We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in a jewel of a city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Acquavita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Acquavita to your Saves list
Locanda Acquavita
Calle Venier, 4852, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in a jewel of a city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Venice does not disappoint and neither did Locanda Acquavita. My husband and I stayed in the Murano room for our honeymoon. It was amazing. I booked online and requested a room with a canal view and they were sure to make sure I got what I wanted.

The rooms are spacious and the beds are huge and comfy. The area is pretty quiet but I do think there is a school near by so if you have your windows open you can hear the children going to school and boats passing by. We personally thought it was part of the charm.

It is a little bit of walk from any of the touristy sites but easily accessible via the water bus.

On our trip this was probably one of the best values we had. I have great memories of our stay here and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    39
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
82
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed in SAndrea room and our friends in the Burano room. Floors, bathroom,sheets..spotless...could dust the light fixtures....2 minute walk from the water taxi, wonderful quiet neighboorhood, wine waiting in the rooms as both celebrating wedding anniversaries...breakfast just packaged but wonderful coffee and juice served with a smile...some may not like distance from crowds...we loved it!!!! yes, shower is small but bathroom is very clean...I will go back and I think you shoulkd go there TOO! I think a very good value for a clean, safe place to go. Neighboorhood shops so much better than near the "big" attractions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

As unique and interesting as Venice can be, travelling in July meant we were very greatful for A/C and the opportunity to close the windows and take a break from the Venitian environment while getting some rest. We did not spend much time in the rooms, but they were fun with ornate furnishings and big Murano glass chandeliers. One of the bathrooms just had the "hole in the floor" shower which was OK for a single person, but we preferred our room with the shower stall and basin.
Breakfast was small and simple, but it was brough to us in our room on a lovely tray. The staff allowed us to leave our bags in their foyer the next morning so we could explore some more and then pick them up later in the afternoon when we departed.
The staff was quite congenial, however, be advised that you MUST call them when you arrive in town because they do not man the front desk. We showed up at the front door at the specified time and it was locked. We were very fortunate that our cell phone would work and we were able to contact them. About a half hour later they arrived and let us in.
They did give us good directions to find the hotel, it's just a fact of Venice that everything is hard to find! But the location is right by a bridge on the canal and it's a quiet and charming neighborhood with good restaurants and a reasonable walk to St. Mark's and all of the many sights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Grande, MS
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Other hotels in Venice were too expensive. This was a very comfortable B&B with a fair price. It's 20 min. walk from San Marco. You have the option to take the vaporetto in a station very close. Breakfast is served in the room - not the best, but fair. Rooms are in the 1st floor - as we had much luggage it was a problem. The room was large, comfortable and romantic. Staff was very gentle. In the last day we were leaving at 5:00 a.m. - before breakfast. The owners left everything prepared for us the night before (except for the coffe, of course), which I was really not expecting.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Lovely small hotel in the heart of Venezia next to a canal and close to Vaporetto stop.
Staff is very helpful; but basically you are alone (=not disturbed) in the hotel 20h/24h.
Watchout: it is very romantic to be next to the canal but can be very noisy.
Opportunities for the hotel: shower could be bigger (it is really small!) and bed was too soft for me.
Bottom line: I would stay there again; perfect value!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Just returned home from a five day stay in Venice at this lovely little B&B in cannaregio.

Booking was straight forward and we were able to request a specific room. We chose the Murano after reading reviews on here and we weren't disappointed.

The Murano room is the gold/red themed one on the website photos and looks just as it is illustrated. The bed is large and relatively comfortable. It was very quiet at night and we slept very well. The room is clean and the bathroom also very clean and looks newly decorated. Its the nicest and largest bathroom/room I have ever stayed in in Italy. This is the benefit of staying slightly outside the central tourist area I guess.

Breakfast was a tray brought into the room of coffee, fruit juice, a selection of pre packaged rolls and butter/jam. It was basic but enough. We did find it useful to use the minibar fridge to keep little extras to top up breakfast. Cooked meats and bread rolls are easily bought from local shops. We sometimes added these to breakfast to ensure we weren't hungry until later in the afternoon. Opening the large windows and sitting overlooking the canal while eating breakfast was a fab way to start the day!

The general area of cannareggio was one of my favourites in Venice. The quieter residential areas give a nicer taste of venice than the overcrowded tourist areas. I found Cannareggio to be a very relaxing place, and easy access to the surrounding islands added to the relaxation of the holiday. However we did visit the main tourist attractions which were all a short walk away.

Would return to this B&B in a heartbeat if I returned to Venice and would definitely recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed at the Locanda for three nights... we took the water bus to the Fondamente Nove stop, it was easy find from there... the concierge stayed until we arrived, we were much later than we anticipated... and were very pleased to have been welcomed upon our arrival. The room looks exactly like the pictures on web site, except you don't get the entire vision of the windows... they are huge... three huge windows in the Murano room...two in the bedroom and one in the bath... a modern three piece bath. Everything was super clean and cozy. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked great, very important after, very hot days of walking, Breakfast was adequate, crossants, juice, jams, butter, cookies...but... the best capuccino that we had on our trip... not sure how she did it... but it was tasty... we felt very much at home in the Locanda Aquavita. The staff was very friendly, and helped us make arrangements for a water taxi back to the mainland... (which was well worth the extra money). For our experience we felt very safe at the Locanda. The staff are extremely honest and trustworthy... they went the extra mile for us... I left behind a very sentimental item and they found it and returned it to me in North America as well as an extra gift. We thank the Locanda for the wonderful hospitality and for the wonderful memories... I would recommend staying here. I have already recommended the place to my family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Acquavita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Acquavita

Address: Calle Venier, 4852, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Acquavita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Acquavita Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Acquavita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.