We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #12 of 380 Hotels in Venice
Jupiter
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for three days at an apartment that had two bedrooms that was very nice. It has a small bathroom but comfortable. The kitchen was very nice but we did not use it as we ate out every night. It has very good internet connection and CNN and BBC on the TV. I would recommend this apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    83
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
301
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Ca' dei Dogi is in an excellent location just behind the Doge's Palace and close to the vaporetto stops on the Grand Canal. The room we had was small but well equipped and the toilet/shower room was to a high standard. There is a roof terrace where you can relax and some rooms have small private balconies.

Breakfast; fruit, yogur, croissants and omelettes, was served in a small room next to their restaurant, where hotel guests receive a 10% discount.

We paid 170 euros per night for the room, which is very good for central Venice.

The hotel's location is it's strong point, we were able to be very near the front of the queue for St Mark's Bascilica (opens at 9:45) without having to rush breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located behind the doges palace, the hotel is perfectly situated for the tourist sights, access to the Vaporetti and local restaurants and bars/cares. Despite being only 100m or so from the busy waterfront and Piazza San Marco, it's location is quiet and serene. Indeed you get a great glimpse of the other side of the Ponte dei Sospiri from the lane way near the hotel, far from the maddening crowds. Though the rooms are not large, remember none are in Venice as space is ata premium. They are clean, tidy, meticulously maintained and if you get a balcony outside, are just perfect for your needs. A glass of Soave looking at the rear of the Doges Palace in receding sunlight is a rare treat.
Will definitely book again on a return to Venice. John and Donna
Ps. Order the omelet with mushrooms for breakfast from the lovely Michele.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel between the 24-27 August 2013.

The hotel is very easy to find up a small alley next to the Doge's Palace.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and helped us in all aspects of our stay.

The room was very clean and although not massive was large enough for our needs.

Value for money the hotel is reasonable. Not cheap, but nothing in Venice is!

Will stay again. Mick Cater. Leeds

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just loved this hotel! We had the room on the top floor and the room was very nice and comfortable. Our 8 year old was very impressed with her bed and joined room that had stain glass windows and curtains that operated with the touch of a button. There was a balcony off her room and the door to the room top terrace was right beside the door to the room. We went up there most days and had a drink or played cards over looking the Doge Palace. Hard to beat. ;) The location was just fantastic as well and close to major sights.
Suzanna at the front desk was wonderful and very kind to the 8 year old who really enjoyed her company. Breakfast was good and the air conditioning was strong which we were very happy about as it had been so hot the last few weeks.
The only thing we had a tiny bit of trouble with was the internet. For some reason, one of our phones and one ipad would connect, but not a computer we needed for work reasons nor another ipad. Not the biggest issue but good to know if you need wifi for something important.
Overall . loved it and would stay here again in a heart beat. Lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great location to see Venice! We stayed in the apartment which was lovely with it's own terrace. The staff were lovely very helpful they even gave us breakfast late which we were not expecting as we had got up late and missed the breakfast slot. Food in restaurant was delicious too. My only problem was there was no lift but I was warned when I rang to book it! I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Venice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Right near St. Marco square and a 5 minute walk from the San Zaccaria boat stop which is very convenient when pulling luggage. When lost in Venice as you will invariably be, just follow the signs to St. Marco and you can find the hotel easily. We had the room on the top floor with a private balcony. Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, owners on site and big breakfast and wifi. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#13 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.