We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful residence in Venice - upper floor rooms are amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Corte Grimani to your Saves list
Residence Corte Grimani
Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE!
Ranked #14 of 383 Hotels in Venice
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful residence in Venice - upper floor rooms are amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

A lovely, clean hotel with spacious apartment-like rooms in a great location in a magical city. Friendly and helpful staff. No restaurant, but you will enjoy the many cafe's, bakeries, and restaurants nearby as well as buying food at Rialto and eating/cooking in-room. Our initial lower floor room was nice, but had a somewhat restricted view. We switched to an upper (top) floor room and the panoramic / multiple exposure views of the city were wonderful. A terrific home base in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    85
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
352
179
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights. Location couldn't be better, 2 mins from St Marks and 5 mins from Rialto Bridge. Takes a bit of finding, near to the Hard Rock Cafe and the gondola station. Rooms spacious, quiet and clean. Friendly staff, very helpful. Only problem was the foyer and lift get a bit smelly from the nearby canal in the evening, but, not a major issue overall. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I thought the hotel was nice but it took a very long time to find it even after telling them I was traveling with an older person and needed good directions. When I walked in they said can I help you as if I didn't belong in the hotel. I needed a bag of ice one night and it seemed like an inconvenience to them. The room was huge! A small library on the first floor. Extra charge to use the kitchen. The location s amazing!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with kitchenette, with my daughter(21 yrs old), my sister and her friend. There was plenty of room for 4 women. The suite was nicely decorated, clean, with modern bathrooms, and a nice view of a small canal and bridge. We were on the 3rd floor. No problem with noise. The staff (except one man) were extremely helpful, always pleasant, and had good recommendations for tours.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

My wife and I had an outstanding stay at the Residence Corte Grimani.
This hotel couldn't be better located. A couple of hundred yards from Piazza San Marco but without the noise and the traffic. It is also very close to Campo S. Luca, La Fenice and the Rialto bridge.
The building is kept very well both inside and out.
By Venice standards the rooms/suites are very large with a vestibule, living/dining area, impeccable bathroom and a large bedroom. All with nice size windows.
The interiors are modern-traditional, not overdone.
Our room had a kitchen that could be fully activated for an additional fee. However we only needed the refrigerator, the sink and utensils which are part of the basic rate.
It even has an all-in-one washer/dryer appliance. A wonder of Italian engineering...well, maybe!
The staff: Donatella, Franca, Guido and Maurizio are very friendly and helpful.
We highly recommend it... but please don't tell anybody else!
Did I mention they provide free internet?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Residence Corte Grimani. The hotel was located right in the heart of Venice, extremely convenient, but yet tucked away into a quiet little nook. The apartment was large and clean with all the necessary elements to make a comfortable stay. But the BIG selling point to the Residence Corte Grimani are the people. Every single person we met at the hotel, no matter what the time of day or job, was pleasant, helpful, smiling, and seemed to genuinely want to help us have the best time in Venice possible. No matter what our need, it was met quickly and with a smile. If you are looking for a hotel that makes you feel welcome, then the Residence Corte Grimani is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Having never been to Venice, we weren't sure what to expect. Our decision to stay at the Grimani was based heavily on the reviews on this site. As you can see, the vast majority of the reviews are very favorable. Ours is no exception. Navigating through Venice can be challenging, especially for those of us accustomed to hopping in a taxi and arriving at the front door of your destination. The staff of the Grimani provided us with step by step directions that were spot on. Once there, we were very impressed with the professionalism and service of the hotel's staff. The rooms are very nice and can accommodate a lengthy stay. The hotel's location is fantastic! Right on a canal but off the main walkways, so it's very quiet. We were provided many options for dining as well as proposed sites to visit by the staff. All recommendations turned out to be great (you have to try "A Beccafico"). They really know their stuff. If you've got some down time, spend a bit learning some basic Italian (we left a book in the hotel's library). It seems to go a long way with the locals (and it's quite a bit of fun).
All in all, the Grimani is "molte bene!" Ciao to Guido!
Michael & Kellie
Arizona, USA

PS. If you can swing it, take a private water taxi to/from the hotel. Makes for a MUCH easier time getting to and from. Be warned...100 euro each way.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Corte Grimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.