We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great value, delightful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #12 of 381 Hotels in Venice
Pittsfield MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great value, delightful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Couldn't have been more pleasant - tremendously welcoming and helpful staff, generous breakfast, prime location, excellent value. Rooms small but charming, little patios lovely, and we could even see into the Doge's Palace from our room. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    83
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
305
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia area
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ca' Dei Dogi is a wonderful place to stay in Venice. The location is perfect....tucked away in a back alley, 2 little alleys off of Piazzetta San Marco, adjacent to Piazza San Marco. You can see the top of the back of the Doge's Palace from the rooftop patio. The staff spoke good english, and were very very helpful in arranging restaurants and transportation. The breakfast was ok, a continental breakfast with the addition of fresh made omelets should you want one. The coffee was fresh and they made cappuccinos. If you didn't want the omelet, the rest of the breakfast was just ordinary. If you arrive via the St. Zaccharia water taxi, you have to get your luggage over a couple of footbridges with steps, which is very interesting if you have wheeled luggage or your luggage is heavy. The hotel itself has NO ELEVATOR, so if you are on the 4th floor, it is an issue getting your luggage up and down the stairs, and you going up and down the stairs all the time. I will say, the owner carried our luggage up himself. He would not even hear of us carrying our own luggage (we both just turned 50 and are in good physical condition, so we could have carried it if need be). Same thing with the checkout procedure....someone came up and carried our luggage down. The internet is very spotty in the room...basically the best place to log on is in the common room near the front desk. Room 401, where we were, is a beautiful room. It has a small balcony looking at other homes, but if you look over the railing, you could see the top of the Doge's Palace. The balcony had a cute little table and chair to sit on. The bathroom was very small, but very modern and efficient. The room was also a little small, but had an alcove with window seat when you first walked in. It was actually a reasonable size for a hotel room in Venice. There was an in room safe in the armoire, and the bed was fairly comfortable. The room was quiet at night. The big drawback were those stairs!
The big draw for this hotel is it's cleanliness, friendliness, and LOCATION!! Would go back, but I wouldn't stay on the 4th floor!

Room Tip: room 401 is a great size if you can handle all the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is wonderful!!!! You would be foolish not to book this hotel. The rooms are clean, prices are very reasonable (for Venice), and the staff is very helpful. They have a common deck on the roof, which has a table and chairs and umbrella. It is perfect to sit with a bottle of wine and escape the crowds. While resting you can gaze at the back of the Doge's Palace (see pics). At the end of the alley, on which this hotel sits, is literally the Bridge of Sighs (see pictures). This place is so close to everything! Probably one of the best hotels we stayed at during our stay.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, book quickly! A couple rooms have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A fantastic location, it is one street away from the central area and st marks square. Outside the hotel are alleyways full of restaurants and shops.

Suzana was so helpful and organised many things for us! Breakfast is included and lovely. Rooms are small but you aren't in venice to stay in your room!

A tourist tip, gondola rides were $80euro for 30min or $100 for 45mins. A magical experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac Du Bonnet
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Ca' dei Dogi is a great little hotel located near main vaporetta stop and a few steps from the Doges Palace and St Mark's Square. It is quiet and comfortable. Though small by North American standards, the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean as are the common areas. The adjacent restaurant serves a good breakfast and serving hours are convenient. It is an easy to walk to all the main attractions of Venice from this hotel.
We stayed in a room on the third had a small balcony which was a great location for morning coffee and late evening night caps.
The staff was helpfull and accommodating.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a bit claustrophobic - choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This wonderful hotel was our first stop at the beginning of a two week vacation in Italy. We arrived October 31st with a full moon, after dark and in the rain. With the directions to the hotel fading on our ink jet printed page, we arrived as weary and wet travelers. Stefano was there to greet us and explains what would soon be happening - aqua alta! He kept the hotel restaurant open for us which was so kind. The following morning we met Susanna and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. The water was high and Susanna graciously gave me a pair of her boots so I could leave the hotel. Another guest, a lovely British lady, took me to a nearby store to purchase boots for my husband. So off we went to take photos of aqua alta. By mid day the water receded and by mid afternoon we were on our way to our rental apartment in Castello. We would highly recommend this lovely small hotel. Our room was one of the larger ones with a jacuzzi tub and terrace. It was spotless. Don't miss an opportunity to experience Venetian hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the apartment owned and serviced by the hotel. It was absolutely great. Spacious and modern yet within a 16 century building with its entrance just across the alley from the hotel restaurant. The hotel was very easy to locate and is just a few minutes from the vapparetto/alilaguna stop and St Marks Square, yet is very quiet and peaceful. All in all an ideal location. Extremely welcoming and pleasant staff. The apartment enjoys the same services as the main hotel, so cleaning and bed making is done daily and hotel style mini bar and snacks are available to purchase should you so wish. All this with the convenience of self catering facilities too. Yes the apartment is on the 6th floor and there are a number of stairs but this was not a problem despite the fact that we are not exactly in the first flush of youth or indeed all that fit!I don't know what the rooms within the hotel are like but I would highly recommend the apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#16 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#49 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.