We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Corte Grimani to your Saves list
Residence Corte Grimani
Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE!
Ranked #16 of 383 Hotels in Venice
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Place in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is our third trip to Venice, but the first time we stayed in Corte Grimani. It was outstanding, and we would highly recommend it. The location is perfect.... The rooms were huge and immaculate! We were only two people in a very large apartment with two bathrooms! We were delighted by the singing gondoliers passing by the window.... we can't get the song 'Ciao Venezia' our of our heads! The staff, each one of them, were so helpful. We had a very late flight and we were able to leave our luggage for the day, and even freshen up before our trip home. You will not be disappointed when you stay at Residence Corte Grimani!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    87
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
354
179
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed four nights and found this property to be ideal in location and value. The hotel is conveniently located equidistant from both San Marco Square and the Rialto Bridge in the heart of this bustling city. The well-stocked supermarket Simply is close by for groceries and such. We explored Venice all morning, returned to the Hotel to rest, and continued to see more of this awesome city in the PM because of our proximity. Consequently we were able to maximize our Venetian experience. Our 5th floor apartment had a modern bathroom, wireless internet service and a fantastic view of the inner canal bustling with Gondole. All rooms have secure shutters to keep out the noise which permitted us to sleep well and wake up refreshed and ready to go. I can't give enough praise to the hotel staff for their great recommendations on restaurants, travel logistics and places to see. For example, getting luggage to and from the water taxi stands can be challenging unless you know that the Rialto stop does not required travelers to cross any bridges. Most travelers use the San Marco stop which can be exhausting if you are not familiar with the layout and have a lot of heavy luggage as we did. Although the Hotel does not have a restaurant or a bar, we ate breakfast next door at the Hotel Bonvecchiati which offers a great buffet for 10 Euros. The Grimani staff can give you solid recommendations for dinner depending on your requirements. It would have been nice to have an expresso/capachino machine in the room but this was such a minor inconvenience I'm reluctant to even mention it. Trattoria are everywhere so finding your favorite snack, beer or expresso was never an issue. Overall, Corte Grimani is difficult to beat!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Would definitely stay here again. Yes its a bit difficult to find so I would recommend hiring a private water taxi to take you there. The room sizes are very large and comfortable. Its a great value and perfect for our needs with two rooms (it was the largest rooms we enjoyed during our travels to Italy). Staff was very helpful. Highly recommend this hotel. Its also very well located, close to everything.

I did read about others being charged for clearning of the kitchen. Since we didn't use it, there was nothing to clean and NO charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent three nights here last September. We decided to rent an apartment in Venice this trip due to the very small average size of hotel rooms throughout the city. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our fourth floor apartment. The location was perfect! It was very close to St. Mark's Square and other sites but seemed very remote at the same time. We loved opening the numerous shutters on the many windows to enjoy all of the amazing views and activity on the canals and streets below.
Their was always someone at the front desk to give us great recommendations for restaurants and attractions. They even had a very nice collection of travel books to use during our stay. We didn't do any cooking but it was nice to have kitchenware for breakfast and the refrigerator was also handy. The apartment was well appointed and cleaned daily.
As others have said, despite having the directions from their website, it took us forever to find this place. I think they could be more specific with the directions.
We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this being home-base while in Venice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuttle, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Let me start by addressing concerns over the kitchen. After reading some reviews I was worried about this extra expense. As it happens you don't pay the extra if you are only needing the fridge, microwave and dishes, etc. The extra is only if you will need the stove. Which we did not.

We paid 15 Euros to use the washer/dryer but only used it once. The close had a funny odor (not bad just odd) after use.

That said, we had a lovely spacious room with 2 full baths, overlooking the canal. You couldn't help but fling the windows open to hear the bells from St Marks or the singing gondoliers.

The staff was very accommodating and couldn't be nicer. After arriving, the room wasn't quite ready since we were very early. However, within a couple hours we checked in. We requested the beds be separated in one room and they came right up and took care of it immediately.

We returned one day to have lunch in our room and they were in the process of cleaning (which they did daily). They left so we could enjoy our lunch and then returned after we had finished.

They have large bottles of water that you can purchase at the front desk which is more economical.

Overall, I would highly recommend this location and hotel for your stay.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and only one night did the visitors upstairs keep anyone awake. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I just spent three nights at Corte Grimani and could not possibly say enough about what a wonderful place to stay in Venice that this is. Like all things Venice, finding the hotel will be a tad difficult if you are unfamiliar with the twisted streets and canals, but I would say Corte Grimani is one of the easier places to find. It is ideally located between San Marco and the Rialto. There are restaurants of all types, stores, and anything one could need within a 1-5 minute walk.

The hotel is quaint and the three individuals we interacted with at the front desk during our stay were top-notch. Directions, suggestions, and general information were readily available. Everyone spoke very clear English. There is no restaurant on-site but there is a sitting area and some vending in the lobby. Our specific room was on the top (5th) floor (there is a small elevator for use) and was absolutely huge by Italian standards. There was a VERY large bedroom with full bath which was located off a giant great room with a kitchenette, living/dining area. Off of this was a smaller full bath (with stand up shower) and a changing area with a large wardrobe for clothes/luggage storage. Outside the windows are a small canal and you can listen to gondoliers go by singing all day and into the evening. Fair warning - this canal is busy in the morning and there can be a lot of noise (garbage, deliveries, gondoliers, etc).

I was blown away by the size of this spotless, impeccably clean suite. There is a charge to use the kitchen and laundry, but you can still use the refrigerator, microwave, sink, and some glasses without incurring the charge.

Highly recommended or anyone looking for a well-located, clean, friendly, large place to stay in Venice. It was sad to leave this place and this wonderful city! Definitely hope to be back some day soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I first have to recognize Donatella and Guido, the attendants at Residence Grimani, for all they did to contribute to our fruitful and totally amazing stay in Venice. Their helpfulness and unfailing good humor are among my outstanding memories of our beautiful five days there.

Our second-floor apartment overlooking the Rio dei Fuseri was ideal. Each morning we breakfasted there to the sound of gondolas paddling to San Marco to engage the tourist throngs. Other life was there as well, such as garbage scows and motor boats bringing fruits and vegetables. The two streams of life, tourists and citizens earning their livings, seem to blend very well.

As others have noted, the rooms at Residence Grimani are spacious and well equipped. Besides the generous bedroom, ours had a kitchen and dining area and two bathrooms. The latter was useful - since one walks everywhere in Venice a long soak in a hot tub was welcome at the end of the day, and the second bathroom was still available. We felt very comfortable at the Grimani.

The special ambiance of the Grimani made it easier to sail into the day's activities with a positive, receptive spirit. I can laugh off our few experiences with manipulative or callous tradespeople. We had an outstanding stay in Venice, and our hotel was a big part of that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Corte Grimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.