We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location...and a Great Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Save Saved
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #14 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Lawton, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location...and a Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My room was teeny-tiny, but immaculately clean and comfortable, and I loved the decorative touches around this charming boutique hotel.

Breakfast was amazing, with omelettes cooked to order, fresh fruit, yogurt, and yummy pastries. It was so generous, I usually had only one other meal each day...oh, and maybe a gelato...or two!

You cannot beat this location...it's PERFECT...about a one minute walk to the Doge's Palace and the Piazza San Marco! Take the Alilaguna (book online to save one Euro and not have to worry about exchanging money at the airport) to San Zaccaria stop. When you get to San Zaccaria, walk to the left over the bridge of the first canal you come to. (I was alone, with one rolling suitcase and a backpack, but crossing this one bridge was easy.) Turn into the alley on your right. (It's a little tucked away, so I see why so many people get lost.) If you look up at the entry to the alley, you will see a stone relief with "Daniel" written below it. Go down this alleyway and turn into the first little alley on the left and the hotel will be on your right. When you depart, you can get on the vaporetti without crossing the bridge, as the stop is on the same side of the canal as the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    83
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
297
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The six floor walk-up to the Sole' Apartment was totally worth it! Our lovely apartment was perfect and very accommodating. From our patio deck we could see the Dogi Palace and see and hear the bell tower at St. Marks. This could not have been a more perfect setting for our stay in Venice.

Vicki & Marvin
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We loved this little boutique hotel. The location is perfect (right behind the Doge Palace). The room was a nice size, well appointed, and comfortable. The bathroom was quite large for Italy! The balcony was perfect for coffee in the mornings. Breakfast was excellent. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 very comfortable nights in this great little hotel. Friendly staff make you feel very welcome. Our room was small but perfect and had a lovely balcony to sit in the morning sun. Breakfast is so big that you don't need to eat again until late afternoon. It took a minute to walk to St. Marks square so you are right in the hub of everything although you wouldn't have known it by how quiet the hotel was.
We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Hidden being the operative word... it is not easy to find so make sure you have the phone number to get directions. If you take the vaporetto, when you cross the bridge of sighs from St Marks Square, take the a little alley immediately on your left which leads to Calle Albanesi, it is off a little alley way just before the Trattoria with the same name. There is a little courtyard with tables and chairs outside.
As others have mentioned, Susanna and Stefano are so helpful and welcoming. It is a small, cosey, stylish boutique hotel. We had room 301 which has a small private terrace. The room is of a reasonable size, the bathroom is beautifully designed to maximise the space but is rather narrow. We just about managed, anyone with mobility issues or of a larger build might struggle. Each room has a different layout and our friends who were in room 101 (next to the reception) had a bath tub.
The location is excellent, we could see the the back of the cathedral from the terrace. There is a communal terrace on the roof - as we were part of a group, taking rooms, it was nice to get together when the sun was shining. The private from the room was more than adequate for the two of us and was convenient for a quick cigarette (no smoking in any of the rooms).
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. From taking up your luggage to helping with restaurant bookings and recommending places to go for a drink.
If we are in Venice again, I would definitely stay here. Having stayed in other hotels in Venice, the price is reasonable especially when you take into account the added value the staff bring.

Room Tip: Take the hotel's number in case you cannot find it. when you cross the bridge of sighs from St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We loved this hotel. Suzanne and Stefano made us feel most welcome and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are but a bit small but everything else makes up for it. It was clean, modern, great location and the roof top terrace was perfect. The best part though, was the recommendations given for restaurants and bars that were full of locals and not your normal tourist haunts. We are already planning our next trip and hope to bring some others with us next time.

Room Tip: Grab one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel was highly recommended by my niece and her husband and it didn't disappoint.
It is in a wonderful central location and so easy to find your way back to. Susanna and her husband were very helpful and gave us multiple restaurant and bar recommendations, which were all excellent. The rooms we stayed in were delightful. Room 401 had a wee balcony which we loved sitting out on. The real gem for us though was the roof top terrace where we would enjoy a gin and tonic and nibbles on every night before dinner while listening to the bells and sounds of Venice. So special. We also appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities in the room - a bit unusual in Europe. The breakfast of fruit, yogurt, croissant and omelette was terrific and very satisfying. We would all stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are worth the bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#16 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.