We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what you need it to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Save Saved
You added Residence Corte Grimani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 382 hotels in Venice
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“just what you need it to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This residence is the perfect mix of hotel and apartment-really roomy with a kitchen if you want it plus brilliant staff who are as involved as you want them to be; helpful if you leave your suitcase on the water taxi (which can drop you at the door), but not pushy about anything. Almost unsurpassable location and cleanliness, I can't think of a sort of trip or group that this accommodation would not suit. Only negative is that the sofa bed is not as comfy as the other beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    82
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
335
171
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would really recommend these apartments. We're a family of four and had a superior apartment on the 4th floor. Two huge rooms and two bathrooms; views from every angle. Staff really friendly and helpful. We arrived in the evening and were given recommendations for an evening meal and breakfast the next morning. All recommendations were spot on. (See other reviews). It's a great location - 2 mins from San Marco and 5 mins from the Rialto. Close by but also it feels like it's off the beaten track. Close to one of the Gondola stations and a lovely place to start from. We got a water taxi from airport to the door - booked online through motoscafivenezia.it. Arrive in style - it's worth it. Took the alilaguna arancia line bus back to the airport from the Rialto. Bit slow at times but still fun and cheaper than a taxi. Venice is such a great place to just wander. It doesn't matter if you get lost - you can soon find your way again or ask anyone. It's a safe and relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just came back from five nights at this hotel. It's location was amazing the room was enormous and the mini kitchen with two children a huge benefit. The staff were friendly and helpful all in all a brilliant place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A 4 night trip with our 5 year old and we were really pleased with this choice. We had a two roomed apartment which looked over the canal. The apartment was massive and plenty big enough. We liked the location - close to all the big sites - st marco, Rialto bridge but tucked away enough not to feel too touristy. Locally we enjoyed the cakes at the local bakery and the opera which is 5 minutes away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from 3 days in Venice and I can thoroughly recommend Residence Corte Grimani. It's location is fantastic being 5 mins from Rialto and St Marks Square and all of the staff are exceptionally helpful and informative.

Having the benefit of an apartment gives you much more space together with the service that a hotel offers e.g. Ticket booking, taxis, daily maid service etc. Alright so theres not a restaurant but with numerous pastelleri and trattoria within seconds walk it encourages you to explore all the local back streets.

If I was going back to Venice I would certainly stay here again. Overall, a truly fantastic experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

There were 5 of us, so the water taxi from the airport wasn't ridiculously more than the "bus": Definitely recommended if you are arriving after a long flight, as it drops you at the door (at least it did for us, others say differently), rather than a winding walk lugging luggage from San Marco (closer to the hotel) or Rialto (shorter vaporetto ride if you're coming from the train station side). Everything worked. The full kitchen is extra, but unless you really want to cook, enough is provided for you to get by without it. It's in an upscale shopping area, so "easy" food for the jet-lagged isn't obvious, but they're happy to help at the desk.

Room Tip: If you are a family, tell them how you want the beds (singles, doubles) so they can figure out which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, CO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Residence Corte Grimani was a bit pricey for our budget, but Venice in general is expensive. We traveled with a 13- and 15-year old so our goals were a little more space, a place where we could cook so we wouldn't have to eat out in restaurants all the time, clean, easy walking distance from tourist sights but not right in the middle of chaos, and WiFi. Corte Grimani met this wish list perfectly and was completely worth the cost.

We stayed in an apartment on the 5th floor for 4 nights recently. Rooms were spacious and included a small extra room with a lamp, little table, and ottoman that our son dubbed his "office". The bedroom is large for European standards and included plenty of storage, comfortable bed.

Kitchen included microwave, dishes, dishwasher, washer/dryer (there was a fee to unlock this so we just washed by hand in the bathroom sink when necessary and dried clothes on the heated towel rack), and stove. It cost 50 Euro to unlock the stove, which we did - we ended up finding local market food to cook dinner all four nights since restaurants were expensive, and this 50 Euro was totally worth it when we could buy local market food for a family of four for only 25-30 Euro a night. It was fun to find handmade pastas and sauces, then cook them at the apartment and serve with fresh salads from the local grocery store. So it depends on how much you'll use it. We loved this feature and felt it gave us an opportunity to eat more like locals.

The hotel provides shampoo, soap, and a few added toiletry amenities. The only thing we wished the hotel would provide is dishwashing soap under the kitchen sink - we stayed in other apartments in Italy that provided this and it was really nice.

WiFi was sufficiently strong in kitchen/main room, but slightly spotty in the bedroom. No big deal.

The hotel is located very close to San Marco Square, about a 5 minute walk. It is in between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square, which for us was perfect. We enjoyed walking by the gondola stop just over the bridge, and even though it was a touristy area, it's easy to get beyond that and wander through the maze of streets into less touristy neighborhoods. It was a little challenging to find the hotel upon our 7:30 pm arrival in the dark, and I could not find my specific map, but we received help from friendly locals. Don't forget to print your map from the website!

Front desk staff is excellent, available 24/7 and very helpful. Our kids tended to sleep in, so they would call for housekeeping as soon as they noticed our whole family was headed out for the day. They also sold us wine at a reasonable cost upon our arrival on New Year's Eve when local shops were closed. Very attentive to our needs! They arranged for a water taxi to take our family to the airport very early in the morning on our departure day, and though costly (100 Euro) it eliminated our stress level (we considered returning via vaporetto but due to timing it just seemed easier to be picked up and dropped off right at our exact locations).

For our family, Corte Grimani was a splurge but definitely worth it. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and highly recommend it if you have similar goals to ours.

Room Tip: Higher floors have pretty views over rooftops or of the canal. It's worth the extra cost to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#37 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Corte Grimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.