We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 382 hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Beautiful hotel! Lovely people!
We stayed for two nights and got upgraded to a suite which was a fantastic start!
Not only that but the staff were lovely and the breakfast served in the garden was delicious
would 100% recommend and definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
166
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I recently stayed at this B&B for just over a week. I had a suite (last room left at the time I booked) that was on the second floor and overlooked the garden (although the hotel is located along a small canal, I was told that none of the rooms had a water view). My room was the turquoise/turchese room you see in some of the photos (light green headboard and pony skin rug). Though simply furnished, it had everything I needed. The lounge has a (pull out) couch, two chairs, a side table, a table/desk and bench. The bedroom has a large bed with a very firm mattress and four pillows (two feather, two foam), two bedside tables and lamps, a larger table and a small TV. The bathroom was fairly spacious and modern. It has a huge soaking tub and separate walk-in shower. There is a good sized side table in the bathroom. There is also a wall mounted magnifying mirror and a hair dryer. There is a closet off the living area that contains one luggage rack, hanging space, a couple of shelves, a safe (large enough for a regular sized iPad but not a full sized laptop), and a mini fridge that was stocked with several complementary bottles of water (very nice touch). Amenities include a robe, slippers, Bulgari green tea soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. There are lots of towel bars in the bathroom if you are one to do hand washing during your stay (there is a good self service laundromat called Stella 5 mins away).

The staff were all super friendly (particularly Emanuele). You had the feeling that they would do anything reasonable to make your stay a nice one. The ground floor communal lounge was inviting and comfortable. The breakfast is one of the nicest I've seen (including in many fancy hotels). There are permanent tables set up in the garden. Most if them are under a very large umbrella. You might not want to leave to tour!

The hotel is a stone's throw from the Chiesa dei Frari. The San Polo area is nice. It's a 20-25 minute walk to Piazza San Marco and about 15 minutes to the Rialto bridge. The San Toma' vaporetto stop is 5 minutes' walk. The location away from S. Marco makes this area less crowded. I enjoyed being away from the bustle and liked being a 25 minute walk to the outer reaches of Cannaregio, too.

I would recommended this high quality B&B to a friend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was the perfect place to retreat to after a hard day of pavements, dodging tourists and eating way too much food. Our host and helper Lorenzo was most courteous and our afternoon teas, spritz and book reading in the lounge gave this poor girl from LA a wonderful feeling of my own home away from home. The decor, breakfast, quiet and service was perfection. We could not have asked for anything more. This was one of the best places to stay anywhere but it owned a charm that was always Venice.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor overlooking the garden and made the sofa bed up into a two room apt with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I am not sure whether this last trip was our 6th or 7th extended stay, but, as always our stay was perfect in every way. We can't say enough about the professional and courteous staff, the perfect location - can walk to almost any part of Venice (and the train station) if so inclined. Looking forward to our September stay. Book early!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We loved this hotel although it wasn't exactly what we'd expected from the reviews. I think we'd expected something grander and it was more like a very exclusive B & B. The staff were fantastic - very welcoming but didn't impose on you at all - they were there if you needed them but didn't crowd you. This is the only hotel I have ever gone to breakfast wearing my slippers - but that's how comfortable it felt. The breakfast was amazing. The hotel is fantastically located - off the beaten track but an easy walk or water bus ride to all the main things you want to see. The most magical thing about the hotel was walking into the grounds - just a gate in the wall next to a small canal- but as you closed the gate the hub bub of Venice was blocked off completely and bird song took over. Our tip for Venice - buy a water bus ticket for the whole of your stay - whenever your legs get tired jump on one for a sit down and carry on site-seeing - either Venice itself of across the lagoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My partner and I have traveled all across the United States, plus Brazil, Argentina and nearly all the major European capitals. But this hotel was the best of all. I'd go back to Venice just to stay there.

Oltre il Giardino is in an old palazzo, but it's been beautifully renovated inside. Our room was very spacious by even U.S. standards -- an even rarer find among older European hotels. Also unusual for a hotel in Venice: it has a lovely garden where they serve the excellent daily breakfast.

But don't delay in trying to get a reservation. Oltre il Giardino has only six rooms, according to its website (although it shows photos for seven rooms on the site).

A word of advice, however. Make sure you get very detailed instructions for finding the hotel. I got very lost before I discovered that the map I bought didn't show the hotel's street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I am so glad that they had a room available for us at this 6-room gem in this quiet but convenient area of Venice. It was evident that much of their business was from repeat customers.

Our suite was not luxurious (though the bathroom was), but there were many windows and much more light and air than one expects in Venice. The house that has become Oltre Il Giardino is very homey and charming, from the garden to the breakfast room to the wall that is its public face to the fondimenta.

Service was great, the kind of personal attention that comes from care and enthusiasm (not just training.) The breakfast was very good, especially the sweets. The bed was too firm for our middle-aged American bodies -- enough so that our sleep was impacted a bit.

The location is great for Venice veterans, but some first-timers might feel that they are not close enough to the action at San Marco. The location is really great if you would prefer to avoid the biggest crowds and would like to enjoy restaurants that actually have a few Venetians as patrons. It should be noted as well that the train station and bus station are both within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#21 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#49 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oltre Il Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oltre Il Giardino to your Saves list