We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice qne quite venitian lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Casa Nova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bauer Casa Nova to your Saves list
Bauer Casa Nova
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   San Marco 1459 | Calle 13 Martiri, 3012 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice qne quite venitian lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Very near to the St. Marco square, and next to the famous brans shops. we really liked the staying there. The breakfast over the grand canal was perfect.
the disadvantage of this hotel was lack of the in-room dining service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We were transferred to the Bauer due to our hotel being full and no accommodation available for us.
The staff were excellent on our arrival and throughout our stay.
The location was a few minutes from St Mark's Square and we had a wonderful stay.
The hotel breakfast offered a wide variety of different hot/cold dishes.
We ate at the hotel right by the waterfront on our last evening - it was a really magical setting.
We stayed in the Casa Nova and the room had a separate sitting room with microwave and refridgerator.
Our whole experience at the hotel could not be faulted in any way and we would recommend this hotel fully for a romantic and special experience. (It was my husband's 50th birthday treat)
We hope to return to the hotel as soon as we can

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Bauer Casa Nova is a fantastic place to stay. It is located next door to the main Bauer Hotel just off the Grand Canal and 2 mins from St Mark's Square, and offers a slightly more affordable way of enjoying this great hotel, without giving up any of the quality associated with the Bauer, or the wonderful location. The staff are very friendly and you feel very much a part of the main hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

The Bauer Hotel was recommended as a pre-cruise hotel, however we found it to be pricey (yes, even as Venetian hotels go). So with a little online investigation, we happened onto the site of the Bauer Casa Nova, which prices were much more reasonable than the main Bauer or other of its hotels. We booked online and had no problems, even with follow-up written communication in English. Our package for a hotel room included continental breakfast, with the option of upgrading to the buffet breakfast at half the usual price. How surprised were we to receive an upgrade to a beautiful suite--and with buffet breakfast included!

The suite was so well-appointed and decorated. The fabric wall coverings and window treatments were almost too beautiful to touch. The meticulously crafted wood ceilings and built-in cabinetry were amazing. We appreciated the kitchenette built into the living area cabinet--and also the tripadvisor reviewer who tipped us off that a coffeemaker was not included. (So if you, too, are a very early riser who does not care to dress, bring an electric coffeepot and adapter.)

The suite was extremely quiet; we felt like we had a private apartment. In fact, we never ran into another resident the entire time! The main hotel was just across a small back street and it was all within a few short blocks to St. Marks Square. And...the buffet breakfast was served on a patio overlooking the Grand Canal. Can it get better than that!?!?

The bathroom was marble and luxurious. I got lost in the towels.

Service was great. Our single request of the front desk was handled in short order and oh-so-unobtrusively.

Location, service, cleanliness and appointments all made the Bauer Casa Nova our hotel of choice for upcoming visits.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

My wife and I, along with some friends, recently spent 5 nights in two suites in the Bauer Casa Nova. The staff was fabulous, especially the Consierge staff--they were able to arrange a private boat to tour the Grand Canal, and to take us to the other islands. The breakfasts, both full and continental, were divine. For being about 50 yards away from San Marco Square, the place was amazingly quiet. One of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

We're just back from the Bauer Casa Nova and I would add my view that this is a great 5 star option in central Venice. There weren't many reviews on this site and I wasn't sure about my choice between this and the regular Bauer but I don't regret the decision. Although the Casa Nova is marketed as an apartment / family alternative, we had a standard double room. We liked the small hotel feel with our separate entrance around the corner from the Bauer but it was a definite plus to have access to the reception / concierge from the main hotel. The best thing though was to have breakfast on the terrace of the Palazzo included. This is a beautiful location at the entrance to the Grand Canal. Make sure you get a rate with breakfast included as it's very expensive as an extra.

  • Liked — Breakfast on the terrace
  • Disliked — Expensive, but no more than everything in Venice
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

As an annex to the Bauer Hotel the Bauer Casa Nova is right across a little Passageway with your own private entrance. You are eligible to all the wonderful services of the Bauer, but have the Privacy of a rented appartement. We rented 3 rooms, all of them were very nicely made up and had a wonderful marble bath. One of the rooms was a attic room and had a little balcony on the roof top, with a wonderful view of the tower on San Marco place. The breakfast is taken on the canal view side terrace and a wonderful start to a perfect day in Venice.

  • Liked — Privacy of the rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauer Casa Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Casa Nova

Address: San Marco 1459 | Calle 13 Martiri, 3012 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Casa Nova 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bauer Casa Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Casa Nova Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Casa Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.