We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 3749 Ponte Chiodo to your Saves list
3749 Ponte Chiodo
Cannaregio 3749, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This B&B was fabulous in many ways. The host gave excellent instructions over email to ensure that we would find the place without any issues. The day we arrived, there was a water bus strike and our host emailed that morning to let us know and also to provide alternative directions. The location is fabulous - right in the middle of the city, but still off in a side street where it is quiet. The private garden is also such a treat - my husband and I sat out there for a few hours each day whenever we needed a break.

We were provided with recommendations by the host on restaurants where the locals eat (and were of good value), and they did not disappoint. The suggests are hidden gems that your average tourist probably would not have found. The host is very friendly and always made sure we had everything we needed.

The breakfast that was served was very good. It is continental style (pasteries, fruits, etc.) and there is someone there who will make you a coffee/tea/latte/espresso at your request.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the main floor where the kitchen is, and so you can hear the other guests a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello,

I appreciated you kind review.
I hope it will be possible to guest again in my guest house.

My best regards
Mattia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    56
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
190
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We have really enjoyed our stay here. We have been to Venice very, very many times & have never enjoyed a stay as much mainly due to this lovely place. Mattia is a perfect host. We thought we knew Venice but after our very enjoyable breakfast chats with Mattia we found we knew ' niente'. He also supplied a map of those places in the area that served real Venetian food. We were not disappointed. I would recommend the Ponte Chiodo in a heartbeat. We will be back.....& the coffee is to die for :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello,

I am really glad you enjoyed your stay in 3749 Ponte Chiodo

It was a pleasure to help somebody, who knows already my town, to discover the more authentic part of it and it was really fun to chat with you during breakfast.

I hope there will be again the possibility to offer you a good cappuccino!

My warmest regards

Mattia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I would definitely recommend the Ponte Chiodo to anyone going to Venice. It is right off the main canal but you are in a more residential area and away from the throng of tourists. Our host was very knowledgeable and helpful in making suggestions on what to see and what to miss on our first trip. We stayed 3 days and felt it was very relaxing. We especially enjoyed getting a bottle of wine and sitting at the tables outside after a long day of walking.

Room Tip: We chose one of the larger double rooms and were very pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Mattia was a gracious and attentive host. The first house is clean and comfortable, very well located and a home away from home feeling.
We spent three nights in Venice and Mattia helped us with great recommendations and unusual flexibility.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed a second time at Ponte Chiodo, after our honeymoon 3 years ago. The first time, we had the little room in the parterre, now the "deluxe" room. We were happy with both! First of all: Mattia is the best! He really helps, no matter what. For example, how to get cheap tickets for the opera. Or, in my case, I habe coeliac disease - he knows the right restaurants. And he has, of course, a big knowlege about the city and its hidden treasures. In brief: We enjoyed our stay very much and will stay again in Venezia - and there only in Ponte Chiodo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
thanks a lot for the very nice review and pictures!

My best wishes
Mattia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had 3 nights and truly believe this property 'made' our visit in Venice. Mattia took time to advise us where to go, avoiding busy tourist experiences, seeing other parts of Venice we wouldn't have otherwise ventured to. He recommended (and made reservations) for us at local restaurants that were outside the 'tourist zone' (without pictures of food on boards outside). Making for a genuine Venice experience. Our room was lovely, and while we did carry our luggage up stairs, they did offer to take them up for us. Wifi was inconsistent in the room, but always available in the lobby or lovely courtyard. Mattia accommodated my gluten allergy at breakfast. The cappuccino's are the best. We brought wine back for the afternoon in the courtyard - with supplied glasses. We feel we received excellent value for our stay in Venice, and don't believe we could have found anything better! Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We probably had our expectations high when we saw the high ratings this place had on TA! The day we arrived, there was a water bus strike, so we hauled our luggage for about 20 mins to get to the B&B. When we arrived, the inn keeper was disturbed about a cancelled booking and made that more evident than settling us in our room. He said the room was available but wasn't ready, and we could drop our stuff there. The room was on the 2nd floor with a good number of stairs to haul up our luggage.

When we got back to the room after some strolling around in Venice, I found that the wifi would not work in our room. After trying out some modem restarts, he suggested that I use it in the lobby area where the signal worked and it was anyways FREE!

The room is an ok size with a canal view but definitely way too expensive for what we paid! The guesthouse is in a good area of Venice and you can probably walk around to most places. We had breakfast here the following morning. The spread was ok - all the usual stuff, the coffee was tasteless. He offered to make us something else, but it was ok. We had other stuff to do than wait on coffee.

We stayed there for a night and were glad it was only a night. Nothing about 3749 really charmed us to have to spend more than a night there even if we had the choice! The place is overall ok - nothing overly special and the inn keeper can make things better by welcoming incoming travellers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry, being so short, I cannot remember your stay here in Pontechiodo but I remember for sure there were some problems with the internet connection on the second floor which I have solved (hopefully forever!!)
Anyway I am sorry for the misunderstanding about the wifi; perhaps I meant it was possible to connect with free internet not only on the room but also on the breakfast area.
Your review clearly shows Pontechiodo is not the place for a short stay, because in 24 hours it is not possible for me (my limit) to understand each other.
Best regards
Mattia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3749 Ponte Chiodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Address: Cannaregio 3749, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house gives you the opportunity to be in the centre of the city, but at the same time, is located on a quiet street away from the busiest tourist thoroughfares.I wish also to specify for all the Tripadvisors readers that if you are looking for big standard 4/5 stars hotel with huge king size bedrooms furnished with fake baroque golden stuff and maybe 3 minutes walk to S.Mark Square then Pontechiodo is not the right place you should stay.If you are looking for small cozy well renovated picturesque guest house located in not touristic and alive Cannaregio's district, with nice bedrooms, real antique furnitures and quiet view over a canal then Pontechiodo is the right place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 3749 Ponte Chiodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3749 Ponte Chiodo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3749 Ponte Chiodo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.