We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, management, staff, and ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Altieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Altieri to your Saves list
Hotel Altieri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Altinia 51, 30030 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #304 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing service, management, staff, and ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a family hotel which is friendly, clean, affordable and value for money which ticked the boxes for us they had good breakfast spread which included cereal, yogurt, eggs, breads, jam, butter, cheeses, salami, ham, fruit juice, tea and coffee and free wireless internet access. We recommend this hotel, the buses to Venice and the airport are just a stone's throw from the hotel. Buses are regular. Bus fares to the airport and Venice were less than 2 euros. We were out till late at night and we got buses home.


We stayed for 4 nights 12 August to 16 August our daughter came to join us and it was no problem for the management to transfer us to a family room. We would stay in this place again.
Rose Coventry, UK

Room Tip: We stayes on the 2nd floor, we had a Large room with a balcony. The area is quiet ,so a good night s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    71
    57
    15
    28
See reviews for
41
107
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'll make it short. I had a reservation for this hotel for July 5th. Could not get a train ticket to Venice for that day so wrote to the manager asking to change my reservation for the next day. He did receive my message ok.
Me and my wife arrived a 10:00 am on July 6th and were told by the woman at the desk that the room was not ready and to come back at 2:00 pm. When we did, the owner of the place said he would charge us for the "no show day"!!
No towels in the room. Again the woman at the desk said the towels were not included in our price and so we had to pay €2 for each towel!!
When the bill came the owner charged another 5 % for some " tax" that was not in the billñ he gave us but he still charged the "tax" over the price agreed.
Bad manners, bad people!

Room Tip: Do not go there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was a forest of a hotel...they never fixed/repaired unclogged the one and only bathroom in the room sink...It was filled with water from everything necessary to be completed in a bathroom sink. The breakfast was more than humble...they had very minimal air conditioning that only worked when your room key was inserted...hence you can't leave it in the room when departed. They turned the air off at night but the lack of air circulating from the outside made it very uncomfortable. We have traveled quick extensively throughout Europe and enjoy staying at neighborhood centric locations to get the feel of the area but this was a terrible pick...buyer beware...I have warned you!

Room Tip: choose another location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAGENHAM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed one night sat 16 june on return from cruise.
Rooms very dreary and uninviting, half the light bulbs didnt work or the bedside lamp.
Breakfast very poor i know its a continental breakfast but choich of cerial was coco pops or cornflakes.no fruit in sight wot so ever,no eggs of any type perhaps expected at least a boiled egg.
Location not great but right near bus stop and easy ride into venice so didnt think that was too bad.
Another disturbing thing was seeing a turtle stuck in a small cage in the corner it was trying to climb the sides and keep falling on its back it was obviously very distressed which quite upset my wife
The one good thing is it has nice modern bathrooms.
Dont know how this ever reached four stars on your review

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Ended up here because their another hotel ( hotel Da Tito ) was overbooked. Not as good a location as the one I was supposed to stay. Bus service every 15 minutes and can take upto 25 minutes. Owner was helpful ( but not his son who transported us from Da Tito to this hotel). Breakfast choice was limited.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I had booked this hotel 3 weeks before(confirmed booking) for 2 nights.when I reached the hotel with my family the owner was firstly busy attending the computer and did not pay any heed to us.Afterwards when we told him our confirmed booking he told us rudely that our child would be charged 20 Euros more per night in the same double room as she was 3.5 years old and the child would be using Water,Shower and having food! So Terrible.We explained him that this was something not fair as this had not been done anywhere and before this we had been to Frankfurt,Munich and Rome and every one had been so nice.On this he cancelled our booking with in no time and gave it to some persons in the Hotel lobby at a higher price.Then we came to know that it was a peak season and the hotels were in great demand and he wanted more money .Afterwards he shifted us to a hotel appx 3 kms away which is his another hotel(VIlla Crispi) at a higher rate of 88 Euros per night compared to the initial booking of 63 Euros as we had no other choice.The room was very small,dirty,No Reception The breakfast was pathetic with hard bread and only Jam.We had a terrible experience with his hotel owner who really spoiled our trip to venice and I would recommend not to fall in his trap as he can go to any extent to overcharge.Moreover the hotel is at the extreme end of Maestre with 25 minutes distance by tram from Maestre railway station.The owner and his family is really unfriendly,Rude,and Very-Very Arrogant and Money Minded.There are good hotels in Venice at a same or lesser rate with convenient Location.Better Stay away from this Hotel if you want to Enjoy Venice

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Altieri for three nights in May 2012. It's a little way out of Venice but we chose it primarily because we were travelling by car and wanted to avoid the hassle of parking near the Piazzale Roma and dragging our luggage to a hotel in the centre. We were glad that we made the choice. It's reasonably priced, had ample free parking, an adequate included breakfast, and friendly service. Our only niggle was that the free wifi in the public areas was a bit erratic - it only seemed to work if there were a limited number of people on the system at one time. But with a bit of patience it worked out all right. The room was fine.

We didn't find the trip into Venice difficult. The no 19 bus goes from the corner near the hotel pretty regularly and takes about 20 minutes or so to get to the main transport hub at Piazzale Roma, from where you can either walk (another 20-25 minutes) or take the vaporetto ferry to San Marco Square. When you first take the bus you have to get a ticket from the tobacconist before boarding; but if you happen to arrive on a Sunday as we did you can buy the ticket on the bus - 2.50 euros one way. When you get to Piazzale Roma, it's best to get a transport card at the ticket office, for 24, 36 or 48 hours etc. These cover all forms of transport including buses and ferries and are a lot cheaper than buying separate tickets. The no 19 bus back to the hotel goes until about 11pm (best to check) but if you miss the last one you can get a no 4 bus which seems to go much later but on a slightly longer route.

We had a good and reasonably priced Italian meal at a restaurant half way between the Rialto bridge and San Marco's square, which was a bit off the beaten track and had a predominantly Italian clientele. It was called Ristorante Al Vagon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Altieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altieri

Address: Via Altinia 51, 30030 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altieri 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Altieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altieri Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Altieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.