We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so close, but still quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #18 of 382 hotels in Venice
Commerce Township, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's so close, but still quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is wonderful!!!! You would be foolish not to book this hotel. The rooms are clean, prices are very reasonable (for Venice), and the staff is very helpful. They have a common deck on the roof, which has a table and chairs and umbrella. It is perfect to sit with a bottle of wine and escape the crowds. While resting you can gaze at the back of the Doge's Palace (see pics). At the end of the alley, on which this hotel sits, is literally the Bridge of Sighs (see pictures). This place is so close to everything! Probably one of the best hotels we stayed at during our stay.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, book quickly! A couple rooms have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    83
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
287
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A fantastic location, it is one street away from the central area and st marks square. Outside the hotel are alleyways full of restaurants and shops.

Suzana was so helpful and organised many things for us! Breakfast is included and lovely. Rooms are small but you aren't in venice to stay in your room!

A tourist tip, gondola rides were $80euro for 30min or $100 for 45mins. A magical experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac Du Bonnet
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Ca' dei Dogi is a great little hotel located near main vaporetta stop and a few steps from the Doges Palace and St Mark's Square. It is quiet and comfortable. Though small by North American standards, the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean as are the common areas. The adjacent restaurant serves a good breakfast and serving hours are convenient. It is an easy to walk to all the main attractions of Venice from this hotel.
We stayed in a room on the third had a small balcony which was a great location for morning coffee and late evening night caps.
The staff was helpfull and accommodating.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a bit claustrophobic - choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This wonderful hotel was our first stop at the beginning of a two week vacation in Italy. We arrived October 31st with a full moon, after dark and in the rain. With the directions to the hotel fading on our ink jet printed page, we arrived as weary and wet travelers. Stefano was there to greet us and explains what would soon be happening - aqua alta! He kept the hotel restaurant open for us which was so kind. The following morning we met Susanna and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. The water was high and Susanna graciously gave me a pair of her boots so I could leave the hotel. Another guest, a lovely British lady, took me to a nearby store to purchase boots for my husband. So off we went to take photos of aqua alta. By mid day the water receded and by mid afternoon we were on our way to our rental apartment in Castello. We would highly recommend this lovely small hotel. Our room was one of the larger ones with a jacuzzi tub and terrace. It was spotless. Don't miss an opportunity to experience Venetian hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the apartment owned and serviced by the hotel. It was absolutely great. Spacious and modern yet within a 16 century building with its entrance just across the alley from the hotel restaurant. The hotel was very easy to locate and is just a few minutes from the vapparetto/alilaguna stop and St Marks Square, yet is very quiet and peaceful. All in all an ideal location. Extremely welcoming and pleasant staff. The apartment enjoys the same services as the main hotel, so cleaning and bed making is done daily and hotel style mini bar and snacks are available to purchase should you so wish. All this with the convenience of self catering facilities too. Yes the apartment is on the 6th floor and there are a number of stairs but this was not a problem despite the fact that we are not exactly in the first flush of youth or indeed all that fit!I don't know what the rooms within the hotel are like but I would highly recommend the apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What more can you ask for - Just catch a No1 vaporetto and stop at St Zaccaria, it is then only a 1 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of St Marks to the tranquillity of Ca dei Dogi.

The rooms are compact but spotless. We stayed in the Batik room which had a Queen size bed and a small but effective shower. The room also had a balcony looking at the Doge's Palace dome - a great place to sip a glass of wine at the end of the day. Breakfasts are good and they are willing to cook eggs to your liking.

The owners are wonderful and very happy to spend time helping to plan your visits to Venice’s many attractions.

There is a restaurant on site but I would not recommend eating there. They seem to cater to large tour groups and individual diners end relegated to a dark corner and often forgotten. There are so many wonderful cafes and pizzerias within a 2 minute walk which will give you a more authentic Venetian experience.

We will stay here again when we return to Venice.

Room Tip: We stayed in Batik room - has a lovely little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff. Delicious, more than you can eat breakfast. Small but clean, comfortable, quiet room. Decorated beautifully. Our room had a little patio where we sipped wine before dinner. Close to many sites and easy access to the Alilaguna and vaporetto! Great value!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#56 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list