We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If its all about the location.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 381 hotels in Venice
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If its all about the location.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Mixed opinion about this hotel. Great location, Clean hotel. However, Room very small. Breakfast not great. Over priced.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    81
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
275
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed in the Sole Apartment which was located in a separate building to the Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, however i feel that the apartment was over priced. We could not get internet due to being in a different building and had to walk up and down six flights of stairs as there was no lift. There was no daily cleaning of the apartment and the kitchen in the apartment did not contain adequate cooking utensils for a simple meal such as pasta. The roof top terrace was great though. iIwould not recommend the apartment but a stay in a Hotel room may be better.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed at Ca' dei Dogi in the jacuzzi room and loved everything about this hotel from the location to the wonderful staff. When you walk out of the hotel down two alleys you are right in the heart of activity but because the hotel is tucked away, it is very quiet. There is a resturant that is attached which is owned by the hotel owner and the food is excellent. Guests of the hotel are given 10% off and are treated to champaign and lemonchello with their meal. The hotel has wifi and if you do not have your own laptop, you can use theirs no charge. We had a 6:00am flight out of Venice so the staff arranged for a water taxi to pick us up and made sure we got to the taxi stand and off to the airport. You are a 5 minute walk from San Marco square, very good location. The hotel is very clean. If we ever go back, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We have to preface by saying we had the jacuzzi room, which may be a little roomier than some of the other rooms. The room was cozy and had everything we needed. It did take a couple of tries to figure out how to use the jacuzzi, but then it worked fine. We loved the location. It was centrally located, right next to the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's. The hosts Stefano and Susana were delightful. They were very helpful in giving advice; anything from where to catch the gondolas to where to find a pharmacy that was open late.
We would love to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We had high hopes for this hotel, based upon TripAdvisor reviews, but were disappointed in the value for money. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous and this is certainly worth quite a bit, but the rooms are very small, much too small for the amount of money we paid. That being said, the bathrooms are very good and the amenities are high tech and excellent. The bed was too hard for us, and we had to walk up three full flights to our room, so be aware that for handicapped or elderly travelers, this hotel is not suitable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at Ca dei Dogi for 4 nights during our honeymoon in May 2009. Although the hotel is small (as well as our rooms), Ca dei Dogi more than made up for it with great service and amenities. They were waiting for us upon arrival and Stefano carried our bags upstairs after showing us the room. It was a “Double Economy” room that seemed to have been remodeled recently with a new bathroom. We thought the room was great for the price and location.

Their daily breakfast was served every morning in their breakfast nook area. It was pretty good and we didn’t have any complaints.

The hotel is steps from the Grand Canal, Bridge of Sighs, Doges Palace and St. Marks. You could literally blink and miss the turn into the alley leading to the hotel. We found this was a common theme for most of Venice.

We plan on returning to Venice and would definitely return to Ca dei Dogi.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

When visiting a city as unique as Venice, location is everything!
As an overall experience the hotel was great but I would like to list the pros and cons.
Pros:
1.Location.
2. Great staff. Thumbs up for Stefano and Suzanna at the reception. Polite and efficient. Really got out of their way to make Gondola and dinner reservations for us and they were all great!!
3. Free Internet and WiFi.
4. Modern decoration and friendly atmosphere.
5. Sat TV in all the rooms.
6. Reasonable prices without surprises.

Cons:
1. Rooms not thouroughly clean.
2. One needs a Phd to make the shower work.
3. Horrible breakfast.

Despite the aforementioned cons, it is a lovely hotel with lovely people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice
Ca Dei Dogi
Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
#71 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list