We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Corte Grimani to your Saves list
Residence Corte Grimani
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE!
Ranked #20 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Greeley, CO
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent location and apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Residence Corte Grimani was a bit pricey for our budget, but Venice in general is expensive. We traveled with a 13- and 15-year old so our goals were a little more space, a place where we could cook so we wouldn't have to eat out in restaurants all the time, clean, easy walking distance from tourist sights but not right in the middle of chaos, and WiFi. Corte Grimani met this wish list perfectly and was completely worth the cost.

We stayed in an apartment on the 5th floor for 4 nights recently. Rooms were spacious and included a small extra room with a lamp, little table, and ottoman that our son dubbed his "office". The bedroom is large for European standards and included plenty of storage, comfortable bed.

Kitchen included microwave, dishes, dishwasher, washer/dryer (there was a fee to unlock this so we just washed by hand in the bathroom sink when necessary and dried clothes on the heated towel rack), and stove. It cost 50 Euro to unlock the stove, which we did - we ended up finding local market food to cook dinner all four nights since restaurants were expensive, and this 50 Euro was totally worth it when we could buy local market food for a family of four for only 25-30 Euro a night. It was fun to find handmade pastas and sauces, then cook them at the apartment and serve with fresh salads from the local grocery store. So it depends on how much you'll use it. We loved this feature and felt it gave us an opportunity to eat more like locals.

The hotel provides shampoo, soap, and a few added toiletry amenities. The only thing we wished the hotel would provide is dishwashing soap under the kitchen sink - we stayed in other apartments in Italy that provided this and it was really nice.

WiFi was sufficiently strong in kitchen/main room, but slightly spotty in the bedroom. No big deal.

The hotel is located very close to San Marco Square, about a 5 minute walk. It is in between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square, which for us was perfect. We enjoyed walking by the gondola stop just over the bridge, and even though it was a touristy area, it's easy to get beyond that and wander through the maze of streets into less touristy neighborhoods. It was a little challenging to find the hotel upon our 7:30 pm arrival in the dark, and I could not find my specific map, but we received help from friendly locals. Don't forget to print your map from the website!

Front desk staff is excellent, available 24/7 and very helpful. Our kids tended to sleep in, so they would call for housekeeping as soon as they noticed our whole family was headed out for the day. They also sold us wine at a reasonable cost upon our arrival on New Year's Eve when local shops were closed. Very attentive to our needs! They arranged for a water taxi to take our family to the airport very early in the morning on our departure day, and though costly (100 Euro) it eliminated our stress level (we considered returning via vaporetto but due to timing it just seemed easier to be picked up and dropped off right at our exact locations).

For our family, Corte Grimani was a splurge but definitely worth it. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and highly recommend it if you have similar goals to ours.

Room Tip: Higher floors have pretty views over rooftops or of the canal. It's worth the extra cost to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    96
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
382
200
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here with a 2yo, and it was great. Very large apartment with separate bedroom and living area. Very well located - just a few minutes walk to most major sites and water taxis. Staff were lovely and very helpful - also helped recommending restaurants and sites that were off the main tourist traps. Great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a delayed review.Stayed at the hotel in Aug 2012 for 2 days. Excellent location with excellent rooms and a very friendly and helpful staff. We were there for my daughters birthday and had mentioned that. They had a gift basket for my daughter which made her feel very special . It was within easy walking distance from all the major tourist spots in a quiet corner with beautiful views from the window. The staff gave us excellent tips on eating places including an excellent cafe for morning cappuccino and Danish. We lost our camera during a tour of the palace and the staff helped us call and were very helpful. Would definitely recommend it and we will definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed over Thanksgiving weekend 2012, shortly after some very high water in Venice. The staff communicated with us prior to our arrival to allay our concerns and assure us that everything was back to normal. The staff attitude continued to be awesome after our arrival and all during our stay. The room/apt. was clean, modern, large. I find myself wanting to keep this place a secret.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great. The rooms are very large and the staff is amazing. The hotel is very close to everything and makes it very easy to get anywhere quick. I travel with small children and they were very accommodating of them here. Housekeeping comes daily and does a very good job as well. The water taxi stop is literally outside the front door and the staff was right there to help with our bags. Awesome hotel all around. Will be back forsure some day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
j96
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Residence Corte Grimani for four nights in a spacious two bedroom apartment. As a family group of three generations, the accommodation was ideal - grandparents in one room with en suite, us and two children in the other bedroom, also en suite, which was very spacious. We chose not to open the kitchen, but still had access to fridge, kettle, sink, cutlery, plates and cups so easy to make a quick snack for the children when needed. The location was superb, one of our daughters spent most of her time waving at the gonolas in the canal right below the window. Staff at the hotel were fantastic, even helping with great advice when aqua alta struck! We had a fantastic stay, in two minds about recommending - perhaps we should keep this gem to ourselves!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My traveling companion and I require separate sleeping accommodations and that can be costly in an expensive city like Venice, unless you are fortunate enough to discover Residence Corte Grimani. Although classified as a hotel, the former palazzo is all apartments, of varying sizes. The front desk is staffed 24/7 and is very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We chose one of the largest on the fifth floor, which had an enormous king-sized master bedroom, a spacious living room/dining area with a comfortable pullout queen couch, a small corner kitchen and two separate, good sized modern bathrooms with high-end amenities. The free Wi-Fi worked just fine, providing you understand that Italian connection isn’t rapid fire like in the US. The windows overlook a small canal and it is enchanting to watch and listen to the gondoliers gliding past. If it’s all about “location, location”, ideal is the only appropriate adjective – a three minute walk to St. Mark’s Square and the Grand Canal; five minutes to the Rialto Bridge. Imagine all this for $400/night; divided by two in our case…that’s significantly less than the better hotels…without the space or location! The hotel has small common rooms on the ground floor and some vending machines, but does not have a bar or restaurant – certainly not a hardship in a city teeming with both. We created our own cocktail hour, sitting by the canal steps with wine, and thoroughly enjoying the action on the water. Countless people took our photos from the gondolas, which was amusing, because we wondered if they thought us locals. My email communication with Donatella prior to booking was seamless; she responded quickly and graciously, even when I had to shorten the stay because of my error. I knew she was a consummate hotelier who understands hospitality and she demonstrated that repeatedly throughout our four day stay. Our sole regret was leaving. Meanwhile, my traveling companion is returning to Venice in a year and is booking with Residence Corte Grimani.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#15 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,689 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#49 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Corte Grimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.