We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Save Saved
You added 3749 Ponte Chiodo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
3749 Ponte Chiodo
Cannaregio 3749, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 418 Venice B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Firstly our host was more than lovely! Excellent suggestions for places to eat. Location is perfect; near interesting sights, but on a quiet side street with lovely places to eat nearby. The rooms have nice views of the canal and are beautifully decorated. The breakfast in the courtyard garden was a wonderful way to start the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    59
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
177
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We loved Ponte Chiodo!!! There are so many things about it that we loved...the room, the garden, Mattia and his wonderful staff!!! Mattia made us feel right at home!! He went out of his way to give us help with what to see while in Venice and he also took care of my gluten and dairy allergies by buying me food while I was there to eat! The garden is so nice..just to sit out or to have breakfast int the morning!! Loved the cappuccino's!!! We would totally go back!! We felt right at home!! It made our stay in Venice perfect!! And the rooms are so charming!!

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked the canal, what a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This guest house is at a nice area in a quiet street but right next to a main street with lots of shops, restaurants etc and very close to a vaporetto stop that goes almost everywhere in venice. Our room was quite big, at the second floor with a nice view to the canal. The furniture is very old but what is the worst about this place is that the building is very old and specially the second floor is made of wood or something,because everytime you step foot on the floor the whole room is shaking like at an earthquake and you can also see and hear the empty spots at the floor.I know Venice is expensive but 120 per night was quite much. The breakfast was quite fine (according to the italian standards) and you could choose the kind of coffee you like (even cappuccino). The owner was very professional and everything was very well organised, helping everybody with everything but only until 13:00 because then he leaves. I also have to mention that he was doing everything strictly proffesionaly, there was nothing friendly and warm in the atmosphere, but ok it doesn't matter. Apart from the floor problem and the price all the rest is just fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattia170, Proprietario at 3749 Ponte Chiodo, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Evangelika,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Pontechiodo.
As regards your definition about "old" I wish to precise, for the next guests, Pontechiodo is an ancient house built in 1780 which has been deeply renovated 10 years ago by my wife who is an architect highly specialized in renovation.
To renovate means to try to maintain at its best the quality of an ancient building such as its flexibility (obtained by wooden beams and by "terrazzo alla Veneziana" the very famous flexible Venetian floor)) which is one of the plus of Venetians buildings.
To renovate means also to furnish an ancient house with all the modern comforts (air conditioned heating etc etc) but trying to maintain the atmosphere of the past
As regards the "old furnitures " they are ancient renovated furnitures from XVIII and XIX century which value is quite elevated.
My best wishes
Mattia Baseggio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in June. I liked this little hotel very much it is set in a cool tranquil garden a welcome relief from busy Venice From the first contact by email Mattea was prompt in reply and the precise instructions made it very easy to find the property. I had the twin room with ensuite on the top floor albeit a small room it was comfortable and very clean plenty of storage, air conditioner, fridge and small tv. Breakfast was a pleasure yoghurt,fruit,pastries cereal and the best croissants and coffee all served in the garden.Unfortunately Mattia the proprietor was away during my stay. Like others on trip advisor I would highly reccomend this B&B.

Room Tip: Their is no lift at this property so be prepared to carry luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ponte Chiodo for three nights in June. We had the top floor room with canal view. It was truly an oasis tucked quietly within Venice. We had a very good experience in the whole process from reservation, email communication, checking-in, daily breakfasts (with beautiful and tasty cappuccino), room housekeeping, room interior, to sharing friendly chats and tips with other travelers. All this is a reflection of the inn owner Mattia's warm and thoughtful hospitality. We had really enjoyed and benefitted from Mattia's helpful tips, recommendations and his willingness in sharing Venice's culture and history with his guests. The server was respectful, polite and provided consistently excellent service every morning. We thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility Ponte Chiodo offers. Would love to return some day soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Ponte Chiodo is a fantastic place to stay in Venice. It was very tranquil sitting in the garden enjoying the continental breakfast. Mattia is an exceptional host and made our stay special. He provided us with plenty of non-touristy restaurant and wine bar recommendations. We went to four places on his list and they were all amazing. Unfortunately when we booked there was only a twin room left. However, due to the great reviews we decided to stay and did not regret it.

The room was small but there was plenty of space in the garden for relaxing. We did not have WiFi reception in our room, however when at the hotel we spent most of our time in the garden anyway as it is very relaxing (and has WiFi reception). The hotel was in a great location, we walked everywhere. There is a vaporetto stop a few minutes away. Follow Mattia's instructions to get to Ponte Chiodo from the train station as it is easy to get lost in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We where so lucky to find this small lovely guest house in the busy and warm Venice.
It was the first time for us in Venice and thanks tripadvisor we found Pontechiodo.
The reviews worked very well.
The small garden where to relax after an exhousting walk around the town it a pleasure.
Our room was a standard room (superior ones are bigger) at the second floor with a great view on the canals. It was not very big but very cozy and romanthic and well furnished too (may not the best for americans tastes!).
Mattia the owner helped us to fall in love with Venice thanks his good suggestions about quiet itineraries and excellent local oriented restaurants.
We hope to come back to Pontechiodo soon!
Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 3749 Ponte Chiodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3749 Ponte Chiodo

Address: Cannaregio 3749, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 418 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house gives you the opportunity to be in the centre of the city, but at the same time, is located on a quiet street away from the busiest tourist thoroughfares.I wish also to specify for all the Tripadvisors readers that if you are looking for big standard 4/5 stars hotel with huge king size bedrooms furnished with fake baroque golden stuff and maybe 3 minutes walk to S.Mark Square then Pontechiodo is not the right place you should stay.If you are looking for small cozy well renovated picturesque guest house located in not touristic and alive Cannaregio's district, with nice bedrooms, real antique furnitures and quiet view over a canal then Pontechiodo is the right place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your 3749 Ponte Chiodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3749 Ponte Chiodo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3749 Ponte Chiodo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.