We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfetto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
Save Saved
You added Oltre Il Giardino to your Saves list
San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 381 Hotels in Venice
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Perfetto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's difficult to add to what other reviewers have said about Oltre Il Giardino. Everything was perfect. The hospitality was excellent and nothing was too much trouble We had very good advice about making our way around Venice - the water was high at times - and Oltre Il Giardino thinks of everything with umbrellas and wellington boots to hand. We also received good information about where were good and reasonably priced places to eat. Breakfast was continental with lots of choice and of superb quality. Our room was lovely and warm with both sparling and still water provided. There was a small drinks fridge and a room safe although the safe was sited rather high up which meant it was difficulty to see inside - unless of course you are very tall. The en-suite was roomy but the shower area itself was somewhat 'piccolo'. Oltre Il Giardino is a gentle ten minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge - if you manage to follow the signage! Oltre Il Giardino can be reached by private motor launch from the airport - the launch dropped us off a few steps from the entrance. We prebooked a return trip on line with Motoscafi Venezia and the service and the punctuality was excellent. The journey by launch is really worth the expense - and because of the cost your driver does not expect a tip. Oltre Il Giardino - hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
175
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the 'Oltre Il Giardino' for about a week in early September, for my honeymoon, and loved it ! It is nicely tucked away, with a secluded, private garden at the front - even though you are right in the heart of Venice, it feels very peaceful, and yet is only a stone's throw from the hustle and bustle of all the bars and restaurants nearby. The room we stayed in was very nice and clean, as were the communal areas (lots of lovely antique furniture and old paintings - all beautifully put together by the owner/manager's mother). Breakfast was served in the garden - a good choice of different types of bread, cold meats and cheeses, cakes, fruits, cereal, and brought to you by very attentive and friendly staff. There are only 6 or 7 rooms (I think), so the atmosphere - even when all the rooms are occupied - seemed very relaxed and friendly, and certainly very conducive to a romantic holiday. The staff generally were very helpful, particularly in recommending places to go to (we had a couple of lovely dinners on their recommendation - no mean feat in Venice, which isn't necessarily known for its cuisine, at least compared to other Italian cities). All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience, and one that I would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay in Venice !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have stayed at Oltre Il Giardino twice now. It made our trip to Venice both times. Venice can get so crowded, it's nice to stay in a small B&B that's away from the crowds, and near the quieter restaurants.

The hotel is perfectly decorated and immaculately maintained. The breakfasts are what you'd expect to find in the nicest 5 star hotel. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for four nights as part of a "Grand Tour" of Europe and a first visit to Venice. It's a perfect, relaxing place to stay, well located for the sights without being on top of them - in fairness, Venice isn't that big, but it's possible to strike out in all directions to find the sights. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and at a good time as well, lie-ins perfectly possible. The room we had was quiet, overlooking the canal and the garden with separate areas for sitting and sleeping. Bed very comfortable. All in all, we could highly recommend and if/when we return to Venice, this is where we will be staying.

When we arrived at Venice Train Station (we didn't fly) we took the water bus around to St Tome but if you could get a map then it would be as quick and easy to walk as I'd put the hotel about halfway between St Lucia station and St Tome stop. Either way, you'll be wheeling or carrying your luggage. If you can't manage it, then if I remember correctly, from St Tome, there is only one bridge to cross rather than the 3 or 4 from the station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend at this b&b in July and thought this place was just beautiful. I actually picked this B7B due to it being No. 1 on TripAdvisor at the time.

A perfect place to stay if you want to get away from it all. Our room was clean and nicely air conditioned, the bathroom was a little small but of a high quality. Bed was soft which was perfect for us both. Breakfast was simple but plenty on offer and it was just lovely to be sitting in the Garden.

We will be back. Well worth the 5 STARS.

Andrew.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the house, not the attached building on the side. You have to out the back do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were very pleased and happy to stay in this very nice small hotel, it is a bed and breakfast really, very quiet, private, and such a lovely haven, in busy Venice. The staff make you very welcome and at home, nothing is too much trouble. Family and staff are there to help you all the time, breakfasts were typically european but very good and delicious, their suggestions for restaurants were very good, nothing is cheap in Venice, but there is so much to experience, we had a wonderful stay and thank al at Oltre il Giardino very much

Room Tip: we tried 2 rooms, one on the second floor end right with a bath, and on the top floor end left, both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 7 days at the hotel in October - our third visit - and have already booked our fourth stay for this coming spring. The service is impeccable, the location cannot be beat. You will not be disappointed. Kudos to the entire stay who go out of their way to make you feel a most welcome guest. Advice - book early!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oltre Il Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.