We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there better than "Excellent"?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Corte Grimani to your Saves list
Residence Corte Grimani
Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE!
Ranked #16 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Landstuhl, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Is there better than "Excellent"?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed over Thanksgiving weekend 2012, shortly after some very high water in Venice. The staff communicated with us prior to our arrival to allay our concerns and assure us that everything was back to normal. The staff attitude continued to be awesome after our arrival and all during our stay. The room/apt. was clean, modern, large. I find myself wanting to keep this place a secret.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    87
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
354
179
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great. The rooms are very large and the staff is amazing. The hotel is very close to everything and makes it very easy to get anywhere quick. I travel with small children and they were very accommodating of them here. Housekeeping comes daily and does a very good job as well. The water taxi stop is literally outside the front door and the staff was right there to help with our bags. Awesome hotel all around. Will be back forsure some day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
j96
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Residence Corte Grimani for four nights in a spacious two bedroom apartment. As a family group of three generations, the accommodation was ideal - grandparents in one room with en suite, us and two children in the other bedroom, also en suite, which was very spacious. We chose not to open the kitchen, but still had access to fridge, kettle, sink, cutlery, plates and cups so easy to make a quick snack for the children when needed. The location was superb, one of our daughters spent most of her time waving at the gonolas in the canal right below the window. Staff at the hotel were fantastic, even helping with great advice when aqua alta struck! We had a fantastic stay, in two minds about recommending - perhaps we should keep this gem to ourselves!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My traveling companion and I require separate sleeping accommodations and that can be costly in an expensive city like Venice, unless you are fortunate enough to discover Residence Corte Grimani. Although classified as a hotel, the former palazzo is all apartments, of varying sizes. The front desk is staffed 24/7 and is very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We chose one of the largest on the fifth floor, which had an enormous king-sized master bedroom, a spacious living room/dining area with a comfortable pullout queen couch, a small corner kitchen and two separate, good sized modern bathrooms with high-end amenities. The free Wi-Fi worked just fine, providing you understand that Italian connection isn’t rapid fire like in the US. The windows overlook a small canal and it is enchanting to watch and listen to the gondoliers gliding past. If it’s all about “location, location”, ideal is the only appropriate adjective – a three minute walk to St. Mark’s Square and the Grand Canal; five minutes to the Rialto Bridge. Imagine all this for $400/night; divided by two in our case…that’s significantly less than the better hotels…without the space or location! The hotel has small common rooms on the ground floor and some vending machines, but does not have a bar or restaurant – certainly not a hardship in a city teeming with both. We created our own cocktail hour, sitting by the canal steps with wine, and thoroughly enjoying the action on the water. Countless people took our photos from the gondolas, which was amusing, because we wondered if they thought us locals. My email communication with Donatella prior to booking was seamless; she responded quickly and graciously, even when I had to shorten the stay because of my error. I knew she was a consummate hotelier who understands hospitality and she demonstrated that repeatedly throughout our four day stay. Our sole regret was leaving. Meanwhile, my traveling companion is returning to Venice in a year and is booking with Residence Corte Grimani.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly stuff made us feel like home. We were there with my husband for our anniversary and we have found champaigne cookies and a very nice note in our room. Great location close to everywhere and the hotel is very clean...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this find! The Tripadvisor award and reviews are true--
- It is just a 2 minute walk to San Marco; 5 minute walk to Rialto.
- It is not a room it is a ginormous apartment!! We were so happy when the door opened and we found a living room with sofa bed, kitchen, dining table, coat room, bath, large bedroom.
- It has a microwave so we were able to save one dinner by buying some local stuff from the grocery.
- Ms. Donatella and her staff are very nice. They will help you find your way around Venice and give helpful tips too (ex. where to eat). Plus, we left the hotel 3am and they properly endorsed our check out and waited for us.
- There's no breakfast but they have a nice Illy machine in the lobby and the coffee is really good.
Note - I only put a very good in sleep quality coz the TV is in the living room, I'm not used to not having a TV in the bedroom :D

So there, once you stay in Corte Grimani, you won't think of staying in any other hotel the next time you visit Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were a large group of friends meeting up in Venice from the US, the UK, and from a cruise, we rented 3 apartments, each laid out different, comfortable, and centrally located, 5 minute walk from San Marco's, but just far enough off a main pedestrian area to be quiet at night. It was definitely more fun having apartments since we were a larger group and per person it was actually less expensive than staying in a hotel. This would be a good set up for a family, a group of friends, or even a business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Corte Grimani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.