We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza degli Angeli

Save Saved
You added Residenza degli Angeli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residenza degli Angeli
Santa Croce 2325 | Calle de Cà Bragadin al Cristo, 30123 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 418 Venice B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading such positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we had high expectations of this place, and it far surpassed them!! Daniel walked us through the lay of the land, and gave excellent recommendations for more local-feeling restaurants and must-sees. The room was adorable with cute matching furniture, curtains, and tablecloths on the nightstand. Although we had to share a bathroom, it was not too much of an issue. The place is tucked away on a street that does not show up on the map, and for some reason, we could not get in touch with the owners while on the vaporetto, so we somehow managed to find the place from San Marco with the help of the tourism office and asking some people for directions. Once you find it, however, you realize how lucky you are to be so close to all the important sites, but not in too touristy of a location. The street is nice and quiet and our room overlooked a darling garden. Breakfast was great, and we had good conversation with some of the other guests there. We would definitely stay there again.

Side note: it is all-cash.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    86
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
115
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We loved staying here. Daniel covered for his parents the week that we stayed and was the most excellent host. All of the restaurant recommendations were really really good. Well located but no views from our room. Made for a great sleep. We spent all our time walking Venice and returned late to sleep so a view was not a priority. Breakfast with the host there and other guests always a pleasure. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Residenza degli Angeli is very beautifull, I loved to stay there and I want to go there again soon as possible!
It is a place very beautiful, with people very sympatic, friendly, helpfull.
Esmeralda is very sympatic and helped us with maps of the city and told us the places we shoud visit and the best way to go.
I loved everything!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I loved our stay at Residenza degli Angeli. Esmeralda met us at the vaporetto stop and immediately we felt at ease. She walked us to the B&B and took the time to help us understand and better enjoy our trip to Venice. Upon arriving at the B&B, which was just a short walk away, we were so pleased with the location (so close to the Rialto Bridge, San Marco Square...but just away enough from the middle of all the tourism). The rooms were big, comfortable, with a wonderful Venetian charm, up to date and very clean. I could not have imagined any better. In the morning we were treated to a delightful breakfast by Esmeralda or Mario, everything was fresh and delicious. Esmeralda and Mario were kind, welcoming and gracious and also gave us great advice to get us started on exploring Venice as well as great restaurants to enjoy.
When we returned to the B&B at the end of the day it felt like we were returning home (a truly Venetian home). My life has been so enriched by the experience we had at Residenza degli Angeli. I hope I can return to Venice and this B&B again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

All was excellent here, the room very clean and comfortable, the position 3 minutes by walking from the Rialto Bridge, the owner Mario very kind and full of suggestions to better enjoy Venice.. And all this at a very good price for a 4 bed room in the middle of the City. Great experience !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Last trip to Venise, we stayed at "Residenza degli Angeli" for five days. Quiet district of Venise, nearby the Rialto bridge and market.
Very nice residence, typically venitian. Kind welcoming by Esmeralda who picked us at bus terminal and explained very well the principal sites to visit.
Nice room, with all comfort, TV (no french channels...), good breakfast served by Esmeralda of Mario - venitian born - always ready to help us and give informations on restaurants, visits, good plans etc...
We hope to go back to Venise and stay again there ... !
Congratulations to both .

Room Tip: Rooms named as the children of Esmeralda : good idea ! Very quiet street with overview on a small ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our recent stay at this property with our two children (12 & 15) was alright; not quite what the reviews make it appear. This is a cash only property, they do not take credit cards which is a bit of an inconvenience; but once you make your reservations they do inform you of this so we were prepared with cash. Also they insist that you phone with an exact time of arrival at the water bus stop, however when dependent on water buses/taxi's, estimating an exact time of arrival is almost impossible. We found out the hard way that the phone call is not really for your convenience but the proprietors - we had no access to a pay phone and did not want to turn on our emergency cell phone and incur the hefty international roaming charges, so we navigated the streets ourselves (not easy as the residence is not marked, but we accomplished it with a good map); Within the first 5 minutes of arrival we were informed 3 separate times that this was not ok, which was embarrassing, it's not like we asked or expected to check-in when we arrived at 10:30 am we just wanted to store our luggage so we could go explore Venice. They do provide a lot of information on the island and restaurants but for the price even in Venice the rooms are just average, everything was clean including our private bath but the beds are very uncomfortable (saggy) and no one got a good night's rest. Breakfast is not served until 8:30 am and if you have to leave before this time in the morning you're out of luck. We did not ask for any compromise on the breakfast times but were informed anyway not to expect anything before 8:30 am - just in case we were thinking about asking I guess. The hostess did place a tetra box of orange juice and 4 prepackaged croissants in our room, which looked and tasted like you'd expect (that they even had these items at the ready means this probably happens a lot). We really wanted to like this property, unfortunately it didn't live up to the reviews and we found ourselves wishing we had instead booked at one of the two others properties we have formally stayed at while in Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residenza degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza degli Angeli

Address: Santa Croce 2325 | Calle de Cà Bragadin al Cristo, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 418 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed & Breakfast finds itself in the center of Venice, 5 minutes walking from the famous Rialto bridge, and 15 minutes walking from Piazza San Marco. We are close to the main fish market place where there is a public transport gondola service which enables everyone to cross the Grand Canal for 2 euros per person. Our home is located in one of the oldest areas of Venice, where most houses are from the 13th century. Indeed Venetians used to leave originally in Torcello island, and then decided from the 8th century to move from the island of Torcello, more exposed to the Barbars invasions, to settle in the current Rialto area. Esmeralda and Mario, the owners who personally attend all guests during check-in, check-out and breakfast time, will answer all your questions and help you take most advantage of your stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Residenza degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza degli Angeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.