We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great value, delightful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #26 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great value, delightful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Couldn't have been more pleasant - tremendously welcoming and helpful staff, generous breakfast, prime location, excellent value. Rooms small but charming, little patios lovely, and we could even see into the Doge's Palace from our room. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
philadelphia area
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ca' Dei Dogi is a wonderful place to stay in Venice. The location is perfect....tucked away in a back alley, 2 little alleys off of Piazzetta San Marco, adjacent to Piazza San Marco. You can see the top of the back of the Doge's Palace from the rooftop patio. The staff spoke good english, and were very very helpful in arranging restaurants and transportation. The breakfast was ok, a continental breakfast with the addition of fresh made omelets should you want one. The coffee was fresh and they made cappuccinos. If you didn't want the omelet, the rest of the breakfast was just ordinary. If you arrive via the St. Zaccharia water taxi, you have to get your luggage over a couple of footbridges with steps, which is very interesting if you have wheeled luggage or your luggage is heavy. The hotel itself has NO ELEVATOR, so if you are on the 4th floor, it is an issue getting your luggage up and down the stairs, and you going up and down the stairs all the time. I will say, the owner carried our luggage up himself. He would not even hear of us carrying our own luggage (we both just turned 50 and are in good physical condition, so we could have carried it if need be). Same thing with the checkout procedure....someone came up and carried our luggage down. The internet is very spotty in the room...basically the best place to log on is in the common room near the front desk. Room 401, where we were, is a beautiful room. It has a small balcony looking at other homes, but if you look over the railing, you could see the top of the Doge's Palace. The balcony had a cute little table and chair to sit on. The bathroom was very small, but very modern and efficient. The room was also a little small, but had an alcove with window seat when you first walked in. It was actually a reasonable size for a hotel room in Venice. There was an in room safe in the armoire, and the bed was fairly comfortable. The room was quiet at night. The big drawback were those stairs!
The big draw for this hotel is it's cleanliness, friendliness, and LOCATION!! Would go back, but I wouldn't stay on the 4th floor!

Room Tip: room 401 is a great size if you can handle all the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank koala46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is wonderful!!!! You would be foolish not to book this hotel. The rooms are clean, prices are very reasonable (for Venice), and the staff is very helpful. They have a common deck on the roof, which has a table and chairs and umbrella. It is perfect to sit with a bottle of wine and escape the crowds. While resting you can gaze at the back of the Doge's Palace (see pics). At the end of the alley, on which this hotel sits, is literally the Bridge of Sighs (see pictures). This place is so close to everything! Probably one of the best hotels we stayed at during our stay.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, book quickly! A couple rooms have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jenniferday8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A fantastic location, it is one street away from the central area and st marks square. Outside the hotel are alleyways full of restaurants and shops.

Suzana was so helpful and organised many things for us! Breakfast is included and lovely. Rooms are small but you aren't in venice to stay in your room!

A tourist tip, gondola rides were $80euro for 30min or $100 for 45mins. A magical experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sunnyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac Du Bonnet
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Ca' dei Dogi is a great little hotel located near main vaporetta stop and a few steps from the Doges Palace and St Mark's Square. It is quiet and comfortable. Though small by North American standards, the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean as are the common areas. The adjacent restaurant serves a good breakfast and serving hours are convenient. It is an easy to walk to all the main attractions of Venice from this hotel.
We stayed in a room on the third had a small balcony which was a great location for morning coffee and late evening night caps.
The staff was helpfull and accommodating.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a bit claustrophobic - choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This wonderful hotel was our first stop at the beginning of a two week vacation in Italy. We arrived October 31st with a full moon, after dark and in the rain. With the directions to the hotel fading on our ink jet printed page, we arrived as weary and wet travelers. Stefano was there to greet us and explains what would soon be happening - aqua alta! He kept the hotel restaurant open for us which was so kind. The following morning we met Susanna and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. The water was high and Susanna graciously gave me a pair of her boots so I could leave the hotel. Another guest, a lovely British lady, took me to a nearby store to purchase boots for my husband. So off we went to take photos of aqua alta. By mid day the water receded and by mid afternoon we were on our way to our rental apartment in Castello. We would highly recommend this lovely small hotel. Our room was one of the larger ones with a jacuzzi tub and terrace. It was spotless. Don't miss an opportunity to experience Venetian hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the apartment owned and serviced by the hotel. It was absolutely great. Spacious and modern yet within a 16 century building with its entrance just across the alley from the hotel restaurant. The hotel was very easy to locate and is just a few minutes from the vapparetto/alilaguna stop and St Marks Square, yet is very quiet and peaceful. All in all an ideal location. Extremely welcoming and pleasant staff. The apartment enjoys the same services as the main hotel, so cleaning and bed making is done daily and hotel style mini bar and snacks are available to purchase should you so wish. All this with the convenience of self catering facilities too. Yes the apartment is on the 6th floor and there are a number of stairs but this was not a problem despite the fact that we are not exactly in the first flush of youth or indeed all that fit!I don't know what the rooms within the hotel are like but I would highly recommend the apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ecinajmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#22 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#21 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#46 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#13 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#24 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing