We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and service high, quality low” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecellio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vecellio to your Saves list
Hotel Vecellio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 5039/B, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 383 Hotels in Venice
NYC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Location and service high, quality low”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You get what you pay for. It's definitely a cheaper option so wasn't so surprised to see the rooms were tiny and bed was the most uncomfortable thing ever. Plus I was freezing (Venice gets so cold at night!) but there were no extra blankets and the blanket there was paper thin. We only spent 1 night there so I sucked it up.
The location is great. You take the water taxi/bus from the airport and it's like the 2nd or 3rd stop. Problem is we couldn't find it. We asked people and showed the address we were given, but no one was able to point us to the right direction. I was only able to find it because I recognized the front off of one of the pics that someone posted to TripAdvisor. The front desk was great and very friendly. But the rooms weren't all in that building by the water. We had to walk with all our luggage a few blocks away to get to another small building that I guess they own and had to figure out ourselves where the room was. No one was in that building so it was creepy, but it was fine.
All in all, it was a good choice for the money. Plus it was convenient because the water taxis were right there by the water so we were able to take them back after walking around Venice (our feet were hurting by the end!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    148
    40
    20
    13
See reviews for
24
252
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Now, there were lots of positives about this hotel. We stayed here for a night before travelling home. Location wise, it's right by the lagoon, so very picturesque and beautiful. Also, the manager was lovely, friendly and very helpful. However, it was so noisy!!! I cannot emphasise on this, the walls are paper thin and being on the lower floor, all we heard was the movements from above: loud conversations, trampling of feet. I am not overly picky, but the noise was awful and I had about two hours sleep. Also, the air conditioning was poor, so it was very hot and sticky. Being right on the front, on the lower floor, also meant that there was lots of hustle and bustle from outside. I really wanted to say nice things about this hotel, as the owner is so lovely. But if you do stay here, I recommend that you don't stay on the ground floor. Maybe then your experience will be a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We read all the reviews: the hotel is incredibly convenient for the Alilaguna boat to and from the airport, the own is exceptionally helpful and friendly, the hotel is placed in a characterful part of Venice - with good cafes, restaurants and shops close by. However we believe the hotel has shrunk (and only occupies ground and first floor now) - so even a large room was quite small with no views over the lagoon. [However the lagoon did come into our bedroom with the high tide!] The boats at the landing stage were noisy throughout the night - and the restaurant across the alleyway was very noisy at closing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed three nights early November, 2 adults and pre-teen child. Easy location to walk to/from Rialto Bridge or St. Mark's Square areas. Must carry bags over one bridge from Fundamente Nuovo when arriving from the Airport Water Taxi Alilaguna; no bridges if using 41/42/51/52 water bus from Ferrovia train or P Roma bus stations. Read water taxi map carefully; unless you WANT the full round trip circuit around the island, or want to combine your trip to the hotel w/No. 1 Grand Canal transit. choose the clockwise routing from Stations. Hotel is a bit noisy at night, AND, in Fall the high water levels at noon can make "walking" more of a soggy disaster. Long story short, ask lots of questions and plan your arrival after the daily flooding of the Fundamente sidewalks are awash! CoOp supermarket is only 6 blocks away; open most eves until 8 PM. Billa supermarket is a 10 block walk, but has larger selection. During the day, the manager is very helpful and multilingual. Night part-time staff can be inexpert and incorrect, though. Nice breakfast daily, but if the hotel is full, you may have to wait for a table. No elevator, btw, so be forewarned. We liked Vecellio, and would stay there again in a heartbeat! The view from the windows from the waterfront rooms is divine, too! For less than $100/night for three, with breakfast, small fridge, and free Internet, this is a real Venice bargain.

Room Tip: Though noisier, waterfront "Fundamente" facing rooms are prettier. If you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights Oct 12-13 and had a great time. We had a room in the main hotel and our family members stayed in the Annex, a short walk from the main building. Some of the reviews said they thought the activity on the waterfront was loud but we didn't have an issue with noise. The room and bathroom were on the small side but remember you are in Venice and are only in the room to sleep and change clothes. The breakfast is adequate and filling. The coffee is really good and made by Matteo himself.

Matteo is a very friendly gentleman and since he is a native Venetian he is able to direct you to where the "locals" eat and shop. We ate his friend, Tony's restaurant and it was unbelievable.

I look forward to returning to Venice and I would definitely stay with Matteo at his fine hotel. This hotel is in a great location to the Aliguana boat stop from the airport (2nd stop on the Blue Line), the Vaporetto stop is directly in front of hotel, which makes getting around the city and the getting to the train station very easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just stayed here and had a lovely 3 days. Very friendly hotelier, really helpful advising where to eat and transport etc. Very comfy beds, some people have said its noisy but we were in a side room and were'nt disturbed. A couple of tips, venice can get a bit this time of year, its a bit wet and wild, check weather forcast and if its says rain, pack wellies! Will definately be back one day xxx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location of this hotel is great - it looks like a little on the side, but the walk to Piazza St Marko is amazing...one get to go through so many little typical venetian lanes and bridges...And because it is not on the main toursit drag, the streets are not so crowded...you can actually see for yourself how the venetians live as it is mainly residential area. The other great advantage of the area is that there are a lot of hidden little reastaurant frequented mainly by locals - great food at reasonable prices. The hotel is in an old building but with great character (wooden beams in rooms and ventian furniture) and very well maintained. The room had a great view over the water and despite the fact that there is a vaporetto stop right in front it was not very noise - we slept like babies (maybe also from all the walking and admiring this amazing place). The breakfast was very good - could not fault it. Would not hasitate to recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Vecellio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecellio

Address: Cannaregio 5039/B, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vecellio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The REAL VENICE!Perfect Venetian style, the warm feeling of marble floors, antique wood ceilings and rich drapes, make Hotel Vecellio a welcoming place in a residential part of the city that looks towards the lagoon in front of the most famous islands including Murano. Nearby there's Titian Vecellio's home and painters studio that gives this neighbourhood a distinct romantic atmosphere. The Hotel is managed by Matteo, native venetian lives in the city , he could be useful to help you to live your venetian experience such as a real venetian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Otel so you can book your Hotel Vecellio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecellio Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecellio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.