We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt, the best birthday. mostromabirthdaycromanticrcitycitybirthdayVenice. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Corte Grimani to your Saves list
Residence Corte Grimani
Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, the best birthday. mostromabirthdaycromanticrcitycitybirthdayVenice. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our one night stay in Venice was superb, thanks to the incredible accomodations we got at the residence. Our room, well it really was a two room apartment with two full bathrooms a kitchen and dining/ living room with the best balcony overlooking the canal and little bridge the view was idilic. Conviniently located the residence is three minute walk to St. Mark's plaza and Instead of going out to dinner, we got a great bottle of red vino and a delicious margarita pizza, lighted a candle sat on the balcony and watch the gondolas go by. Ciao. bybybwiyWWiyhoutWithout a doubt this waa tge most Soromantic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    84
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
350
176
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We too, are reluctant to review this hotel because we especially loved it and Venice. We were traveling with 2 of our 20-something daughters in Italy for a couple of weeks to celebrate an anniversary. Although we were very happy with everywhere we stayed in Italy, this hotel and one other stood out particularly.

We took the water bus from the airport to the Rialto stop and walked to the hotel, following their directions. Even with a couple of bags each and being unfamiliar with the area, we managed it in barely 10 minutes. The hotel is tucked around a corner, out of the fray, along a little marble walkway. The hotel had also told us what water bus line and stops to use. You can also use the San Marco stop. The hotel is easily reachable from both.

The gentleman on the front desk, came out of the hotel to greet us and to help us with our bags. For the whole stay he was incredibly gracious and helpful. We arrived BEFORE lunch and our room was ready. The apartment was as spacious and attractive as everyone has mentioned in Tripadvisor. We particularly liked the hotel because the decorations were elegant but not fussy. And, even though many guests have recommended the upper floors for their views, we had an apartment on one of the lower floors, overlooking the canal and thought WE had the best view! There was also a second bathroom which was a luxury we didn't get anywhere else. It was nice to have the option of the kitchen, but we just used it for water and the fridge. We all enjoyed sitting at the table with the windows open listening to the gondoliers and looking at the lovely buildings opposite. An all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet is available for 10 euro per person, at another hotel just steps from the door of the Corte Grimani but most days we got coffees and pastries from a local shop.

The gentleman on the front desk also recommended wonderful places for lunch and dinner. Two of them the best meals we had in Italy. And most especially, on arrival at the hotel, directed us back to the Grand Canal where they were holding the Regatta Storica that afternoon. The Regatta was incredible with medieval and themed gondolas racing up the Canal. Just a magical start to the vacation. Especially great when we found an outdoor spot to enjoy a prosecco and a spritz to watch all the fun. They also made reservations for a Vivaldi concert which was another highlight.

We hadn't expected to love Venice as much as we did and it really helps to be happy with your base. It set the tone for our stay. We will be coming back and we know where we will be staying without any doubt. For a family or couple, this is a great spot to reach everywhere fairly easily - both walking or by water bus. Ciao Venezia!

Room Tip: We had a low floor with a view of the canal and LOVED it. We were not disturbed by noise - and enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hovering above a major canal route, it was hard not to become a Venetian albeit for four marvellous days. Not only could we pick various gondolieri by their voices, the musicians good and bad, but we had a window on the commercial and trade boats that serve Venice mostly at either end of the day. When absolute respite from the busy canal was required, the double glazed windows kept the tourist industry at bay.
Our clean and very spacious apartment was on the fifth (top) floor. It can accommodate six so we did not need the second bedroom nor bathroom. The rooms were serviced daily.
The reception area was managed efficiently with courtesy and good will. A night at a musical performance in an old basilica was arranged at our request.
Access to the Residence was easy once we found the way with the help of Google maps. From the station, take thevaporetto then you may weave through the narrow alleys from the Rialto Bridge, or stay on the Vaporetto to San Marco which is even closer to the Residence.
It would have made things a lot less uncertain if a detailed map with instructions had been provided with the booking (made through Booking.com)
One may opt not to use the kitchen facilities and so avoid a 50 Euro impost for cleaning. In this case, the kitchen facilities are locked and one is left with an electric kettle, a few cups and glasses and a couple of plates. No dishcloth or tea towel is provided but the cleaner does it all once daily. Not entirely satisfactory. Some kitchen paper, some tissues, some dish washing capacity would have made life easier.
That said, it would be very hard to criticise any aspect of this quite unique and marvellous small set of apartments.
Returning to my initial comments, I could quite validly request a broadening of the musical repertoire offered to the gondola passengers!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite overlooking the canal. Hours of entertainment are yours as the gondolas and workboat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

If you want luxury and aren’t concerned about what you spend, book the Danieli . . . it is absolutely wonderful. But, is you want spacious, clean, comfortable, and convenient with wonderful service at a very reasonable price . . . then, you should consider the Corte Grimani.

