We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ca' Dei Dogi Won Me Over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Save Saved
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #14 of 382 hotels in Venice
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ca' Dei Dogi Won Me Over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived very early in the morning from a cruise ship. Our room was not ready but not a problem. The owner, Susanna, had our luggage taken to the room and then off we went to start exploring. When we returned a couple of hours later the room was ready.
At first view I was a little surprised as to the size of the room, tight, small, confined would be words to describe the room. The bathroom and shower as well did not have much room. We did have a nice balcony with a table and two chairs, great for sitting at the end of the day with a bottle of wine and a block of cheese discussing the day that had been and deciding where to go for supper. Even though the room was small we where able to work around each other.
The pluses of the hotel are it's location, right behind Doges Palace and a very short walk to San Marco. Each morning you start off with a breakfast that surpasses your normal "continental breakfast". A great custom made omlett rounds it off. If you want to eat lunch or dinner at the hotel there is a 10% discount for hotel guests. We had dinner there and it was very good.
Each day we would get Susanna to show us on our map how to see the Venice that the locals know. She would send us to small out the the way wine bars that the tourists don't find. Also places that her and her husband Stefano like to go to such as taking the Vapareto to Burano and San Giorgio.
By the end of our 4 day stay in Venice the hotel had won me over. Yes the room was small but everything else that went with the hotel makes me give it a 5 star review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    83
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
295
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Charming hotel with wonderful staff. My family had a great time, we could walk out of the hotel into the narrow streets of Venice. Just round the corner from the doges palace and many more attractions. Breakfast was a delight with much more than you could possibly consume, and the best till last was being woken my church bells every morning. A must if visiting Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

What more can you ask for - Just catch a No1 vaporetto and stop at St Zaccaria, it is then only a 1 minute walk from the hussle & bussle of St Marks to the tranquility of Ca dei Dogi.

The rooms are compact but spotless. We stayed in the Batik room which had a Queen size bed and a small but effective shower. The room also had a balcony looking at the Doge's Palace dome - a great place to sip a glass of wine at the end of the day. Breakfasts are good and they are willing to cook eggs to your liking.

The owners are wonderful and very happy to spent time helping to plan your visits to Venices many attractions.

There is a restaurant on site but I would not recommend eating there. They seem to cater to large tour groups and individual diners end relegated to a dark corner and often forgotten. There are so many wonderful cafes and pizzarias within a 2 minute walk which will give you a more authentic Venetian experience.

We will stay here again when we return to Venice.

Room Tip: We liked the Batik room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The owner of this hotel was so helpful and although my room was tiny, the location was fantastic. Moments away from St Marks Square and with very stylish decor, a wonderful retreat from the August hordes in Venice.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October and loved it. The staff were extremely warm, friendly and helpful! It is tucked away in a fantastic location... even though you were in the middle of Venice it was still quiet. Breakfast each morning was great too! The hotel restaurant was nice too and the waiters were very entertaining and friendly. There is a lovely rooftop terrace to enjoy. The rooms were cosy and clean. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing experience - we stayed in the apartment and although up six flights of stairs with a husband who had a partial knee replacement 3 weeks ago it was worth every bit of effort. All the staff were warm friendly and helpful to a fault. The apartment was so clean and so spacious we took the opportunity to buy bread,cheese and wine and sit on the terrace in the sun watching the visitors in the Doges Palace.
So want to stay again thank you Suzanne and Stefano.
I have not given full stars for value as this is Venice - but in every way it did not disapoint.

Room Tip: The apartment whilst a steep climb is worth it due to the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After arriving by water taxi from the airport we had a short walk down two alley ways to find this small gem. Tucked away and nice and quiet, this well located hotel was a great place to stay in Venice close to San Marco Square. Breakfast was adequate in the morning, as well we ate at the hotel restaurant the first night and had a very pleasurable meal. Admittedly the room was small but we knew this going in, very clean and nice though, we also had our own little private patio off our room which was pretty cool, also had fridge and safe and small LCD TV. Greeted very warmly when we arrived and offered a nice glass of sparking wine, overall a good experience and would recommend this small yet quaint hotel for your visit to Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio if you want, not many rooms so a phone call or email will be needed to communicate w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#18 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#72 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.