We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence is a master craft. This hotel has it down.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
Save
You added Oltre Il Giardino to your Saves list
San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellence is a master craft. This hotel has it down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was the perfect place to retreat to after a hard day of pavements, dodging tourists and eating way too much food. Our host and helper Lorenzo was most courteous and our afternoon teas, spritz and book reading in the lounge gave this poor girl from LA a wonderful feeling of my own home away from home. The decor, breakfast, quiet and service was perfection. We could not have asked for anything more. This was one of the best places to stay anywhere but it owned a charm that was always Venice.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor overlooking the garden and made the sofa bed up into a two room apt with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
190
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I am not sure whether this last trip was our 6th or 7th extended stay, but, as always our stay was perfect in every way. We can't say enough about the professional and courteous staff, the perfect location - can walk to almost any part of Venice (and the train station) if so inclined. Looking forward to our September stay. Book early!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We loved this hotel although it wasn't exactly what we'd expected from the reviews. I think we'd expected something grander and it was more like a very exclusive B & B. The staff were fantastic - very welcoming but didn't impose on you at all - they were there if you needed them but didn't crowd you. This is the only hotel I have ever gone to breakfast wearing my slippers - but that's how comfortable it felt. The breakfast was amazing. The hotel is fantastically located - off the beaten track but an easy walk or water bus ride to all the main things you want to see. The most magical thing about the hotel was walking into the grounds - just a gate in the wall next to a small canal- but as you closed the gate the hub bub of Venice was blocked off completely and bird song took over. Our tip for Venice - buy a water bus ticket for the whole of your stay - whenever your legs get tired jump on one for a sit down and carry on site-seeing - either Venice itself of across the lagoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My partner and I have traveled all across the United States, plus Brazil, Argentina and nearly all the major European capitals. But this hotel was the best of all. I'd go back to Venice just to stay there.

Oltre il Giardino is in an old palazzo, but it's been beautifully renovated inside. Our room was very spacious by even U.S. standards -- an even rarer find among older European hotels. Also unusual for a hotel in Venice: it has a lovely garden where they serve the excellent daily breakfast.

But don't delay in trying to get a reservation. Oltre il Giardino has only six rooms, according to its website (although it shows photos for seven rooms on the site).

A word of advice, however. Make sure you get very detailed instructions for finding the hotel. I got very lost before I discovered that the map I bought didn't show the hotel's street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I am so glad that they had a room available for us at this 6-room gem in this quiet but convenient area of Venice. It was evident that much of their business was from repeat customers.

Our suite was not luxurious (though the bathroom was), but there were many windows and much more light and air than one expects in Venice. The house that has become Oltre Il Giardino is very homey and charming, from the garden to the breakfast room to the wall that is its public face to the fondimenta.

Service was great, the kind of personal attention that comes from care and enthusiasm (not just training.) The breakfast was very good, especially the sweets. The bed was too firm for our middle-aged American bodies -- enough so that our sleep was impacted a bit.

The location is great for Venice veterans, but some first-timers might feel that they are not close enough to the action at San Marco. The location is really great if you would prefer to avoid the biggest crowds and would like to enjoy restaurants that actually have a few Venetians as patrons. It should be noted as well that the train station and bus station are both within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Recommended by friends for its quiet intimacy and superb service, on our first trip to Venice we also decided the location was perfect as well. We were well located to access all parts of Venice by foot or boat, but away from the crowded tourist areas. And some of the nicest shops we found in Venice turned out to be in this area as well. The staff hospitality was great in all aspects of service and guidance. The room was a combination of nice restoration and modern touches, and our only complaint would be the mattress was a bit firm and the pillows a bit stiff. Nonetheless we slept peacefully because the whole atmosphere was quiet, relaxed and comfortable. We would absolutely return here if we visit Venice again.

Room Tip: We really liked having a junior suite on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was great choice B&B. We stayed in Venice for a long weekend on the end of our Italian trip before heading home. Again location was key and it's a good central one. The room was on the first floor and was great. Bigger than expected with a strong shower flow. The staff were helpful with short cuts on how to get to places and gave good info about reasonable places to eat. Drinking can cost a fortune in Venice so be aware. Interesting place, glad we made the effort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#7 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oltre Il Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.