We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Imagine a Finer Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Save Saved
You added Residence Corte Grimani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't Imagine a Finer Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family recently stayed at the Residence Corte Grimani for four nights. We stayed in a Superior room on the 1st floor and absolutely loved it. The two bedroom, two bathroom configuration suited my young family, including 1 yr and 4 yr olds. The laundry facility in the room was an absolute bonus. The windows overlooking the canal provided wonderful vantage points to observe the countless gondolas streaming past the hotel and to listen to the operatic tenors who performed in some gondolas. By the end of our stay, my 4 yr old daughter had learnt most of the words to their favourite song 'Ciao Venezia'!

The hotel is very centrally located in San Marco, and only a 2 minute walk to St Mark's Square, and a 3 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge. Located adjacent to a canal, water taxis can arrive right to the door step (tide permitting). This was incredibly handy with the children and all our luggage.

The staff were extremely nice, very helpful and provided great advice on nearby good restaurants which were kid friendly.

I would strongly recommend this hotel. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    82
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
341
172
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have stayed at Hotel Corte Grimani on three different occasions. It is within walking distance from Rialto, close to a range of restaurants and shops. Everything is within easy access Our apartment was clean comfortable and serviced each day. Hotel is situated in a quiet peaceful area with a minor canal alongside.
Best of all the owners went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They were very welcoming, attending to any request with prompt and efficient service. Would thoroughly recommend it and long to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Venice and really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Corte Grimani. It is conveniently located but enough off the beaten track that you're not crushed by throngs of people. The staff was amazing and helpful and the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Venice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We've stayed at Grimani several times and somehow managed to stay in the same suite. It is really more a full size, one bedroom apartment, kitchen, & 2 bathrooms. Very spacious and clean. Ideal for a family of 4 or 5..though heavenly for my husband and I! Ideal location for touring Venice and catching water buses (vaporettos), easy walking distances to heart of Venice, restaurants, and shops. Though breakfast is not included, a few step away is hotel/restaurant that serves bountiful buffet breakfast for less than $15 each..

Grimani is managed by a wonderful brother/sister team, Donatella and Guido..two of the nicest people and a wonderful source of invaluable information. Highly recommend this Residence.

Room Tip: we were in an apartment, 2nd floor, in the back with the window to the canal..wonderful spot to hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very expensive for a place with no food, 1 wifi connection per room which is locked to a single device (and slower then I've seen in years) and an extra charge to use the kitchen. On the bright side, fantastic location and large clean rooms. Just bring your own coffee and internet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

First off, I'd want to thank the hotel staff who made our stay comfortable and easy - Sr Guido and Sra Donatella in the daytime, Sr Maurizio in the evenings - ever welcome and cheerful, ever helpful!

Echoing the pros and cons
1. Great location - 2 mins to San Marks Sq and the gondola rides hub, 5 mins to the Rialto - nothing like a really short walk home from major tour drop off points at the end of a long day
2. On arrival, you can take the water bus to the Rialto stop and walk to the hotel - but there is always one unavoidable bridge with steps to cross - otherwise you can roll your luggage most of the way - we did that with 3 big bags (but with wheels!)
3. A little hard to find front door - just hug the wall of building with the Armani shop and go to the right of the bridge that leads to St Marks Sq (and not go on the bridge!)
4. Rm 501 is the best - Rm 301 (which we also stayed in) (and maybe Rm 401 as well?) is same size and layout but on lower floors, so obscured by buildings next door but otherwise the same
5. You need to close the heavy green shutters to have a peaceful night's rest - curtains are not enough - but apparently these shutters are standard in Italy! We had them in our hotels in Florence and Rome as well.
6. WiFi works best in the living room area in the room - ask for a login for each device - we got 4!
7. You get charged to use the kitchenette only if you actually cook - not if you use it for fruits, drinks, sandwich preparation and keep it clean - we didn't get charged
8. Nice bakery/coffee place 3 minutes away, full supermarket 5 minutes away.
9. If you want the occasional full buffet breakfast with the works, the La Terraza restaurant is right next door (part of Hotel Bonvecchiati) has it for Euro 10 per person (free for kids under 8)

Great place - we would stay there again - and try to shoot for the X01 room if possible!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the hotel. Overall a great choice for us, but with most things there are pros and cons... pros: front desk staff, especially the woman whose name I forgot, is very helpful, free espresso each morning and afternoon, great set up for our family w 3 kids - 2 BR and 2 bath, great location near San Marco and Rialto, 5 min walk to little grocery store. My kids loved opening the windows to watch and listen to the gondolas go by.
cons: yes the curtains are sheer. My husband and I stayed in the front room which is brighter and noisier (from the gondolas and canal traffic). the attached room for the kids was darker and quieter. The idea of paying 50 E and 15 E to use the kitchen or washer seems excessive. In Venice you "bleed" money. I got tired of paying 10E for a plate of basic pasta for each of my 3 kids. Would have been nice to have a "real" kitchen.

Room Tip: The large, double room suited are family well. Although the adults ended up sleeping in the front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#35 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Corte Grimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.