We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
Save Saved
You added Oltre Il Giardino to your Saves list
San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 382 hotels in Venice
East Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

First visit to Venice for wife and I. Our five-day stay at Oltre il Giardino exceeded all our expectations. Super location, great staff, delicious breakfast and wonderful suite. Perfect accomodations for the perfect city to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
168
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lovely rooms, absolutely delicious breakfasts, incredibly helpful and polite staff, just fab and a very special place for my Birthday. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

It is not too far from the bus/train station to walk 15mins max, you can take a water taxi. But we enjoyed walking through the streets as we arrived.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our suite consisted of two rooms, one with a sitting area, a couch and two chairs and a large desk, perfect for the computer, and windows that opened. The bedroom was equally spacious with a most comfortable king size bed and crisp bed linens. The bathroom had a bathtub, huge walk in shower, towel warmer and table for toiletries and plenty of fluffy towels. The walk in closet was a bonus.

The living room was transformed into the breakfast room with white tablecloths, very satisfying breakfast food and delicious coffee.

The location is perfect, quiet and safe. The walled garden is a oasis from the crowds.

The best part is the most accommodating staff who were always happy to assist you. They printed out our boarding passes and on the day of our departure the hotel owner called a water taxi, walked us out and placed our bags in the taxi. Most accommodating indeed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in the Suite Canale room. It was a wonderful room with a seperate living room, bedroom and 2 bathrooms. There was plenty of storage areas for clothes, which seems to be a rare thing in Europe. We had a nice view of the small canal that went past the hotel. The staff at Oltre il Giardino were fantastic. They went out of their way to help us and answer any questions that we had. For our anniversary they left us a bottle of wine which I thought was a very nice touch. If I was going to mention anything negative it would be that at night it got pretty cold (we were there in October) and there was no heat. But that is not the hotel's fault. They were not able to turn it on yet. We just snuggled under lots of blankets and slept with socks on and we were fine. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Perfectly charming family-run small hotel (six rooms) with its own private garden. Located just off the beaten track, it is a ten-fifteen minute walk from the train station and the principal tourist areas. Comfortable rooms, updated bathrooms, excellent breakfast and very helpful staff. We had great restaurant recommendations and reservations made at them throughout our stay. The open bar in the lobby area is an extra special touch. It is nice to have an address like this in a city not always known for high quality good value accommodations. Definitely worth repeat visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the basis of Tripadvisor reports and were not disappointed. We had a suite on the top floor with a charming view of the garden and canal beyond. The suite was very tastefully decorated, with plenty of room for 3 adults. The queen bed was very comfortable indeed as was the queen sofa bed in the adjoining room. It was all spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was as described by other reviewers: very extensive buffet with fresh fruit, breads, eggs and ham/cheese on request.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

2 nights and we enjoyed it. Perfect location if you want to stay away from Rialto/S.Marco.
Wonderful room, great service.
What we liked the most that you feel home after a few minutes.
All attractions in 10-20min walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#18 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oltre Il Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.