We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Premium Hotel - Terrific Location, Large Suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Casa Nova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bauer Casa Nova to your Saves list
Bauer Casa Nova
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   San Marco 1459 | Calle 13 Martiri, 3012 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Luxurious Premium Hotel - Terrific Location, Large Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked a standard room in the main Bauer Hotel, but the main building was full by the time we arrived. We were pleasantly upgraded to a lovely suite in the adjoining Casa Nova. (Not a bad break.) The lobby is reminiscent of a grand old cruise ship. 20th Century Modern is the style. It feels a bit cold and dated, particularly because the tourists aren't in smart 1950's Mad Men costume as you might hope, but are instead aging cruise passengers in flip flops and beach attire.

The terrific excitement of being upgraded was followed immediately by shock and frustration when we discovered that someone had stolen our Ipad from the back pack we left at the bell stand. While we were warned numerous times before our arrival in Venice that pick pockets were aggressive, we thought we were safe once inside the hotel. Apparently, this is a perfect place for thieves. Despite the loss of our electronics, we did have a lovely time at this hotel.

The restaurant overlooking the grand canal is beautiful and feels quite glamorous. We happened to be in town during the wold famous Venice Film Festival, so there were actual celebrities staying in our building. This certainly raised the feeling of exclusivity. Though, the building is perfectly quiet and we never saw another guest from Casa Nova while we were in residence.

I imagine that at one time, this hotel was a hub for Venice cabaret life with a wonderful bar/club scene. But this simply isn't the case today. The hotel is primarily a destination for older luxury cruise passengers who (like us) spent all their evenings dining away from the hotel and seeing the sights.

Highlights: Breakfast buffet on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. Management took us to the police station after our Ipad was stolen and eventually reported the theft to their insurance company, who paid out about 9 months later. The in suite toiletries ("Santa Maria degli Angeli") are amazing, though oddly are not available for sale in the hotel. (See below) Having a fridge and ice in the room was great and the room (by venetian standards) was HUGE.

A few areas for the hotel to improve: The front desk and concierge services are rather perfunctory and will appear to other American guests as not oriented to customer service. We found this to be typical in most large Italian hotels. There is no gift shop or shop of any kind in the hotel. We wanted to buy a polo shirt souvenir (we wanted to spend MORE money) and were unable to do so. . .though these items were displayed in a case. We wanted to purchase more of the amazing toiletries from our room, but were also told this was "impossible." Though I can't remember ever wanting to buy these items before on a trip, this one time when we did, they were unavailable.

If you're looking for a vibrant scene you'll have to look elsewhere. If you want a reliable luxury hotel just steps from St. Peter's Square. . .this is it.

Room Tip: All the Rooms are Nice, but Grand Canal Views are Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked this hotel using Visa World Points thinking I was booking a suite in the main Bauer hotel. After check in at the main lobby we were escorted to the Casa Nova which is a boutique property next door. The property is very quiet and small. I did not run into one other person my whole four day stay and the room was extremely quiet despite the fact it is so close to the main tourist area of Venice. Our suite was beautiful and decorated in a high end Venetian style. Brocade everything, but in a light color, thank god. The bathroom although on the small side was a very modern white marble with clean lines. The ceilings were beamed and high. The living room offered a couch, kitchenette and small breakfast table. The seperate bedroom was large and homey. The only drawback was that the property has NO VIEW! We literally looked out to walls. If you want a view of the Grand Canal make sure to stay in the main property next door. The breakfast was a bit disappointing and the concierge was not very helpful, but all in all I had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at the Casanova Suites attached to the Bauer Hotel. The suite consisted of a bedroom, a seperate small lounge or dining area, a bathroom and a small kitchenette area which was not switched on for safety reasons. It did not bother us as we did not prepare anything ourselves and we didn't use the bar fridge. The rooms were tastefully furnished and the marble bathroom was absolutely stunning. The suites have a seperate entrance and as a result there is very
Iittle traffic. We had breakfast at the main hotel every morning and it was delicious, with exquisite pastries and creamy cappuchinos. Thr setting was stunning, with the verandah overlooking on of the main churches and the Grand Canal. It is conveniently close to a major public transport terminal and St Marco Square. We didn't go with our children and I would suggest if they are small to leave them at home as the small kids we saw were not happy to walk all the time and the dads looked even more harassed as they kept carrying strollers up staircases. If you do decide to go as a family the suites are large enough to probably cater for 4 adults or parents with smaller children. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with small kids, ask them to allocate a suite with a working kitchenette. Itmh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Fantastic hotel with very very good service, the staff are very courteous and helpful.
The room (number 22) was a good size furnished and decorated to a very high Venetian standard. The bathroom too is finished to a high standard with excellent complimentary products.

Although the Bauer Casa Nova is a separate building; the main hotel reception, bar & restaurant are literally around the corner...just a few seconds walk in fact so don't let this discourage you.

The buffet style breakfast is simply amazing with everything one could want for breakfast and good quality as well.

We also really enjoyed the bar which had live music in the evening with light snacks & meals available until late into the night.

The only negative thing we can say is that Wi-Fi Internet access was not free, something which we’ve come to expect when staying in Venice as other hotels we have stayed at do offer Wi-Fi Internet access for all guests free of charge.

Overall though, we can definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a conveniently located 5 star service hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Bauer Casa Nova is an annex to the great Bauer hotel... Which is a great thing as it offers additional intimacy that a typical chain hotel could not offer. Great decoration, classy Venetian... So do not expect sleaky modern interiors. Great size, great bathroom, great quality of sleep. Excellent service, invisible yet there to prepare your room for your sleep, respecting your privacy. Breakfast at the main hotel, great views, slightly disappointing breakfast... Recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel is a secondary building (old Venetian) close to the main Bauer Hotel. There is only one bad thing I can say about it....you have to go out to the street to get into the main building for breakfast,reception.... Appart from that everything is wonderful.Room was superb in decoration and facilities.It is a 5star hotel and it proves it with details.E.g. when we arrive to the room after dinner someone had prepared the bed, turned on the heating... Breakfast is good with excellent views.And the best thing: just a few streets away from San Marcos square!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crabcake69
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is our fourth time in Venice in the past 8 years and this was our best stay yet. We've stayed in the fanciest of hotels and would come back here in a second. We had room 45 in the Casa which was absolutely perfect for our family of three. Lovely room. Cute little balcony. Cool and comfortable. It's the on ein the picture on the website with the beams. Absolute value for money at £250 per night including breakfast via expedia. Breakfast is 50 euros otherwise. Good service. Great room. Great location. We seriously rate this stay higher than the Monaco next door, the pretentious Gritti Palace (even though we weren't paying) and the Londra Palace. All in all deserving of it's excellent rating.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauer Casa Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Casa Nova

Address: San Marco 1459 | Calle 13 Martiri, 3012 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Casa Nova 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bauer Casa Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Casa Nova Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Casa Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.