We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disapointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alloggi al Mercante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alloggi al Mercante to your Saves list
Alloggi al Mercante
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   San Polo, 1770, 30123 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very disapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

we were very looking forward to staying in this hotel as we had booked the suite for one night and after spending the previous week camping we were really looking forward to a bed! However to say we were disappointed would be an understatement, the first thing we discovered in our room was that our bed sheet was all covered in blood!! This was not the most pleasant of sights and hardly the health conscious either! Secondly a mini - bar had been advertised on the website but all we got was an empty fridge and there also seemed to be a problem with the draining system. When you are paying a lot of money you expect to get what you are paying for!! Although the room itself was lovely and we did we did recieve a 20 euro discount it just simply wasn't good enough!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel was only a short walk from the Rialto Bridge and the big fish and produce market. The hotel served a continental breakfast, but we opted to go to one of the many quaint cafes nearby. The hotel is relatively easy to find for Venice, just a short walk from the water taxi station and we felt very safe there. The rooms were very spacious for Italy's standards. We didn't have a waterview, but it didn't matter as we were always out. This isn't a full-service hotel, so don't expect room service or bellman.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

First of all, no one knew where the hotel was, the road that it's on apparently changes names 3 times, so we took about an hour looking for the place.

When we got there, it was beautiful. You can tell it was newly renovated and just absolutely more than what I expected. There are NO ELEVATORS and the stairs are EXTREMELY steep. So PACK LIGHT....The air kicks in after a while but it is rather humid in the rooms. All seemed well until it was night time. We were about to go to bed when I realized there were bugs everywhere!! I stayed in room 103.There were these Wood louse or God knows what crawling on the ceilings, walls and floors!!! They looked like prehistoric trilobites and there were silverfish and mosquitos. I probably killed about 10 of those "trilobite" things and 5 mosquitos. The door guy (from the Phillippines) is very nice but he is hardly EVER at his desk so be prepared to wait around a bit or yell Excusi Signori!

Also, their phone lines are not connected so...good luck finding a phone if you need one.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C4clev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I never got to stay at this place. I booked a single room for 2 nights and the booking was confirmed. Only one day ahead of my arrival I got a mail that said Urgent reminder. (Reminder???) They then informed me that no room was available but they had booked me into a similar hotel instead. Only that this "similar" hotel was way off in Arsenale, which I don't consider similar at all. I got really pissed off and really was under pressure to find a room closer to everything. Really bad behaviour from this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnicaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

I travelled to Venice with my wife and daughter and so booked a triple room for 180 Euro. We only had two nights in Venice so we preferred to stay in town and not to have to travel to and from the Lido, where prices are lower. Venice is expensive and so the price was really OK for a location so close to the center of town. An easy walk to the Rialto and another 10 minutes to St. Mark's. A few restaurants very nearby, including a Chinese one that was open late so even though we arrived at 11:00PM we could still get food. Many restaurants near the Rialto. Take into account that they get pricey if they are on the Grand Canal. We had room 104 which is actually a two room suite with a modern bathroom (shower). There are 54 (!!!) steep stairs to climb to the first floor (rooms 101-104) and they were NOT fun but they did not take away from the advantages of location and clean rooms. As others have written, breakfast is practically nothing but it was OK to start the day (you spend a lot of time in coffee shops in Italy anyway). The receptionist could have been more helpful but again, the stay was definitely worth it. I would go back again (with less luggage :) next time)

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

This hotel was very central to the Rialto Bridge and fish market. A little noisy but with the streets as they are you would hear every thing in most hotels.Beware,steep stairs and long way up with no elevator. The room was super clean, very stylish in decor(venetion) and bathroom was clean and well equiped. Breakfast was abismal, one roll(hard) a danish pastry, orange and water and a coffee, no choice and no seconds, especially with the cost of food in Venice it would have been nice to have had a buffet. Not impressed with waiter who was rude and surly. He cleared up as I finished each mouthful as my husband was eating. I would stay again but not book breakfast as the location was so good. But dont take lots of luggage, the stairs will kill you, especially with all the walking round Venice.

Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2005

Just returned from a couple of days in Venice, found the Hotel Alloggi al Merchante by accident on the Internet what can I say, it was perfect the location ( near to the Rialto Bridge )the rooms are beautiful so romantic, all newly refurbished, huge bathrooms, beautiful furniture, clean, only 5 rooms, No 105 was ours and it was the best!!! 2 bathrooms, bed on a balcony upstairs overlooking the lounge... and the price well you just have to check that out because you would not believe it... sooooo good value and not def not high. I garantee you will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' d'Oro
Hotel Ca' d'Oro
#117 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
#2 of 189 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#47 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#138 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi al Mercante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi al Mercante

Address: San Polo, 1770, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Alloggi al Mercante 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Alloggi al Mercante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing