We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return again definately.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' del Modena B&B

Ca' del Modena B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ca' del Modena B&B to your Saves list
Ca' del Modena B&B
Santa Croce 2006/A, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
south England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We will return again definately.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

We have stayed at Ca del Modena on three occasions. The most
recent being March 2007. Having travelled extensively, I can say
the standards at Ca del Modena are of a high standard. The rooms are very clean, tastefully decorated and the fixtures and
furnishings are of a quality one would not normally expect to find in a bed and breakfast.
The owneris extremely helpful and friendly. She is informative and does all to make your stay in Venice memorable. We have also recommended friends to stay there and they had a very good
time too.

  • Liked — the decoration and furnishings of the b/b
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    1
    8
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at Ca' del Modena 5 times in the last 4 years. We have always been impressed by the accomodation and cleanliness of the rooms. Gabriella and her daughter have been most generous hosts full of advice and help. We could not fault the B&B and have recommended to many friends.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

The B&B is just a regiment! It starts allready with the mail confirmation. You have to be there at 9 am but not later than 9.30 am, because otherwise there is nobody to welcome you.
But even not earlier than 9 am not to wake up other guests.
They write that in big, fat printed letters to give you directly their instructions.
When you arrive you have to pay straight away. When the lady is showing you the room you will get a paper with the "RULES OF THE HOUSE" (unbelievable - never in other places I had something like that before):
like...
- You have to ring the bell 1x before entering the B&B with the key
- Don´t eat in the room
- Don´t wash clothes in the room
- Don´t, don´t , don´t .......

There is a nice breakfast-room. Also you find in there a sofa and TV. But after 10 am, when the lady is gone, everything is closed:(
So you never, except breakfast, you can use it.

The lady asks you if you like breakfast at 8.30 am or 9 am?
(When I´m on holidays I like not to be in a hurry and maybe to have breakfast at 10h - I think that´s a normal time ...)
We said 9 am - next morning at 8.45 am she knocked at our door for telling us that breakfast is now ready and we have to come :(

So we went to have breakfast at 9 am. There is a big table on which you sit with other guests. The BREAKFAST IS VERY POOR! I know that this meal in italy is not really important, but that was absolutely poor. For 2 persons: 3 dry small rolls, 2 tiny pieces of cake in plastic bags, 2 joghurts, 2 glasses of "chemical" orangejuice, coffee, 2 little portion boxes of jam and butter.

After 20 minutes the lady who was cleaning already another room came in and opened the window to hang up linen.
As she wanted to leave the room I asked her to close the window please. She just looked at me very blank and closed it than.
(It´s October and something about 12 Degree in the morning :(

After that she started in the room, just across the breakfast room, to vacuum-clean. We then closed the door to the breakfast room to have silence. We just wanted a nice, comfortable time having breakfast. After a few minutes she opened the door again and looked at us really angry and blank again.

After some sightseeing we came back in the afternoon and noticed that there are towels missing. As you can´t ask somebody, because there is nobody, we took the towels from a cupboard in the hall. When we came back in the evening there was a yellow note at the cupboard "Don´t touch".
We just took a pen and painted a smiley on it:)

I really wouldn´t recommend this B&B to anybody who likes to have nice relaxed days in Venice, the really nice town.
People like this owner shouldn´t run a B&B, because guests want to feel comfortable in their holidays.

There are so many other nice places to stay in Venice - you don´t have to choice CA DEL MODENA. Even the rooms are not that ceap - we paid EUR 125,- per room/night.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

Gabriella, the owner of this place, she should not rent her place. In order to keep the room clean, she will come into your room FREQUENTLY WHEN YOUR GONE. ALWAYS CHECK WHAT YOU DO IN THE ROOM. My husband and I had very uncomfortable time and also very scared. So if you want to have your privacy and good time in Venice, DO NOT STAY THAT PLACE! I even cannot say there is B&B, travelers need to stay her property under her strict commandment. We absolutely DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY THERE.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

We had terrible experience with this B&B. Our trip for heney moon supposed to be wonderful, but turned out that with Ca' del Modena, was HORRIBLE. The price was not expensive, but we preferred to stay other place if we knew the B&B is such an awful place. First of all, our privacy was invaded. The owner of this B&B came into our room while we went to shopping, dinner, and sight seeing etc., each times, she moved our staff, bed sheets, position of pillows, towels...etc. In second, she made a false charge against us. She showed us the bedspread that has a spot. She told us that the spot came from food, but we did not eat food on the bed. We actually found out that spot smelled like soap. We explained the spot is not from food. However, without checking the spot or anything, she claimed the cleaning cost for $60! Euro. We could not believe that she claimed such a outrageous price. She did not listen to our explanation, yet she bawled to us and keep saying "this is my house, you should follow my house rule." We were dismayed by what she said. She eventually steeled for 20 euros for “dry-cleaning” even though the cover said it was machine washable. Also the sheets did not get washed from day to day. We stayed other B&B while this trip, we never had any problem, we stayed many places not only this trip but also many other occasion. We are not recommended anyone to this B&B for the sake of your joyful trip in Venice. Oh, the breakfast was very poor, there are only stale bread and piece of cake, coffee and one yogurt.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' del Modena B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Modena B&B

Address: Santa Croce 2006/A, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ca' del Modena B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' del Modena B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.