We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful location for our 25th wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #11 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful location for our 25th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was our third visit to Venice and by far the nicest place we have stayed. The location is very conveniently placed to the vaporetto stop, the Doges Palace and St Marks but very very quiet. Our room was on the first floor and although small was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The bathroom was beautiful! The small safe was very useful and the tea making facilities and snacks most welcome. Our favourite place to sit and relax was the roof terrace which we had to ourselves and was a lovely spot to relax over a sandwich lunch.
Susanne and Steffano and indeed all the staff were very kind and welcoming and thank you both for helping us celebrate our anniversary in style!
Breakfasts were lovely with really nice omelettes cooked to order. Every single staff member we encountered were smiley and friendly. I can alo recommend the sandwich shop at the top of the street. Truly a trip to remember and a memorable hotel experience.

Room Tip: There is no lift - but the staff help you with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    85
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
311
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was our third visit to Venice but our first staying at Ca' dei Dogi and it was pretty much perfect. The location is ideal being literally a good stones throw from San Marco but tucked away in a very peaceful back alley. We had an economy double room which was very small but fine for our four night stay. For a longer visit it would probably be worth the extra for a bigger room. Everything was clean and the shower was very good (these things matter after a long day walking in the heat). The room was air conditioned and comfortable. All of the staff (especially Susanna) were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent; fruit, yoghurt, croissants, juice, coffee and the option of a (very tasty) omelette meant we were well prepared for the day ahead. Possibly the best feature is the rooftop terrace which we found to be the perfect place to relax for a while before heading out to pound the streets again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The Ca' dei Dogi is in a great location right beside St. Mark's Square and near all the main water stops. Stephano and Susanna are very friendly and welcoming. As previous reviewers have said the rooms are small but perfect, really clean and they have everything you need in them. The weather was brilliant when we were there so while our room didn't have a balcony we were able to sit out on the roof sun terrace overlooking the Doge's Palace. We had breakfast each morning with fresh fruit salad and omelettes made to order as well as coffee and pastries. A great start to the day. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Ca dei Dogi for both its location and standards. Hopefully we'll be back again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Apartment Sole based on the reviews we found here - and as a special anniversary gift to ourselves. First of all, let me say the location is excellent and the owners were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. You should keep in mind though if you rent the apartment - which is a good 200 Euros plus a night - that the flights of stairs you will need to negotiate are very substantial indeed. Not great for an older or unfit couple. The apartment itself was spacious and beautiful ...with a great patio looking out over rooftops. If you are keen on cooking your own meals, this is a good choice - consider how much you can save by self catering and the generally low standard of restaurant food in the city, and you will find yourself ahead financially and gastronomically. One criticism pertains to the servicing of the apartment - it was minimal. There was no explanation about how to operate dishwashers, TV/video systems, heating etc ... which was all a bit annoying. The breakfast was very generous and the head waiter, very kind and obliging. Good ...but could be better.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at Ca dei dogi for 3 days , just a week ago. I like many Americans are very picky and what I can say is Ca dei Dogi is a wonderful, charming hotel close to the center attractions. 1. Its extremely clean 2. Staff is attentive, warm and helpful 3. Easy to find from (San Zaccaria water stop) 4. Just a short alley walk to the right to Dodge Palace and San Marcos Square and Basilica 5. Great breakfast omelet and breakfast food 6. Free wi-fi and computer available for guest to use. I stayed in the single room as I was a solo traveler, its was small, but cozy, comfortable and modern and there are larger rooms for individuals traveling with families or larger groups. The hotel also has a restaurant, I had dinner the first night in the restaurant the food was great and as a guest to the hotel received an additional 10% off my bill. The only thing is the hotel does not have an elevator it has stairs, because I had a very large/heavy luggage the male staff takes up the luggage for guest and will assist when leaving. I would definitely recommend Ca dei Dogi to others and will be returning again. Thanks Susana and Ca Dei Dogi (hotel and restaurant) staff for your excellent customer service. Valorie :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights just over a week ago. The hotel is situated just around the corner from St Mark's Square, but tucked into a little alley away from the noise and crowds. It is very close to the vaporetto stops, too. We found the staff to be extremely helpful - in our case, with restaurant recommendations and purchase of train tickets. The room and bathroom were quite small, but everything had obviously been thought through carefully to ensure maximum comfort in the space available. The room and the hotel generally were very clean. With the batik room, we also had a cute little balcony, from where you could see the side of the Palazzo Ducale.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Couldn't have been more pleasant - tremendously welcoming and helpful staff, generous breakfast, prime location, excellent value. Rooms small but charming, little patios lovely, and we could even see into the Doge's Palace from our room. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#22 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.