We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel in the heart of Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great little hotel in the heart of Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

A nice, clean hotel only 5 minutes walk from San Marco, and for me, a room overlooking the Doges' jail cells. Friendly staff and good service. Breakfast was really good (especially for the price), with a fresh omelette each morning. One of those hotels where you just feel so pleased you happened to pick that one (on TripAdvisor of course!)

Be aware the single room is very tiny. Defintiely no room to swing even a small cat. But it's clean, and beautifully appointed. I didn't have any issues with it, but it's worth being aware of if that's important to you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Avila Beach, Ca.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Four of us, two couples, stayed here Oct. 2011. From the airport we took Alilaguna Blue Line public water taxi to the San Zaccaria stop. (One stop before San Marcos stop). The cost was E15 euros per person. The ride was very pleasant and took about 45 - 50 minutes. When you exit the water taxi turn left (towards St. Marks square) go over one bridge (ponte). Prior to reaching the Bridge of Sighs the narrow street/alley Calle degli Albanesi is on your right. Half a block down Albanesi, left at the first corner and there is the hotel. Easy to find! The rooms were very clean, although typically small. Location is within easy walking distance of everything - we walked a lot. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and the breakfast, including a hot omelette each morning, was really good. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndiamoBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Ca' De Dogi was such a great find in Venice. Just a few steps from St. Marks and always quiet at night. My Wife and I stayed from October 9-11, 2011 in the Double Economy Room. The room was really well decorated and very clean. Even though it is not a big room, it never felt too small, not sure about the other rooms in the hotel. All the help was great at the hotel. Suzane helped us check in for our flight home, ordered a water taxi and where to get a good gondola ride. Take advantage of the 10% off dinner or lunch at taverna de dogi. Great breakfast too. We had some bad luck with other Venice restaurants, but this one was good. However, it was not always open when they said it would be. There are alot of stairs in the hotel but they carry the luggage up for you. From the San Zaccaria water bus stop, it is very close, albeit a little bit confusing to find. I would avoid staying in the ground floor room, it is right by the front desk. Overall, we loved the hotel and would definitely return! All the good reviews are justified, I was so glad to find in via trip Advisor!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhtrips333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western US
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Ca' dei Dogi was one of those special finds that travelers (rarely) experience. Friendly, clean, modern, and quiet. My only concern as I read through TA is that the rooms might be too small. However, the Superior room we were in (top floor) had enough space to feel open. I don't know about the size of the other rooms, but our's was great. The pictures of the Superior room on their website is an accurate view of the comfortable setting.

One of the best surprises is the suddenly drop of noise and people, only a couple minutes walk from the maelstrom on San Marco piazza. The throngs of tourist are distant memories at the Ca' dei Dogi.

The hotel's staff was refreshingly friendly and helpful.

A note about the stairs: My wife and I are in our mid 50s, and the stairs didn't cause any concern. The hotel staff carried our luggage up to our rooms, so there was no extra hassle.

Breakfast is typical, with the regular juices, pastries and breads already at your table. You then have the option of having an omelet cooked for you. As some mentioned in previous reviews, this isn't a buffet breakfast, but I usually had all I wanted to eat anyway. If I wanted an extra pastry or juice I just asked.

Our travel companions stayed in the apartment, which is just across the alley from the main hotel. The room is usually double the cost, but I got it for the same rate when I booked both rooms together. The apartment is very spacious, with separate kitchen/dining and sleeping areas. It also has a very nice balcony where we enjoyed an evening meal by ourselves. But be aware of the stairs for the apartment: It's on the top (7th in US) floor, and is quite a hike. The apartment would fit four people comfortably, but the extra double bed seems like it would be more comfortable with kids.

The only little concern I have is the WiFi connection. Where we were staying the connection was dodgy. However, our travel companions in the apartment had a constant strong signal. Not a big issue, though. We’d just go down to the lobby where the WiFi was strong, or use the computer provided in the lobby.

Next time we're in Venice, we will definitely stay at the Ca' dei Dogi.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Superior room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were given a double room for the first night and the apartment at 6 th floor for 2nd and 3rd day. it was perfect and we definitely fell in love with the apartment. The apartment was nicely decorated with a beautiful little balcony and it was very clean. But what really made this place was the staff. We were greeted every morning by Susanna and she was very helpful. Even though there's no lift in the building and we need to climb up and down to/from 6th floor at least twice everyday, nevertheless we never felt tired every time we opened the door to the apartment. One more thing, great location too!!!! We really enjoyed our stay with Ca Dei Dogi in Venice and we made a promise to each other that we will be back again for our 10th anniversary :)

Room Tip: The apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Ca' dei Dogi and mostly enjoyed it. The staff are lovely - very friendly and helpful. The hotel is wonderfully positioned - a few yards from the quayside and about 5 minutes walk from St Marks Square but hidden away in a little square - the roof terrace has a view onto the back of the Doge's Palace. The room was quite small but well equipped, with tea and coffee making facilities as well as all the usual amenities. The bathroom was beautiful, large with a great walk-in shower, lovely marble tiles, and very clean and well-maintained. The breakfast was good if a little eccentric - you are served with a selection of everything rather than picking things yourself - but everything is provided including omelettes, fresh fruit, yogurt, and pastries.

Only downsides are that it is expensive for the size of room, although comparable with other hotels nearby. Also, we were on the top (third) floor and the stairs are really steep - I am only 5ft tall and it was a real climb! If you don't like stairs, ask for a room lower down when you book!!

Room Tip: Stairs are steep but views better from top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Hidden away but in a very central location with very helpful owners/staff. Would recommend the apartment with its own terrace and Palace views if you can manage the 80 or so steps!
The owners let us use room 101 to change in before our evening flight - yes it is small and to be avoided - and the owners do know it so only use in emergencies.

Room Tip: Just avoid 101, and try the apartment if you can manage 80 steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litchsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,917 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#46 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#13 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#24 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#47 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing