We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel in the heart of Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Save Saved
You added Ca' dei Dogi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #14 of 382 hotels in Venice
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great little hotel in the heart of Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

A nice, clean hotel only 5 minutes walk from San Marco, and for me, a room overlooking the Doges' jail cells. Friendly staff and good service. Breakfast was really good (especially for the price), with a fresh omelette each morning. One of those hotels where you just feel so pleased you happened to pick that one (on TripAdvisor of course!)

Be aware the single room is very tiny. Defintiely no room to swing even a small cat. But it's clean, and beautifully appointed. I didn't have any issues with it, but it's worth being aware of if that's important to you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    83
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
295
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avila Beach, Ca.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Four of us, two couples, stayed here Oct. 2011. From the airport we took Alilaguna Blue Line public water taxi to the San Zaccaria stop. (One stop before San Marcos stop). The cost was E15 euros per person. The ride was very pleasant and took about 45 - 50 minutes. When you exit the water taxi turn left (towards St. Marks square) go over one bridge (ponte). Prior to reaching the Bridge of Sighs the narrow street/alley Calle degli Albanesi is on your right. Half a block down Albanesi, left at the first corner and there is the hotel. Easy to find! The rooms were very clean, although typically small. Location is within easy walking distance of everything - we walked a lot. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and the breakfast, including a hot omelette each morning, was really good. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Ca' De Dogi was such a great find in Venice. Just a few steps from St. Marks and always quiet at night. My Wife and I stayed from October 9-11, 2011 in the Double Economy Room. The room was really well decorated and very clean. Even though it is not a big room, it never felt too small, not sure about the other rooms in the hotel. All the help was great at the hotel. Suzane helped us check in for our flight home, ordered a water taxi and where to get a good gondola ride. Take advantage of the 10% off dinner or lunch at taverna de dogi. Great breakfast too. We had some bad luck with other Venice restaurants, but this one was good. However, it was not always open when they said it would be. There are alot of stairs in the hotel but they carry the luggage up for you. From the San Zaccaria water bus stop, it is very close, albeit a little bit confusing to find. I would avoid staying in the ground floor room, it is right by the front desk. Overall, we loved the hotel and would definitely return! All the good reviews are justified, I was so glad to find in via trip Advisor!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western US
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Ca' dei Dogi was one of those special finds that travelers (rarely) experience. Friendly, clean, modern, and quiet. My only concern as I read through TA is that the rooms might be too small. However, the Superior room we were in (top floor) had enough space to feel open. I don't know about the size of the other rooms, but our's was great. The pictures of the Superior room on their website is an accurate view of the comfortable setting.

One of the best surprises is the suddenly drop of noise and people, only a couple minutes walk from the maelstrom on San Marco piazza. The throngs of tourist are distant memories at the Ca' dei Dogi.

The hotel's staff was refreshingly friendly and helpful.

A note about the stairs: My wife and I are in our mid 50s, and the stairs didn't cause any concern. The hotel staff carried our luggage up to our rooms, so there was no extra hassle.

Breakfast is typical, with the regular juices, pastries and breads already at your table. You then have the option of having an omelet cooked for you. As some mentioned in previous reviews, this isn't a buffet breakfast, but I usually had all I wanted to eat anyway. If I wanted an extra pastry or juice I just asked.

Our travel companions stayed in the apartment, which is just across the alley from the main hotel. The room is usually double the cost, but I got it for the same rate when I booked both rooms together. The apartment is very spacious, with separate kitchen/dining and sleeping areas. It also has a very nice balcony where we enjoyed an evening meal by ourselves. But be aware of the stairs for the apartment: It's on the top (7th in US) floor, and is quite a hike. The apartment would fit four people comfortably, but the extra double bed seems like it would be more comfortable with kids.

The only little concern I have is the WiFi connection. Where we were staying the connection was dodgy. However, our travel companions in the apartment had a constant strong signal. Not a big issue, though. We’d just go down to the lobby where the WiFi was strong, or use the computer provided in the lobby.

Next time we're in Venice, we will definitely stay at the Ca' dei Dogi.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Superior room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were given a double room for the first night and the apartment at 6 th floor for 2nd and 3rd day. it was perfect and we definitely fell in love with the apartment. The apartment was nicely decorated with a beautiful little balcony and it was very clean. But what really made this place was the staff. We were greeted every morning by Susanna and she was very helpful. Even though there's no lift in the building and we need to climb up and down to/from 6th floor at least twice everyday, nevertheless we never felt tired every time we opened the door to the apartment. One more thing, great location too!!!! We really enjoyed our stay with Ca Dei Dogi in Venice and we made a promise to each other that we will be back again for our 10th anniversary :)

Room Tip: The apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Ca' dei Dogi and mostly enjoyed it. The staff are lovely - very friendly and helpful. The hotel is wonderfully positioned - a few yards from the quayside and about 5 minutes walk from St Marks Square but hidden away in a little square - the roof terrace has a view onto the back of the Doge's Palace. The room was quite small but well equipped, with tea and coffee making facilities as well as all the usual amenities. The bathroom was beautiful, large with a great walk-in shower, lovely marble tiles, and very clean and well-maintained. The breakfast was good if a little eccentric - you are served with a selection of everything rather than picking things yourself - but everything is provided including omelettes, fresh fruit, yogurt, and pastries.

Only downsides are that it is expensive for the size of room, although comparable with other hotels nearby. Also, we were on the top (third) floor and the stairs are really steep - I am only 5ft tall and it was a real climb! If you don't like stairs, ask for a room lower down when you book!!

Room Tip: Stairs are steep but views better from top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Hidden away but in a very central location with very helpful owners/staff. Would recommend the apartment with its own terrace and Palace views if you can manage the 80 or so steps!
The owners let us use room 101 to change in before our evening flight - yes it is small and to be avoided - and the owners do know it so only use in emergencies.

Room Tip: Just avoid 101, and try the apartment if you can manage 80 steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#16 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#73 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' dei Dogi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.