We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay - perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
Save Saved
You added Oltre Il Giardino to your Saves list
San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 382 hotels in Venice
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Third stay - perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 7 days at the hotel in October - our third visit - and have already booked our fourth stay for this coming spring. The service is impeccable, the location cannot be beat. You will not be disappointed. Kudos to the entire stay who go out of their way to make you feel a most welcome guest. Advice - book early!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
168
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here 10 days ago and really enjoyed or stay. We had a characterful room, plenty of space and very comfortable with a nice view over the garden and the palazzo opposite. The garden is charming and it was great to be able to breakfast outside in late October. We felt we were in a little private world with the bustle of Venice outside. The location is great and it was an excellent base for visiting the city. We followed two of their restaurant recommendations, both of which were really good. Friendly staff, lovely surroundings, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012. A special treat for my wife and I (no kids!), we had no regrets re our choice of hotel.

Before talking about the hotel, if you can afford it and fly in to Marco Polo I'd thoroughly recommend pre-booking a private water taxi. Not cheap (return fare was 190 Euros) it was well worth it. We flew in at 11pm and still managed to get to our hotel in 45 mins. The great thing is that the taxi dropped us off only 20 metres from our hotel. And the return trip in daylight was pretty special.

The hotel is lovely and the garden as rrerlaxing as other reviews have stated.

Rooms are functional but ours was not luxurious. The bathroom was excellent although the shower cubicle was small. We stayed on the top floor in a junior suite so had plenty of space but it was perhaps, not as luxurious and as special as I'd envisaged. What was nice was the fridge with a generous number of bottles of water that were free of charge.

The breakfast was excellent - lots of breads, cakes, ham, cheese, and copious amounts of fruit. Certainly no complaints there - and to be able to eat in the garden (in late October) was a real treat for someone from the UK.

Finally, the advice given re restaurants was good, and they even made reservations for us which was brilliant. Food in Venice is not - in my opinion - world beating (apart from the costs), but we enjoyed the places we went to and had no complaints.

In summary, the hotel is perfect for a restful break. But there's little to do in the hotel apart from sleep and breakfast. Even getting a drink in the evening was tricky (eg no tonic).

I'd certainly stay there again if I had the opportunity of visiting Venice again...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Oltre Il Giardino as the first stop on our Italian honeymoon. It was certainly an excellent beginning to a wonderful trip! Upon checkin we were greeted by Lorenzo, who was extremely kind and helpful. We booked one of the rooms on the top floor of the main building, and it could not have been a better choice! It was a largish room compared to what I was used to in Italy, with a few chairs and a small table, a console table, a quaint alive under the roof, and a nice bathroom. At first the bed felt a little stiff, but I slept so soundly and so comfortably that it was just not an issue at all. It was so quiet in this area of San Polo sestiere. Breakfast in the garden in the morning was lovely! There was a good selection of food for breakfast, and the serving staff was very cheery and friendly! It is so conveniently located to everything in Venice, no more than a 15 minute walk to Piazza San Marco, the train station, and any number of wonderful neighborhood restaurants! I would love to stay here again for a relaxing, comfortable vacation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

as others have said, this isn't a 5 star hotel with all the amenities.

it IS a pleasant, small property with nice breakfast and super staff. they make recommendations for dinner and can get you into some restaurants that are hard to get in. I think the person who said it's like visiting a family friend in Venice got it right.

would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, TX
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose Oltre il Giardino based on TA reviews. We were finishing a three-week tour and stayed here four nights before flying back to the States.

The hotel was prompt and helpful during the early email period and we found them to be just as nice and welcoming in person. The hotel is a beautiful canal-side structure in the area close to Frarie Church. It is in the medieval city, off the main cruise ship-tourist pathway.

PROS: Spacious, comfortable room, with a sitting room. Cool bathroom with very modern touches. Lovely, garden courtyard where we had breakfast. Private entrance not on the walkway to everywhere, so it felt safe. Incredibly helpful staff, which offered suggestions and made dinner reservations. Easy walkability to all the sites.

QUASI-CON: This is a medieval city. You cannot depend on a GPS because the buildings are too close overhead and the signal won’t get through. Not every corner has a street sign. The numbers on the buildings aren’t always in numerical order. YOU MUST HAVE A GOOD MAP, and YOU MUST HAVE THE MAP/PICTURE FROM THE HOTEL if you plan to walk to the hotel. You can hire a water taxi to take you there but it is expensive. We walked it the first time and found ourselves lost for over an hour. But we took it as an adventure and managed to get there. After that first time, we learned to look for signs (San Marco, Rialto, San Rocco, etc.) and we found ourselves going everywhere without a map.

The hotel was good about telling you how to get there, follow the advice!

We want to return to this wonderful city and we would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex, which is actually an old structure modernized and which sits on the canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I cannot praise this hotel and its location highly enough. It is cosy, comfy, friendly and most un-hotel like. The breakfasts must be the best in Venice with the most delicious pastries you will eat in Italy. The staff all speak perfect English and know all the best places and restaurants. Not the touristy ones either. The location is also perfect. It is away from the noise and souvenir shops of the main drags. In the morning we often go for a walk in the neighbourhood before breakfast. It is magical to walk through this part of Venice as she wakes up. And, as the name implies, it has a lovely garden which is perfect and safe for young children.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#18 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oltre Il Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.