, hot tea and cookies were delivered to our room. What a treat!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I loved this hotel and would return without hesitation. There are only 6 rooms in a converted house entered through a small walled garden beside a canal - you get a key for your room and the garden door.

Breakfast is in the garden when warm enough - there is a buffet of cereals, yoghurt, various cakes and pastries; coffee, cheese and hams are brought to the table separately.

We had the turquoise room, a small suite with a large bathroom. This was very comfortable and I would recommend it. Pictures are attached to this review. The bathroom is supplied with Bulgari soaps etc. The shower gel was only replenished once during a 4 night stay though. The bed and pillows were on the hard side - I found this fine but it may be an issue if you like a big marshmallow bed. There was free internet access in the room via ethernet cable (we brought our own) - wireless access was not available. There was also A/C.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The main public room was a nice quiet place to take shelter during hotter parts of the day and has bookshelves sticked with books on Venice and guidebooks left by past guests. There is also a small table of bottles here.

The location of the hotel is ideal, a few seconds form the Frari and very quiet. The best hot chocolate in Venice is about 10 minutes away in Vizio Virtu and the Trattoria San Toma is a great lunch spot.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on TA and we were not disappointed. It is in the centre of Venice away from the most touristy areas but within easy reach of anything you need to see either on foot or on the vaporetto which stops nearby. I cannot recommend the Oltre il Giardino too highly. It is a haven of peace in a very busy city. We went in August when the place was hot and coming back across the little bridge and going through the gate into the hotel gardens was like passing from one world into another. Our room was spacious, spotless and cool. Breakfasting outside in the garden under the awnings was just perfect. However possibly the best thing about this hotel is the staff who are all friendly and attentive to ones every need.

I will definitely return there if we get to Venice again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We arrived at the airport on a delayed flight from Sicily at midnight and found that there were no water taxis waiting and so caught the ferry and vaporetto to San toma. It was quite a stressful journey as my plan was to step into a water taxi and step off at the hotel door we had no clue as to which direction we needed to go. The lovely guy at the hotel guided us there and waited for. He let us in and took our suitcases upto the top floor.
The hotel is lovely. Our room was very nice and the staff are very helpful. One was very apologetic about being so enthusiastic about venice which was so refreshing. He obviously loved his city and we thought he was a really great guy.
The location of the hotel is great - a 5 minute walk from San Toma vaporetti stop and close to a couple of squares with nice restaurants. Also, close to Frari Church which is amazing inside. The breakfasts at the hotel were very good.
If you want an elegant, personal hotel away from the very touristy areas then you can't go wrong with Oltre il Giardino. We will most likely visit Venice again but when it's cooler - it was a bit hot in August to walk around all day. We shall go back to this hotel - it is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We had very high expectations of Oltre Il Giardino, having read the positive reviews left by others, and we weren't disappointed. We had a junior suite (the 'blue room') on the top floor and throughly enjoyed the space and the delightful view over the garden. The staff could not have been more helpful and the breakfasts, served outside under a canopy, were delightful. I enjoyed the real silver cutlery and the superb linens and it was a pleasure to have a quiet drink at the end of the day in the relaxing living room. I particularly enjoyed crossing the small bridge over the canal and slipping through the private garden door of the hotel - it really felt like living in Venice rather than staying at a hotel. The location is great - quiet, but within easy walking distance of all the major sites. We found a couple of good restaurants nearby and the hotel staff gave us some very helpful recommendations.

A couple of tiny drawbacks. Our room only had a shower and not a bath. The air-conditioning unit in our room was noisy and I made the silly mistake of turning it off and opening the windows instead, resulting in a few annoying mosquito bites. I also found the bed rather hard, although this does seem to be a general Italian preference, rather than a feature of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#18 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oltre Il Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.