We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Corte Grimani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Corte Grimani to your Saves list
Residence Corte Grimani
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After the numerous good reviews on TA, we chose the Residence Corte Grimani, because of its location, the price and the apartment could take 4 of us. We decided not to cook in the apartment. Instead we went to the cafes nearby for breakfast.
We arrived by water taxi and the taxi guy knew exactly where it was so there was no need for a map. We arrived early morning and were greeted by the staff and checked into the room right away.
The place is close to San Marco and we covered most of the area by late afternoon. As the apartment was not that far from San Marco we went back to freshen up before dinner. The restaurant was recommended by the staff. The restaurant was packed, we had to queue for a table, but it was worth it. The food was excellent.
The next day we went to Rialto and looked around the fresh produce market and had lunch by the canal.
In the afternoon we went on the vaporettas and stopped off in a number of places and we even had time to fit in Burano, which was a brilliant place, with coloured houses and rather peaceful.
The Residence staff were very helpful especially to my mother and gave us a number of recommendations and tips. The staff booked the water taxi for us and it came on time and the staff helped us onto it as it was a bit of a struggle for my mother. By the way the wifi is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Well after a slow start with the water taxi telling us that they couldn't drop us off at Corte Grimani, walking through the different streets, trying to find the place. A weight lifted off our shoulders when we finally arrived. The staff were very helpful, giving us maps and information we needed. A very modern apartment, newly renovated so it was fresh and clean. The only down side was that the kettle was tiny and they had no bowls for cereal and small cups.... but maybe that went with the small kettle. Our departure was a lot smoother than the arrival with the water taxi collecting us from the front of the hotel. Overall a great apartment with great help.

Room Tip: Had a little trouble with mosquitos but staff were very helpful and organised a plug-in repellent to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was fine. Good location, nice and roomy with comfortable bed. However, we were paying for an apartment, and to be told that we had to pay 50 Euros to have the kitchen unlocked (they actually had locks on the cooking section!!) for a 3 night stay was just not right. We opted not to do that and ate out instead, but when I book an apartment, I expect to have full use of the kitchen without a costly extra fee. It was yet another "extra" to use the clothes washing machine too. I have stayed in apartments all over Europe and never encountered this meanness before - it should be described as a hotel room where you can pay extras if you want to use the kitchen or clothes washing facilities.
The staff were cordial, but when we asked for an extra (little and paper) map of Venice, because they had only given us one, we were told that would be one Euro more. We declined. This is an ungenerous attitude, especially as this is not particularly cheap.
They recommended a couple of restaurants, but again, we found better ones ourselves.
It was OK, but not up to the starry reviews I have seen here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn of Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we chose it for a quick two-day stay in Venice. I booked a room with a view. When we arrived, the hotel upgraded us (free) to a suite with two bathrooms, a kitchen, a nice big bedroom, lots of closet and drawer space.

The location is wonderful. It is quiet, but very close to SO much. There are five or more ATMs close by; all kinds of shops; a great place for quick delicious food called the Snack Bar (that the staff at Corte Gremandi pointed out). The hotel is roughly equidistant to Rialto and San Marco (St. Mark's Square). Both of these places are stops on the public transportation system of water buses called vaporettos.

I met four different staff members over the course of my stay at the hotel, and each one was wonderfully gracious and helpful, and very knowledgeable. They explained the differences between the vaporetto and water taxi. They explained the options for getting to the airport (we came by train). The young woman cheerfully called and made reservations for a Vivaldi concert.

We spent one afternoon in our room longer than planned because every so often a gondola with musician and singer would pass by below. We would have gladly paid for such great entertainment! All we had to do is open our windows and look down. It was a highlight of our ten-day trip to Italy.

I had neglected to print out the map they had emailed to me. It is not easy to find the first time without a map, so if you choose to stay there, don't make the same mistake I did. Bring the map! Once you know where it is, it is very easy to find, and VERY convenient. It's just an amazing combination of being off the beaten path (by just a half block or so), yet right on a canal with gondolas passing by, and five minutes from St. Mark's Square, easy walking distance to Rialto, and ALL the various shops, restaurants, and concert venues in that area.

I would have never found this without Trip Advisor. I'm here to say that the other people who are saying great things about the Corte Gremandi are right on the money.

Room Tip: We were in room 501 -- the top floor, overlooking the canal. It doesn't have to be the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaTraveler249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The apartment was wonderful, only surpassed by the attentiveness of the entire staff, front desk to housekeeping. Of particular note were the front desk staff members Guido and Donatella. Both were "tour guides, restaurant critics, activity specialists and map interpreters" extraordinaire.
Apartment consisted of a foyer, kitchen/great room, full bath and bedroom. Clean. Daily linen service. Ample closets. Free Wifi. English TV.
Location is a short walk to almost everywhere on a tourist's
itinerary and only a slightly longer walk to get anywhere off it.

Room Tip: Off the canal is quieter, but you miss the singing. Room 101 gives you a little bit of both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staufnhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We reserved a 6-people apartment here for 3 nights, after reading the TripAdvisor's reviews and we were not disappointed at all. The family apartment on the 2nd floor was huge with fantastic view of the canal that is just right next to it. The rooms are clean, soft bed linen and airy. The location is just perfect: next door is the Giorgio Armani store, then Hard Rock Cafe is just about 50m walk, from where you can take a ride on one of the gondolas. A few more minutes walking toward south would be the St Marco Square.

We asked for Ms Donatella to open the kitchen cabinet for us so we can cook -- and yes, the kitchen is fully equipped; it even comes with an automatic dishwasher! The management also provides daily cleaning services and making up the beds (except kitchen if you opt to cook which is a drawback: you have to pay EUR50 for cleaning charges). Nevertheless, given the size of the rooms, great location, amenities and the total room costs -- this apartment provided us with relatively the best value for money.

From the Venezia Railway station, take the water taxi and take the stop at Rialto. We took the stop at St Marco which was not a good idea as there were so many people along the pathways on our way to the hotel.

If you are having trouble locating the apartment, just ask for the Armani store. The apartment is just behind the store (along the water canal).

ps: We left three leather handbags in the drawer -- Ms Donatella was quick to help us in arranging courier service to send them to us. Fantastic service. We just need to find a cheaper courier cost now :)

Room Tip: The room on the south sides are just next to the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xgabing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in mid September, on the top floor in a 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment. It was light and airy, beautifully clean and nicely decorated. We opted to not pay extra for full kitchen use (this confuses me as it is an apartment I am renting!) but still had use of kettle, microwave, basic plates and cutlery. I wasn't happy though that I couldn't have access to bowls and spoons for cereal in the mornings. Having to get the family (incl young kids) up and going without breakfast was not ideal nor expected, and for this reason alone we would consider staying elsewhere. Other than this the residence was lovely. The kids especially loved opening the windows to hear and see the passing gondola parade. The staff were always handy and extremely helpful. We found the WIFI signal to be very erratic during our stay.
Location was awesome, easy to get to anywhere and best of all when we were leaving Venice with our full to the brim suitcases plus extra, we were able to catch a water taxi from the hotel door to the airport. Yes, a little pricey (not too bad though when you consider other means for 5 passengers) but no stress!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank danstar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
San Marco
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#25 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#46 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#22 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#48 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing