We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Corte Grimani to your Saves list
Residence Corte Grimani
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Drummoyne, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simply perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've just left Residence Corte Grimani after a three night stay as a family of five and couldn't rate this accomodation more highly. The room itself was sufficiently spacious for our family (unusual in Europe), spotlessly clean and well equipped. Most importantly, the location could not be better - listening to passing gondoliers serenading fom our window - and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    89
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
368
191
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Location, Service, Comfort, Value. This is a great find - spotlessly clean and comfortable and a wonderful, friendly and helpful staff and so much space for the money. Why pay for a "name" hotel and pay lots of money for a small room and amenities you aren't going to use? The units which have sleep sofas are obviously designed for families but for two it's a grand suite of rooms perfect for relaxing after days of walking in a very densely crowded city. We were in unit 401 - a superior apartment. Loads of space, quiet area at night, very comfortable furnishings, great views of busy intersecting canals during the day, and easy to walk everywhere. Our friends stayed in unit 503 - a standard unit with a view of rooftops which was also spacious and comfortable. Neither of us used the full kitchen facilities but the mini-fridge was a nice amenity. Both units were light and bright. Very easy to find location, a few minutes from either the Rialto or San Marco stops and centrally located so that you can wander off in any direction to easily reach the main sights of Venice. Guido and Donatella could not have been more helpful and pleasant. Front desk and concierge services all in one. (they even led friends of our staying elsewhere to their hotel!) We really felt that the staff was glad we were there and they welcomed our feedback on their very helpful recommendations and advice. Highly recommend Corte Grimani. Many thanks again to the excellent staff for a great stay in Venice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights recently and found it to be perfect. We arrived by train from Rome to Venezia SL station and because we knew no different, we caught a water taxi (€70)! We later realised this was unnecessary. Instead, we recommend you take the ferry to the Rialto stop on line 2 and walk to the hotel from there (10 mins and we did it when we left with 2 large suitcases). This will only set you back around €7 per person. The hotel is clean and the staff are so friendly, nothing is a problem. There is a computer at reception you can use if you need to print anything. We were upgraded to the large apartment with the canal view (3rd floor) which made the experience even more special. Two bathrooms, a massive bedroom and kitchen/lounge/dining area. The location is so central it takes 1 minute to walk to st marks square, 10 mins to Rialto Bridge. We couldn't fault this hotel and strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband, myself, and our 15 yr old son stayed at the Hotel Corte Grimani mid June after going to Rome and Florence. There are no words to describe this wonderful hotel, in one of
the most amazing places in the world. Our room was a classic standard on the 5th floor. It was
so large I told the family not to unpack because I thought they had made a mistake. We were delighted. Compared to our hotels in Rome and Florence this was a true triple with a large bedroom and a separate area for my son with a comfortable pull out sofa. There was a partial view of the canals where we could see the gondolas. We were blown away. The staff was very kind while the most helpful people were Donatella and Anna. Thank you all.
We made it very clear we were not going to use the kitchen, and we were not charged. They painstakingly gave us directions to wherever we wanted to go, and gave us very helpful advise. We bought a 3 day Vela vaporetto pass which saves money and is a good value in an expensive area. Because of the ideal location we could walk to most of the sites, but you also get a different perspective from the water.
For breakfast we found an excellent Supermarcato instead of going to the bakery. We found fresh Italian baguettes, cheeses, etc.

Finding this hotel is not hard if you follow the directions from the hotel website exactly. If you're
not sure ask someone politely. The Italian people are very kind and gracious, and we found them
happy to help. Just don't be a loud ugly American that we tend to have a reputation for. The hotel
is right by the Armani store- just don't cross the bridge. We could not follow the maps because not all the streets (calles) have names. Look for landmarks such as a store or a church.
We found Venice to be one of the most romantic, charming cities in the world. Don't be afraid to get lost. It's half the fun to explore the picturesque and mysterious alleyways and canals. By the way, the canals did not smell when we were there in June.

As others have said, this hotel is perfectly located close to St. Mark's Square (Piazza St. Marco) and the Rialto bridge. The gondolas were close by and we loved to watch them drift by. The area was quiet and idyllic. So much to do and see. We went to Dorsoduro, to the Peggy Guggenheim Museum, to the Jewish ghetto, and so much more.

We took pictures with our I-phone, and videos with sound. My husband continues to sing a song that we heard from our hotel room that one of the singers on the gondolas sang, Ciao Venezia. There are plenty of ATM machines within walking distance. Five minutes from the hotel there is a beautiful concert hall. Five minutes in the other direction there was a cute little theatre that explained the history of Venice in English. Close by was a Gelato Fantasy shop which my son said was the best gelati in Italy. He had the Kit Kat gelato.
Finally, our last night in lovely Venice we took a gondola ride in the early evening. Expensive, but we figured when are we ever going to go this again. Our gondolier spoke English and explained all the sights to us. It was magical and well worth the cost. Even our son said this was the best part of our trip.
We had to be at the airport at 6am. so after conferring with Donatella about the different options we took the water taxi. Expensive, but stress free, and fun. This was the trip of a lifetime.
If we had the privilege to go to Venice again, we would certainly choose Hotel Corte Grimani. Ciao

Room Tip: The fifth floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Getting to the Hotel via water bus is difficult. We experienced a few rude people on the way. After giving up finding our hotel we paid a Porter to carry our luggage. We were traveling with 2 young children. Then we arrived at this Hotel after a long train ride and getting lost in Venice, we were greeted by a frigid man. We were exhausted and we calmly told him we were confused by the directions. A bridge to us Americans was different then a bridge in Venice. The Frigid man stated 4 times to us that "the directions were CLEAR". Instead of acknowledging that it is difficult to get to the hotel he kept saying, "It is Clear". We found him very Pompous. He even looked offended when we did not like the American Breakfast place he sent us to. We did not want a cheap American Buffet. Other than that, the place is large and VERY clean. No children channels on the TV. ONE OTHER THING: you can hear your neighbors...Not a lot but my husband was woken up by a couple enjoying their time at 3AM. Thank God it was QUick!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We selected this apartment hotel based on it's Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The rooms are large, very comfortable and clean, the staff are friendly and extremely helpful and the location is perfect (if a little difficult to find the first time!). My advice would be to take a water taxi from the airport or railway station, which will drop you right at their front door. Once you've found it for the first time it's much easier. (Tip: It's actually in a little street directly behind the Armani store). For Venice this place provides much more space than most hotels, even at much higher prices, and has a great location less than a minute from St Marks square. Trust the staff with their recommendations for eating out nearby, both for value and quality. We loved our stay here and will definitely use Corte Grimani again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Location, location! Very clean, big rooms with kitchenette plus W/D. Wonderful staff, and you simply can't beat being so close to St Marks Square, Rialto bridge and right on the water. You need simply step outside to watch the gondolas go by! You will Love it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Corte Grimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.