We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to find and conveniently located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Lac Du Bonnet
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easy to find and conveniently located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Ca' dei Dogi is a great little hotel located near main vaporetta stop and a few steps from the Doges Palace and St Mark's Square. It is quiet and comfortable. Though small by North American standards, the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean as are the common areas. The adjacent restaurant serves a good breakfast and serving hours are convenient. It is an easy to walk to all the main attractions of Venice from this hotel.
We stayed in a room on the third had a small balcony which was a great location for morning coffee and late evening night caps.
The staff was helpfull and accommodating.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a bit claustrophobic - choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This wonderful hotel was our first stop at the beginning of a two week vacation in Italy. We arrived October 31st with a full moon, after dark and in the rain. With the directions to the hotel fading on our ink jet printed page, we arrived as weary and wet travelers. Stefano was there to greet us and explains what would soon be happening - aqua alta! He kept the hotel restaurant open for us which was so kind. The following morning we met Susanna and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. The water was high and Susanna graciously gave me a pair of her boots so I could leave the hotel. Another guest, a lovely British lady, took me to a nearby store to purchase boots for my husband. So off we went to take photos of aqua alta. By mid day the water receded and by mid afternoon we were on our way to our rental apartment in Castello. We would highly recommend this lovely small hotel. Our room was one of the larger ones with a jacuzzi tub and terrace. It was spotless. Don't miss an opportunity to experience Venetian hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the apartment owned and serviced by the hotel. It was absolutely great. Spacious and modern yet within a 16 century building with its entrance just across the alley from the hotel restaurant. The hotel was very easy to locate and is just a few minutes from the vapparetto/alilaguna stop and St Marks Square, yet is very quiet and peaceful. All in all an ideal location. Extremely welcoming and pleasant staff. The apartment enjoys the same services as the main hotel, so cleaning and bed making is done daily and hotel style mini bar and snacks are available to purchase should you so wish. All this with the convenience of self catering facilities too. Yes the apartment is on the 6th floor and there are a number of stairs but this was not a problem despite the fact that we are not exactly in the first flush of youth or indeed all that fit!I don't know what the rooms within the hotel are like but I would highly recommend the apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ecinajmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What more can you ask for - Just catch a No1 vaporetto and stop at St Zaccaria, it is then only a 1 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of St Marks to the tranquillity of Ca dei Dogi.

The rooms are compact but spotless. We stayed in the Batik room which had a Queen size bed and a small but effective shower. The room also had a balcony looking at the Doge's Palace dome - a great place to sip a glass of wine at the end of the day. Breakfasts are good and they are willing to cook eggs to your liking.

The owners are wonderful and very happy to spend time helping to plan your visits to Venice’s many attractions.

There is a restaurant on site but I would not recommend eating there. They seem to cater to large tour groups and individual diners end relegated to a dark corner and often forgotten. There are so many wonderful cafes and pizzerias within a 2 minute walk which will give you a more authentic Venetian experience.

We will stay here again when we return to Venice.

Room Tip: We stayed in Batik room - has a lovely little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff. Delicious, more than you can eat breakfast. Small but clean, comfortable, quiet room. Decorated beautifully. Our room had a little patio where we sipped wine before dinner. Close to many sites and easy access to the Alilaguna and vaporetto! Great value!

Helpful?
3 Thank TraceyLS777
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff were very helpful and understood english very well. Breakfast was good and a good selection. Even though the ground floor flooded they were all still very helpful and continued to serve breakfast in their wellies! They quickly re-arranged trips out so that we didn't waste a day in the flood. Complimentary trip to Merano, excellent and complimentary shuttle to St.Marks square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greyhoundNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived very early in the morning from a cruise ship. Our room was not ready but not a problem. The owner, Susanna, had our luggage taken to the room and then off we went to start exploring. When we returned a couple of hours later the room was ready.
At first view I was a little surprised as to the size of the room, tight, small, confined would be words to describe the room. The bathroom and shower as well did not have much room. We did have a nice balcony with a table and two chairs, great for sitting at the end of the day with a bottle of wine and a block of cheese discussing the day that had been and deciding where to go for supper. Even though the room was small we where able to work around each other.
The pluses of the hotel are it's location, right behind Doges Palace and a very short walk to San Marco. Each morning you start off with a breakfast that surpasses your normal "continental breakfast". A great custom made omlett rounds it off. If you want to eat lunch or dinner at the hotel there is a 10% discount for hotel guests. We had dinner there and it was very good.
Each day we would get Susanna to show us on our map how to see the Venice that the locals know. She would send us to small out the the way wine bars that the tourists don't find. Also places that her and her husband Stefano like to go to such as taking the Vapareto to Burano and San Giorgio.
By the end of our 4 day stay in Venice the hotel had won me over. Yes the room was small but everything else that went with the hotel makes me give it a 5 star review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghostkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#46 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#13 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#22 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#48 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing