We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This wonderful hotel was our first stop at the beginning of a two week vacation in Italy. We arrived October 31st with a full moon, after dark and in the rain. With the directions to the hotel fading on our ink jet printed page, we arrived as weary and wet travelers. Stefano was there to greet us and explains what would soon be happening - aqua alta! He kept the hotel restaurant open for us which was so kind. The following morning we met Susanna and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. The water was high and Susanna graciously gave me a pair of her boots so I could leave the hotel. Another guest, a lovely British lady, took me to a nearby store to purchase boots for my husband. So off we went to take photos of aqua alta. By mid day the water receded and by mid afternoon we were on our way to our rental apartment in Castello. We would highly recommend this lovely small hotel. Our room was one of the larger ones with a jacuzzi tub and terrace. It was spotless. Don't miss an opportunity to experience Venetian hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    85
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
317
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the apartment owned and serviced by the hotel. It was absolutely great. Spacious and modern yet within a 16 century building with its entrance just across the alley from the hotel restaurant. The hotel was very easy to locate and is just a few minutes from the vapparetto/alilaguna stop and St Marks Square, yet is very quiet and peaceful. All in all an ideal location. Extremely welcoming and pleasant staff. The apartment enjoys the same services as the main hotel, so cleaning and bed making is done daily and hotel style mini bar and snacks are available to purchase should you so wish. All this with the convenience of self catering facilities too. Yes the apartment is on the 6th floor and there are a number of stairs but this was not a problem despite the fact that we are not exactly in the first flush of youth or indeed all that fit!I don't know what the rooms within the hotel are like but I would highly recommend the apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What more can you ask for - Just catch a No1 vaporetto and stop at St Zaccaria, it is then only a 1 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of St Marks to the tranquillity of Ca dei Dogi.

The rooms are compact but spotless. We stayed in the Batik room which had a Queen size bed and a small but effective shower. The room also had a balcony looking at the Doge's Palace dome - a great place to sip a glass of wine at the end of the day. Breakfasts are good and they are willing to cook eggs to your liking.

The owners are wonderful and very happy to spend time helping to plan your visits to Venice’s many attractions.

There is a restaurant on site but I would not recommend eating there. They seem to cater to large tour groups and individual diners end relegated to a dark corner and often forgotten. There are so many wonderful cafes and pizzerias within a 2 minute walk which will give you a more authentic Venetian experience.

We will stay here again when we return to Venice.

Room Tip: We stayed in Batik room - has a lovely little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff. Delicious, more than you can eat breakfast. Small but clean, comfortable, quiet room. Decorated beautifully. Our room had a little patio where we sipped wine before dinner. Close to many sites and easy access to the Alilaguna and vaporetto! Great value!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff were very helpful and understood english very well. Breakfast was good and a good selection. Even though the ground floor flooded they were all still very helpful and continued to serve breakfast in their wellies! They quickly re-arranged trips out so that we didn't waste a day in the flood. Complimentary trip to Merano, excellent and complimentary shuttle to St.Marks square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived very early in the morning from a cruise ship. Our room was not ready but not a problem. The owner, Susanna, had our luggage taken to the room and then off we went to start exploring. When we returned a couple of hours later the room was ready.
At first view I was a little surprised as to the size of the room, tight, small, confined would be words to describe the room. The bathroom and shower as well did not have much room. We did have a nice balcony with a table and two chairs, great for sitting at the end of the day with a bottle of wine and a block of cheese discussing the day that had been and deciding where to go for supper. Even though the room was small we where able to work around each other.
The pluses of the hotel are it's location, right behind Doges Palace and a very short walk to San Marco. Each morning you start off with a breakfast that surpasses your normal "continental breakfast". A great custom made omlett rounds it off. If you want to eat lunch or dinner at the hotel there is a 10% discount for hotel guests. We had dinner there and it was very good.
Each day we would get Susanna to show us on our map how to see the Venice that the locals know. She would send us to small out the the way wine bars that the tourists don't find. Also places that her and her husband Stefano like to go to such as taking the Vapareto to Burano and San Giorgio.
By the end of our 4 day stay in Venice the hotel had won me over. Yes the room was small but everything else that went with the hotel makes me give it a 5 star review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Charming hotel with wonderful staff. My family had a great time, we could walk out of the hotel into the narrow streets of Venice. Just round the corner from the doges palace and many more attractions. Breakfast was a delight with much more than you could possibly consume, and the best till last was being woken my church bells every morning. A must if visiting Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#34 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.