We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT place to stay- Very romantic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza del Doge

Residenza del Doge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residenza del Doge
Save
You added Residenza del Doge to your Saves list
Borgoloco Pompeo Molmenti 6114, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“GREAT place to stay- Very romantic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nicoleta was very nice and accommodating! We arrived late in Venice, and yes, the trek to the hotel required some navigation but it was actually quite fun to wander through our map! Just be willing to ask questions on the way! When we finally found the hotel, we were VERY pleased with the quiet, less crowded location. It was very romantic, and the room was excellent. Beautiful woodwork, and the canal view made it even more charming. Big room, big bathroom, lots of storage space, and windows with view of the canal in bedroom and bathroom. We were very pleased with the room and even sacrificed an entire afternoon of site-seeing to stay in the room and enjoy Venice from there. The breakfast was nice, as well. I highly recommend this place. I was actually a little nervous because of previous reviews, and I suspected the lower price compared to other hotels in Venice to match quality, but it was actually very charming.
My only complaint is that I had Nicoleta mail my diamond earrings on a Tuesday to my next hotel and told her we'd be checking out of the next place on Saturday so they MUST arrive there, but she waited until Friday, the day before, to mail them, charged me $30, and of course they didn't arrive until we were on our way back to the US. It was very frustrating and I thought this to be of very low service quality. When I asked her about the confusion through several emails, she failed to respond to any of them. However, the actual stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    5
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This B&B is not worth your time or money. Even though it is located on a canal and had breathtaking views, the rooms are run-down, smelly and dirty! Our bathroom tub had mold, the sink hadn't been cleaned and the towels felt more like brillo pads. The location of the B&B is perfect; not far from central canal and a quick walk to St. Marco Square. Everything is in walking distance! The breakfast in the morning is good but the same each and every day; there was no variety. While the staff was very nice and helpful, the B&B should be shut down and condemned it is that filthy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We booked this B&B through budgetplaces.com. We paid our deposit and got our reference number. We thought all was fine. We fly all the way to venice and took the long trek to the B&B. Although beautiful scenery and very excited by our stay we were met by a lady at the B&B who said to us SORRY YOU CANT STAY, WE MADE A MIX UP I HAVE A PARTY OF PEOPLE STAYING HERE NOW AND I HAVE NO ROOM. She then took us to a hotel around the corner called Hotel scandinavia (at least she didnt leave us stranded). This hotel was ok but the breakfast was awful. This is why we booked a b&b over a hotel as we wanted a more personal italian feel to our trip. We still had to pay the full money aswell!!
Be wary of this B&B as they didnt even let me know that we couldnt stay!!
Helen & Chris

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Unfortunately we had forgotten to print out a map before coming to Venice and without a map, this place is impossible to find without the help of a couple of friendly Venetians. The B&B is not extremely close to the station or a waterbus stop but it is in a great location for sightseeing and in a really nice neighborhood. We stayed in the double bedroom with canal view and thoroughly enjoyed watching all the boats and gondolas go by. This comes with a little bit of noise though, which we didn't mind at all. The room is charming really and very romantic. The breakfast was great and we felt very welcomed by our hostess. I would definitely recommend this place for your stay in Venice!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed in the double room because it had a view of the canal. We felt that the room was great for the price we were paying! The location was good - we printed out a google map to find it with no problems. The hosts were lovely and the breakfast really good. I would recommend this B&B to the budget traveller

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We booked a canal view room and was put in a large king size room our first night of our stay for some reason. It didn't have a view but the room was pleasant aside from a disturbing continuous odor we think was the sewer. We later learned that it is a common smell in Venice. We much preferred the smaller canal view room. It had no odor. It was fun and interesting watching traffic on the small canal. If you want a super quiet room, this room may not be good for you as the water taxis have to back up to make the turn on the canal. We loved it and found the activity on the water part of the charm of Venice. The owners were wonderful and the breakfast the best we had on our entire trip through Italy. It was exactly what we wanted for our stay in Venice. Our room had internet but the connection was best in the hall. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We started our trip in Italy with Venice and we weren't disappointed by this place. It was a bit tricky to find (like anything in Venice, really!) but was worth it. The breakfast was the best one we had among the 10 other places we tried in Italy. The room was large, very well maintained and had a nice view on the canal next to the building. It's located in the heart of Venice, close to the Rialto bridge and the San Marco Piazza. The owners were really helpful and sympathetic!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza del Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Doge

Address: Borgoloco Pompeo Molmenti 6114, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed & Breakfast is located in one of the more peaceful parts of Venice, but in spite of that is just a few minutes away from St. Mark's Square , the Rialto Bridge and from the main streets of the city. Our guests will be greeted with a warm welcome, to make them feel at home, as they discover the beauty of a typical Venetian apartment, in a ancient palace. Our Bed. & Breakfast offers also a grand living-room. Our rooms are decorated to a very good standard with private bah and air condition to make our guests feel ease and to make their holiday unforgettable. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza del Doge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.