We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #14 of 382 hotels in Venice
Suffolk, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of five and rented the Apartment Luna adjacent to the hotel in early August 2013. The apartment was beautifully fitted out, with a small but useful kitchen and dining area, two decent sized bedrooms, and great air conditioning (a good idea in Venice in August). Le of the bedrooms has two double beds, so can sleep three as long as you're OK with sharing a room.

What makes this place really special is the location. You can see the rear of the Doge's palace from the kitchen and one of the bedrooms, and almost next to the hotel is the prison attached to the palace, and at the end of the calle is the canal that runs under the bridge of sighs - an amazing location.

Stefano was extremely helpful in arranging the booking, and all of the staff were excellent every time we dealt with them. Breakfasts were decent, and the restaurant attached to the hotel seemed to get a good trade, although we didn't actually get the chance to eat there as we were only there for a few days.

We actually tried to book into the hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor, but they didn't have enough rooms. Helpfully they suggested the apartment, and I am very glad they did.

The apartment isn't particularly cheap, but in comparison to many central hotels it is really pretty decent value, and for the money you get your own apartment in the heart of San Marco, only a few minutes walk from the madness that is Piazza San Marco.

I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    83
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
291
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The room we had was very small but still pleasant and although the bathroom was small the shower was quite big and spacious. The breakfast at the hotel was really good and the service was very personal which I liked a lot. The location was fantastic and thanks to the great directions we found it easily. If going back to Venice I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I made a last minute reservation at this very well located hotel (tucked away in a small alley near San Marco Square) and was very pleased with the ground floor single room. The single room was next to the lobby which was disconcerting at first but was very quiet. For a single room, it actually was a decent size. The room was tastefully decorated with a modern bathroom. The A/C greatly appreciated as it was July and allowed me to sleep like a baby everynight (temperature was close to Arctic when I first entered!).

Breakfast was included and plenty. I often skipped lunch!

I have to admit that it took me 10 minutes find the place the first time walking in front of the lane of couple times...but once I got an idea of the city, it was easy to find and close to many touristy and not so touristy restaurants and enoteca.

Highly recommended for the value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My fiancé, myself, and one of our friends all stayed in the Superior room for two nights this past week on a whirlwind tour of Italy. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect from Dogi but I had read through several of the reviews and I was looking for something that would offer comfortable triple occupancy. The hotel itself is tucked away just behind Piazza San Marco and is an extremely convenient location if you are looking to see the highlights (read: tourist parts) of Venice in a short amount of time as we were. We had no problem finding the hotel (just make sure you take the vaporetto headed in the right direction - from the train station you want to take the No. 1 headed to the left, not right, as the one headed to the right is at the second to last stop) And upon our arrival we were greeted by Stefano. Our room was up several narrow flights of stairs but they were clean and well-lit. The room itself was gorgeous - plenty of space at the top of the hotel and it comfortably held three people. I was very much surprised by the space and updated quality of the bathroom. The daybed area where our friend stayed was in a beautiful blue glass nook at the top of the hotel. It is not separated from the rest of the room by a door but it is off to one side so you are not tripping over each other. There is a small private balcony as well as a lovely communal balcony just outside where you can see tourists peeking out the back side of Doge's Palace.
The breakfast was GREAT, very extensive in terms of selection for a free continental breakfast. We had a harder time finding spots for lunch and dinner - do your research ahead of time! I'd recommend Trattoria Santa Marina.
Overall our stay at CDD was excellent and I felt that it was a very good value given the location, price, and accommodations. Oh and the air conditioner in our room was, as our friend described it, "bionic!" It cooled down the room in a serious way.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We found this hotel perfect for our stay in Venice, just around the corner from San Marco's Square and down a quiet alley. The room we stayed in had a private balcony where you could enjoy the afternoon sun and relax to the sound of gondoliers singing as they weaved through the nearby canals. Suzanna was a great host and very knowledgable - she had great tips for sightseeing, entertainment and dining. Breakfast is excellent and the staff are super friendly. The hotel is located only 3 minutes from the ferry station and is easy to find with Suzanna's directions, so there's no hard slog finding your accommodation through the maze of canals and alleyways - this is a big bonus after your first experience on Venice's Ferry/Bus system.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony as some rooms are small and the extra space will be appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is tucked in an alley directly in the shadow of the Doge's Palace. It is shocking how close to all the action in San Marco's square you are, yet how quiet the rooms are. We had a tiny room with a beautiful balcony overlooking a courtyard. In the late afternoon, it was perfect to sit on and hear the distant music from the square while sipping a glass of wine and relaxing before dinner. The breakfast service was nice. They offered us omelets each morning which my husband said were excellent. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Aside from the room being really small (like barely a spot to put your suitcase and no place to unpack clothes except hanging ones), this place was really fantastic. Clean, comfortable and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony, as it gives you a place to sit that is not your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the apartments as the hotel was fully booked. I would recommend to stay if you can in the hotel as apartment is only ideal for a few people or family not a couple.
We arrives late which was no problem and friendly staff throughout our stay. Even down to the cleaning lady putting my rose from the night before in water.
It was a great base for first time stay as you are near Piazza San Marco, the water bus to take you up and down the canal and to and from the bus/train station to airport or nxt destination.
They had very good travel guides left for exploring and information also they were very helpful with any questions.
Breakfast was lovely each morning, which you got in hotel restraunt - fruit salad, yogurt, omelette, croissants etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#65 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list