It gives me great pleasure to write this review because we felt perfectly welcomed from the moment we first arrived at the Grimani by water taxi. As our bags were set at the front door, Donatella immediately appeared as if by magic to help my wife with her things. And, Donatella’s service didn't stop there. She is a true caring hospitality professional who will help you with any and all of your needs.

Because this was an important anniversary and birthday celebration trip, I contacted the hotel considerably in advance of our trip and requested a special room. Well, that is exactly what we got (501). Our room was on the corner of the top floor overlooking two canals and it was huge by European standards. The view of the canals and roof tops at sunset was beautiful and quite romantic. The added touch of singing gondoliers made our stay wonderfully Italian and was a lot like being a part of a movie. In fact, we were there the weekend George Clooney was married and we witnessed some of the happenings associated with the wedding. All great fun!

The rooms are booked as apartments and include a kitchen, which you can use for an additional charge . . . we didn’t need it. All we wanted was the free use of the glassware, sink, fridge, and microwave. If you need a washing machine and dryer, that is also available in the room for a small additional charge. Breakfast is not included, but if you would enjoy a nice breakfast buffet you can go right next door for 10 euros per person.

Probably one of the very best things about the Corte Grimani, besides the wonderfully warm staff, is it proximity to virtually anything you might want to see or do. Piazza San Marco, Rialto Bridge, shopping, and dining are all only footsteps away. The Grimani offers a very nice base from which to enjoy Venice . . . and you can still go to the Danieli for an exceptional lunch or dinner.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Request (as far in advance as you can) Room 501 . . . or, a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Fantastic experience, family superior suite on 4th floor, huge size, more like a small house and all windows have canal views and bridges. Hotel is on the gondola route and you get to watch and listen to the music all day. Literally 5 minutes from San Marco Square. Clean, well appointed, comfortable rooms with everything you could want and friendly and efficient service. Free expressos available downstairs. Location is handy to everything, fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Superior suites, corner rooms have canal views. 4th floor superior, was great and can sleep 6, had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Venice leg of our italy travel, we chose to stay in Residence Corte Grimani. Its in between Rialto and San Marco. If you take vaporetto line #1, you an reach in short 3-4 minutes (~300 mtrs) without crosing any bridge or steps. We decided against water taxis and took a vaporetto pass - some apprehensions on reaching their with luggage ( atleast one was heavy). But we didnt struggle a lot and then we started enjoying the place with its easy access. There are couple of gondoliers who wait near by. We could walk to San Marco or Rialto, There is a close by cafetaria enroute San Marco good for quick breakfast - referred by staff. We walked to Chisa San Vidal for the concert in the night It was a breeze. Rooms are spartan and clean, spacious enough for our family of 4. We used the microwave and fridge. Sleep was comfortable. Big Super market near by. If you are into shopping, this is a heaven. It was drizzling one of the days and we could use the umbrellas the hotel provided. The hotel made our stay extremely smooth and comfortable. Goodi A/C, ventilation.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I have some reluctance about doing this review. I would hate my friends and family to miss out on staying here because it was booked out! This was the perfect place to stay for our family of 5. It was very central (very short walk from St Mark's square) but also private, and spacious. We didn't get a canal view but loved the view of the roof tops (especially watching the sunsets) and hearing the gondoliers. We had an apartment with an extra small room for our 6 year old which was great. There was a kitchen, which you had to pay 50 euros to open fully if you wanted to cook, (but that seemed silly!) but you could use the sink, fridge and microwave for free. We paid 15 euros to use the washing machine/dryer in the room - v handy. There was no breakfast included but if you wanted a big American buffet breakfast you could go next door to for 10 euros per person. We only did this once because we were happy enough with tea/coffee, fruit and beautiful pastries. Donatella and the rest of the staff were lovely and so helpful. It was easy to get to. Although the tide was too high for drop off at the door with the water taxi when we arrived, it was a short walk from the Rialto stop, and we were able to be picked up at the door when we left. We loved it!

Room Tip: again - I am reluctant to do this for fear of missing out when I try to book again - but upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Corte Grimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.