We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
Save
You added Oltre Il Giardino to your Saves list
San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 383 Hotels in Venice
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and would highly recommend it. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is exceptional and constant so it's very easy to relax instantly and stay relaxed. We were made to feel really welcome and given good recommendations on restaurants and generally finding our way around. Because its on the canal you can arrive by water taxi or its not too far to walk from the bus station or public water bus. The garden is a real plus and nice to take breakfast outside or retreat from the Venice crowds. The location makes walking around Venice easy and so we were able to visit things and return for a break before venturing out again. My partner chose the hotel for me because I don't like noise at night and I found the place very quiet and easy to sleep. Perhaps a bit more information on drinks and what we could buy in the hotel would be helpful as we had no clue and brought in wine ( though we were given glasses and a corkscrew - again very helpfully).

Room Tip: we had a suite on the top looking on to the garden and canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
181
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
abu dhabi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

One of the best hotels we've been to.. Rooms is gorgeous and garden is a small piece of heaven. Breakfast is nice, with very friendly waiters, who will make you feel at home. A perfect place for a romantic getaway.. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for a week on the recommendation of Venetian friends. We're so glad they let us into the secret of Oltre in Giardino, which hides behind a neat little gate by an unremarkable sidebar canal opposite the Frari church. The little garden is a beautiful oasis in one of the busiest corners of town, and we had great weather most of the week meaning we had breakfast outside, which really set us up for the day.
Our room (Cacao) was generously sized and had an ample bathroom to go with the big bedroom which was tastefully furnished, including original art. Much of Venice is quiet at night, and Oltre in Giardino especially so - a very relaxing stay as a result.
The staff were fantastic - Manuele and Ilaria and the breakfast team especially, and the kettle they turned up for us to use for the week was particularly appreciated! We will undoubtedly return.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at this lovely spot last May/ June 2013. We had rented a flat in Florence and took the train up for 5 days. Illaria couldn't have been more helpful as well as gracious. The morning breakfast was a delightful surprise taken in the garden.
Our room was 2 twin beds, immaculate and beautifully appointed. Everything about this place speaks understated elegance and class. We are planing another trip this year.

Room Tip: They were all lovely. This is a house that has been converted to a B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have just returned from the hotel. The best hotel I have stayed at in Venice. The courtyard garden is beautiful for breakfast and for a quiet sit. The staff cannot do enough for their guests and are always polite and helpful. The rooms are very good and well proportioned. The only thing I would like is a kettle in the room for an early morning drink. The breakfast is excellent and very comprehensive and could not be better. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Oltre Il Giardino served as our calm oasis in the middle of Venice. While our visit was not at high tourist season, the city was gearing up and was moderately crowded. The small hotel, located in a quiet residential neighborhood, was a delightful retreat! The environment is artfully simple and creative, so the ambience is great but, what really bowls you over is the service. Lorenzo manned the front desk most of the time we were there. He was friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. Our requests and concerns were dealt with immediately. Breakfast featured a nice selection of foods and was delicious. Except for the day it rained, it was served on their charming garden patio. Again, the wait staff were great. All in all, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our fifth stay at this wonderful small hotel - coming back next September. Staff is wonderful. We especially like the quiet location and the fact that almost anything you want to see and do in Venice is quickly accessible. Kudos to all.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#36 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oltre Il Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.